Steemit Voting Value Woes and Dust Votes

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

As my follower count approaches 250, I’m finding that keeping my voting power up to a respectable level is more of a challenge each day.

I want to stretch out and meet more Steemians, but the more people I connect with and meet, the more up-votes I dish out, the more the power goes down, and the less I can give to everyone. It’s not cool really.

voting.png

Source: https://pixabay.com/en/hands-raised-raised-hands-arms-up-1768845/

I can appreciate that it is hard work if you don’t have the slider, but it’s the same when you DO have it, and you need to spread the voting. I guess I will have to decrease the vote percentage on some of my up-votes, what else can I do?

Some people don’t up-vote comments, and some do. To not up-vote comments would go a long way to solving my problem, but I won’t do that. I feel it’s important to reward for good comments as much as a main article.

@appguy mention's in his article recently that he was happy that his full vote had reached $0.01, and he could give something back. Then he discovered that his vote was considered a ‘dust vote’ and was in fact, wasted.

He went on to mention that he will no longer up-vote comments but will focus his rewards on main article’s and add to other’s comments to make the cumulative value more than $0.02. It’s an interesting solution to the problem he has, and it may be valuable to others who are in his situation.

Another proposal to fix the ‘dust votes’ has been made here. If anyone feels they are wasting their vote because it is less than $0.03, then they should have a look at this.

solve-2636254_960_720.jpg

Source: https://pixabay.com/en/solve-jigsaw-problem-concept-2636254/

I am fortunate enough that my full vote will always be more valuable than $0.02, unless the price of Steem suddenly plummets to near zero.

However, I can sympathise with @appguy and others that he feels he is not giving anything back, due to the way the current rewards system work.

I don’t think I have an answer to my problem.

Cut down the percentages?
Ignore Steemit for a few days?
Purchase some more Steem?

For now I will just have to do juggle the votes, so please understand if my vote level is a little lower than before, it’s just my way of trying to stem the flow.

Sort:  

Great coverage. I'm glad people are sharing this info now. I think I have help a lot of people know about this once I found out thanks to Tim's blog post. I think I wasted at least 1,000 upvotes before I found out.
I try and keep my vote power above 10% but it does go below it a lot. lol

What happened to the sweaty guy? Now I miss him.

Damn, I missed my whole footer on this post and only just noticed.

Is there a way to get a vote slider with less than 500 SP?

1: you are sharing the love, as they say.

2: you are trying to give the most benefit to those with whom you are sharing it.

Trust me, I'm a doctor.

Catweasel-c.png

Also consider that resteeming can be a good way of voting for good posts! My vote value is low, but I have 2200 followers!

Yes, this! I've also taken to sponsoring some of the people I follow with shares of SBI, which can also help pick up the slack a little bit: it ensures that even if I run my voting power down low, they're still getting rewarded for the content they produce. That's not a good option until you have a significant portion of Steem though, so it's not a good strategy for minnows. Resteeming to followers can garner more rewards than a simple upvote for a penny or two. :)

i know the exact feeling that you describe being in on how to upvote things. I like to give folks a vote who support my blog with meaningful comments and it harder and harder as you build some followers.

I have been struggling with this lately too. Steemplus gives me the slider but I am not able to use it on comments. I want to be able to upvote comments on my posts but can't afford to give them a 100% upvote. It's a catch 22...

You could try busy.org. I don't know if the slider works on comments though.

Yes the busy slider works on comments. Just gave you a 25% vote to test it.

I have used busy a couple of times. That was a while ago though.

@Kevinwong talks about this issue in his Post and talks about possible solutions.

At least your are giving your readers feedback by replying, which for my part, i really appreciate @slobberchops. If you can share your voting power if not, i think your followers are down with it, too!

The early days on Steemit are the toughest- it's hard to get attention or do anything, and it's when most people leave. I definitely remember how good it felt when my upvote finally started to grow to a decent size.

I think a lot leave as it's not instant gratification. Its a shame really, but the ones that persevere will ultimately be the ones who are rewarded in more ways than one.

Yes, I agree it is very hard to keep a voting power on a certain percentage because there are so many posts we can vote, and to be absolutely honest I myself had some problems with my VP more than a few dozen times.
It requires a true skill to keep our VP healthy.
It is true that small upvotes are dust and they melt, so it is better to vote on a bigger pile.
If a person has a +0.02 upvote on a comment anyone with lesser can join the fun, but in any other case, it is better to vote up the writer's article.

I do up-vote comments too, you wrote quite a lot here that's very relevant to the topic and to me that is worthy of a reward. I know some cant do this, but I always try too.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66004.40
ETH 3243.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.19