What do you do with your voting power?

in #steemit5 years ago (edited)


Hello, i was just on steemworld checking out a few stats for CryptoSicko and i thought to myself, i wonder what my stats for SSUK look like as i rarely to never check them anymore and the first thing i seen was my voting power was sitting at a nice 98.8%. It instantly occurred to me that i have prob not manually upvoted any post in a few weeks. All of the voting done from my account is done through the Steemsilvergold curation trail, my upvote is not worth anything now but im running out of things to delegate to and the SP should start building. It just made me think, i wonder how many people actually track and manually upvote against being lazy and joining curation trails are using auto voters like me. Don't get me wrong here, i would lose alot of voting power of i could only manual upvote so it a good thing for me but does it take away what rewarding good content should be? I I can tell you right now this post will get just over 100 upvotes and i would guess 90% of them are from auto voters and curation trails. It makes you think about the way it used to be and the way it is now.
.

.
Compared to 18 months ago, steemit is a different place. The platform has not evolved so much in any way but the way steemit operates is like night and day. 18 months ago if you were a nobody with good content, you would get upvotes and grow your account and rep that way. Nowadays, you need to use bot's to get noticed as a big percentage of votes are done automatically making the content irrelevant. I tested this theory many moons ago with Todays silver post which turned out to be one of my best posts back then proving content means almost nothing. To be honest it's good and bad depending on how you look it. If your busy with the family, work are just life then you can be happy knowing your are not wasting precious voting power but at the same time it takes away from rewarding good content. Someone that makes good content now might but putting out crap in 6 months.
.

Do bots control the way you post?

Im not to sure about your position but i get 2 decent daily upvotes from delegation bots with an array of other things ive signed up to are delegated to. Sometimes i think that im only posting to get the upvotes and that's why i only now post once a day. But than i think, would i post everyday if i was not getting these upvotes? Does the promise of those upvotes from the bots keep me active on steemit which is a good thing. It's a real head fook to say the least but that's life and we just can STEEM ON!!! and keep grinding.

What do you do with your voting power?

Who do you use your voting power? Do you use it for curation rewards, supporting good content, leave it on an auto voter are sell it to a third party.

  • Curation - Upvoting posts early that you know will get big upvotes added to them later on to max rewards
  • Good content - Upvoting posts that you enjoy and deserve a boast on the trending page
  • Auto voting - Pick a list of users to upvote and leave it to do it thing (used for curation rewards also)
  • Selling your upvote - You can use services like minnowbooster/smartsteem to sell you upvote in return for a daily STEEM/SBD payment.

Whatever you do don't waste it cause was it's gone it's gone and you'll not get it back ever, ever.

.

Sort:  

Good topic and important questions, Id say tho that there are some great efforts to reward newbies. Steem UA, is one. Check it out.

Also I delegated to the cryptosicko bot and Im not sure Im getting upvoted yet. I delegated 6 days ago so expected upvotes by now.

Can you please advise? Thanks

Heya uk, you just got a manual 51% vote from me which boosted your payout from 1 to 5 cents. I have delegated to SSG and R-P but i have never joined a trail. Every single vote i have ever cast has been manual. Unfortunately this means that i miss some posts and under/over value some others, but i like to be able to choose what votes go out to people — especially the people who consistently show up in my top twenty voters. I rarely see my VP at 100, but often it dips down into the 60s - 70s and then i have to be a miser...

Ditto on your comment, @thedamus. There is no substitute for engagement... especially within our SSG family. Delegating or selling your votes is not a substitute for engaging our ssg family. I try to comment to as much articles as I can, and often times disappointment by none response and none reciprocation. And so with limited time I have, a natural tendency is to engage only with those who come to support me.

😊🤩😘😎👍

Thats seems very fair and when i think about it there is nothing stopping me manually upvoting 5-6 posts at 100% everyday before bed. I just dont read as much as i used to with 90% of my engagement coming on the community discord server and DM's

Looks like i am alone on this one then, i thought more people used auto voters but judging from the comments im wrong.

Thanks for the 51%, im the first to admit my content is not as good as it used to be and all i write about now is community projects and whacky ideas when im not doing lazy video's.

I am all manual as well. I have no delegations and now curation trails. I usually save my votes and spend them slowly. I support informational news mostly and anything to counter the communist new world order.

Posted using Partiko Android

That's what i used to do, save up and use them for the best posts. Mine was always SSG members but than again, thats were i used to do all my reading.

Thanks for your comment and sharing

I'm at 100% Manual at this time, besides I learned to drive Manual before Automatic so may as well be consistent.

hahaha, It's hard to go manual after you go auto but i hear what you are saying and we both knew which one is better

You got a full upvote from my mighty 43sp

Thank you Sir, i'll hit you back with my might 136SP

All my votes are automatic (steemauto, steemdunk, precious). I only upvote manually the comments people make at my posts and I try to reply to all of them.

I guess i would upvote comment so time but never posts. I might need to look and see if i can make any changes

I gave 4 people plus ssg-community set to auto voter, then I manually hit up good content. I soend most if my time on Steemit reading ssg posts but do occasionally branch out in to tge bigger world when I have time to read more. Usually steemit related or crypto.

I might need to have a relook and see if there is something better i can do. I could set the voting limits on the curation trail to half and then i'd be forced to manual upvote more. haha

Thanks for sharing

Thank you for using CryptoSicko!

Well done and thank you for joining and supporting my subscription based upvoting bot that provides you with daily upvotes in exchange for your spare STEEM POWER.
Delegation links for CryptoSicko
100SP 250SP500SP

Congratulations @silverstackeruk! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64647.93
ETH 3160.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.09