The Road to SteemFest 3: Shoutouts!

in #steemit6 years ago

This is a continuation story sponsored by @anomadsoul and his idea for this week was mentioned in the last SteemFest 3 post here.

b3vn0kuy62.jpg

My previous posts about #roadtosteemfest are:


g9pv4ubd1t.png

Are we running out of ideas for the Road to Steemfest 3 posts? Previously I have not really had to think about what I am going to write about but with this one I do.

You see I don’t really know many who are attending. Those who have been on the platform since 2016, aka the ‘old timers’ will likely have met others beforehand from the Lisbon trip of 2017, and a very small few... the Amsterdam one of 2016.

In my first month on Steemit, I attended SteemCamp which was hosted by @lloyddavis and met a few people. I almost didn't travel to Birmingham on that Saturday fearing it was 'some kind of cult'.

At times the Birmingham event seemed a little strange to me, but I now have no regrets about attending.

I’m quite sure @lloyddavis is going to be at SF3, along with @steevc, @teamhumble and @redrica but I think that’s it for the people I have met previously.

Several others that I follow are attending such as @detlev, @tarazkp, @silviabeneforti, @abh12345, @shanibeer and possibly @meno, @blewitt and @verhp11, but I can’ really challenge them to a 'shoutout' without that initial human contact?

I am looking forward to an extended chat with @steevc which will likely be mostly around Steemit, Flagging and Abuse but also about other subjects like Music in which we have a common interest.

pagtiqaucu.jpg

@anomadsoul has informed me that he has recently bought some Guilds of Ravnica, Magic the Gathering cards and would be up for some games.

I can surely bring a couple of decks with me, but the game requires quite a bit of concentration and I’m unsure that the bustling atmosphere of SF3 will be suitable.

I have a feeling he holds a competetive soul as well as a nomad's, so should I bring a 'strong' deck too? It would be a little unfair I think but I will wait for his feedback.

@redrica has also expressed an interest in having a go, so I will duly put a couple of decks together with BASIC cards to make things more simple.

As for everyone else, I really don’t know what to expect. I once went to a school reunion and ended up going from person to person asking them about their lives until there was nobody left to talk too.

It was a strange experience and I remember leaving early confused about what it was all about.

That is different from said reunion of course; we all are passionate about STEEM and the block chain, or we wouldn’t be attending and do have a common interest.

24m1vp1j66.jpg
Source

Let me tell you before I arrive, I am not a very outgoing or loud person, and won't be one to slap people on the back like they were old friends or engage in huge conversations from the first minute of contact.

Are there going to be some uncomfortable silences? Perhaps, but get me going on something I know about and I’m hard to shut up. I could really benefit from the input of someone who has done this before and was at Lisbon.

  • What was is like?
  • Were the introductions easy?
  • Should I print, cut-out and wear a @slobberchops mask?
  • Should I print, cut-out and create many @slobberchops masks and hand them out at random, thus creating potential mayhem?
  • Should I discard that stupid picture and reveal my true self before SF3 begins?

Alright, some of these points are ridiculous, but I always try and make people laugh or at least smile. What should I expect? Let the experienced speak.


g9pv4ubd1t.png

As this is a shoutout post I would like to personally shoutout to @fulltimegeek for what you did for me 2 days ago and also @steemonkey yesterday (he lives not so far from me).

As I have no other way to contact you (I have tried), I can only do it via posts. So here it is:


THANKS SO MUCH @FULLTIMEGEEK AND STRAY SHEEP!


All photographs are my own unless specified by citation.

DivindingLine.JPG

SteemEnginer.gif

Drooling Maniac.JPG

If you found this article so invigorating that you are now a positively googly-eyed, drooling lunatic with dripping saliva or even if you liked it just a bit, then please upvote, comment, resteem, engage me or all of these things.

Sort:  

unfortunatly as things look at this moment I'm not able to go. we're in the middle of selling the house, looking for a new one and combined with work it is going to be a tough cookie.... Really to bad but I think for now the right decision... Nevertheless I'm looking forward to the stories, pictures and stuff of Steemfest and I think it will be a great event....

Maybe in the beginning of the new year a small gathering in the UK ;) Besides all the other great Steemians you and @steevc are first at my list to meet in person :)

Hope we can meet someday, a real shame you cant make it.

It is, and Im sorry. But with the upcomming move and hunting for a new house we had to prioritize.. but we'll meet, for sure !!

Almost missed this! I was hardly on Steemit over the weekend.. Really looking forward to having some good chats about music with you!

I'm pretty easy going and definitely up for trying out Magic the Gathering, but only if it'll still be fun for you guys, just in case simplifying the game for my sake actually makes it boring for you. But yes, it is true, we may all get so carried away with the fun, that it'll be hard to find time to fit a game in. I guess we'll see! Either way, we'll have a great time, awkward silences or not ;)

I'll being a couple of decks. They may get used or not depending on what happens. I have some older cards at my mum's from when it was more simple to play. It has a steep learning curve.

I wont be able to make it toSteemfets and althought you have some concerns and wrote a great post I ma sure once you get there you will have a blast

Cheers @slobberchops, I should get round to shouting you and a few others out today - Gina is back online 😁

Gina seems to be catching up. I miss her when she's not working.

Word! I’m not a 100% yet but it’s looking good. I’ll know for sure in about a week. Fingers crossed.

Thanks for the shoutout. I would love to go but it just isn't possible for me atm. Hopefully things will fall into place soon and I'll be able to attend future events. It would be lovely to meet up in person.

Your only 'down the road!', there's a few of us the NorthWest, maybe a meet up sometime would be in order.

Yeah that's a jolly good idea my friend.

I think you ought to find Mork and Mew Mew. Look for a couple where he is very large and she is not. That would be MorkRock and PrincessMewMew. He used to was in a band that had some success (it wasn't the Rolling Stones so I don't remember) and now is a video producer person. She's manager of an Antique shop in Cape Town.

I'm guessing with the both of your interest and taste in music you would have something easy to talk about.

You see, then you could give me the private report. Like ShadowPub did on my friend Jon Olson at the SteemCreators conference. He still has no idea who my secret source was.

So even though I can't go I can be an active critic.

I know @princessmewmew is going, I have seen her around, but not the large 'Mork' you describe :)

Are you not flying in from Sky Harbor? ;)

Mork is her husband and an admin at Adsactly. Good guy, one of my favorites.

I'm not flying in from anyplace. I used all my travel budget blundering around the US this summer. But I have to say, it was a pretty good blunder.

And I think you ought to make a huge batch of slobberchops masks and pass them around. Maybe wear one around your neck like a St. Bernard's barrel. Or better yet, wear the barrel. That ought to make you one of the popular kids...

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Hi @slobberchops!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.842 which ranks you at #4239 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 22 places in the last three days (old rank 4217).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 324 contributions, your post is ranked at #290.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • Your contribution has not gone unnoticed, keep up the good work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Sounds a lot like me to be honest. I have thought in the past about what it would be like to talk to people that I know on Steemit. Even my good friends there are times of silence because quite honestly, I suck at small talk. I feel it is inefficient to talk just for the sake of talking. Get me talking about something interesting though and I probably won't shut up!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64579.45
ETH 3101.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83