WTF is this? Google ads are something

in #steemit5 years ago

Just checking on yesterday's posts comments and low and behold, freaking google ads are something like it. This sucks and is not cool. I hope it's something i have done and not a changes by steemit.


Is there anyone else getting these things? It's not the first time it's happened to me but i dont get them all on pages i check, seems to be random.

Sort:  

You get them when you're not logged into your account.

YUP! It looks like you are correct. If I go to an incognito window (not logged in), then I see google ads in the Trending page. On posts, there is a google ad at the bottom of the replies. Also, at the top of the replies is a SteemIT Sign up / promo ad (not from Google).

BINGO - We have a winner !!!

I swap between my personal and bot account a few times a day and this is why. Ok i can live with that :)

THANK YOU

Was this on the Steemit interface or one of the others?

Im on steemit.com on my desktop. The ad is for a hosting site that i own domain names at. I can only think i've let them do this by agreeing to something in the terms. It's just strange it happening on steemit.

I revisited the post and BOOM, gone!!!

Im glad of snapped it, it seems to be random and I dont always go right the bottom of the comments if reading posts and would not notice.

Wow I hope Steemit don’t go down this road. With the Steem price so low they’d be looking for other income but it’s not really a good option.

I haven't seen them yet, but it's a new thing from Steemit. They're trying to make more money.

Putting in an ad here and there would not stop me from visiting steemit but it would be a nail in the coffin. I hope this a testing are something if it is steemit.

I got one and was able to erase it...

Ive had a few and always " x'ed " them down. Found out you get them when your not logged in

Found out from who...??? lol... Makes me wonder how that person knows...
I haven't had to sign in lately, which means I am, and was still signed in...

I get them too. I click them off. They come back, especially on my Feeds most often.

I was shocked to see these but found it it's when your not logged in just that's ok i guess

It is a test with googleadservices - communicated by Ned - as to cover up costs of running nodes etc

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70839.13
ETH 3563.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.77