Road to Steemfest - How the hell do I pronounce @sjennon?

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

Because it's not pronounced at S-Jennon. WHAT!?

As I was about to start one of the other challenges of @anomadsoul's Road to Steemfest, I stumbled upon the fact that almost everyone I met through Steemit (except ours silly Dutchies here) call me S. Jennon.

Or S-Jennon.

Or es-jannon.

And I feel really sorry to break it to you guys, but that is, in fact, not how one would pronounce my username. Sorry, @jaybird.

header (2).png

It all began when I was still living back at home in The Netherlands and I was looking for a username that wasn't always occupied.

In Dutch, the J isn't pronounced as Jay and our A sounds more like an Ah (therefore used an E which in a word is pronounced as Eeh), which then makes Sjennon simply does sound like Shannon. And oh my! What a coincidence - that's my name :D

Does this still make sense though?


Sjennon


[ʃænən]


Even if it doesn't make sense to any of you, it is a username that is always available as no English Speaking person decides to have such a fucked up name. And well, there are not many Dutchies who go by the name of Shannon.

More useless, Wikipedia facts about my name:

  • The longest river in the British Isles, which flows through Ireland into the Atlantic Ocean
  • A sea area, to the west of Ireland, centred on the estuary of this river
  • A surname​ of Irish origin, variant of Shanahan, anglicised from Ó Seanaigh (“descendant of a person named Old”).
    (chiefly US) A male given name, from the surname or from the river.
  • A female given name derived from the river; first used in the USA in early 20th century, and only recently in Ireland.

I want a penny for everytime someone on SteemFest pronounces my name wrong.

I shall bring an extra bag just for cash. Or simply send me some SBD's.


Image by Pexels

divider-long

Track your followers with SPECTACLES

divider

Frame 3.png

divider

My name is Shannon, I am a digital designer. Born and raised in Amsterdam, living in Berlin. I write about travel, Steemit, design, food, life and any thoughts I have!

Sort:  

I've been living a lie for so long! Whenever I see your name pop up on my feed I say "oh, [es]-jenon posted something" but now I can't help but think of you as Shannon. But Shannon is a stranger, she is not the cool girl I know, she is not Es-jenon :(

Another victim! :'(

Shannon is also pretty cool! Though, I am sorta kinda a bit used to people calling me [es]-jenon after three years, so I'd probably still turn around if someone screams that.

Ah, nice to meet you Jenn..., I mean, Shannon! How's Amsterdam these days?

Whaaaat! I can't believe you just did that!

I've heard it's rainy in Amsterdam. In Berlin it's simply cold!

My cousin lives in Berlin. Amsterdam is so much nicer. Why would you want to leave? :-D

Haha, I really like Berlin though :) So much more lively!

Ahahah! I bet people are more agitated because they are shivering with cold. I liked Berlin, too, but the weather was really depressing while I was there. I always got sunny weather, while in Amsterdam... and I love the sun!!!

OOOHHH I was saying SJ - ENNON !!!!

Alrighty Shannon it is !

Haha, super funny how everybody has their own variation on it. Cheers!

Haha, I go with Eric here!
I had no idea it was pronounced like this, but now everything makes sense :-) Thanks for enlightening us Shannon :-))

Glad to have enlightened you! Good to see you here, hopefully soon aswell :D

Thanks for stopping by <3

At last, the mystery has been reveal and solved!!!! Now I know how to pronounce the name properly and don't get embarrassed when we meet at SF3 🤣🙊

Hahaa, no worries! Looking forward to meeting you there!

I always thought it was pronounced "se-yenn-on" now I know!

Oo, that's interesting too. I guess it never really goes out of your brain though. Similarly to when you write wednesday, my brain literally goes: Wet-nes-day.

Hahah I knew it was pronounced Shannon... but only because of hearing @meanmommy33 talk about you all the time ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64579.45
ETH 3101.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83