Are We Still A Community?

in #steemit6 years ago

It is very likely I am wasting my time here, but desperate times call for desperate measures, and thus I feel obligated to try this in light of my alternative options failing.

I do not like receiving something for nothing, and so when I found myself in serious need of money, rather than simply ask for it, I thought sooner to sell my account and the rights to the 18 months worth of content I have produced on it.

This approach has not yet brought any success, and so about a month ago I started adding a bitcoin address to the end of some of the posts that I spent upwards of a few hours on, in the hopes that some may appreciate the work and want to donate something. This is not an approach I would recommend to anyone, for as of yet, I've received zero donations- though I will admit I expected as much before trying.

Unfortunately optimism is no longer proving useful, and I have found myself on the verge of eviction from this property. If it were me alone that stood to be effected by this situation, then I would not be writing this post, for it is quite frankly an embarrassment. But it is not only me and therefore I cannot allow pride to prevent me from doing this.

There was once a very strong community spirit here. We would never have allowed one of our own to become homeless. I do not think that much of this community has endured, and that is why I feel it likely I am wasting my time with this post. But, at this point it seems it would be irresponsible of me not to try.

So, I am asking for the help I need. Though only what I feel I truly need, for as much as there are things to be paid and things that need bought, there is only one of these things that is a significant cause of stress for me, and that is the rent.

£1,283.43 is the amount owed to rent to save from eviction.

20180611_192743.jpg

I do not care to say much else as it just sounds like emotional manipulation. This is what I need to save me a lot of problems, and I am asking this community for assistance with that.

Because I have been posting a lot about bidbots recently, I do not want this post to be misinterpreted as some sort of underhanded bribe. So to be very clear, even if I do garner the funds I need to address this problem, I will still, after paying the rent, be back here posting about why bidbots are evil. And even if I am made homeless, I will likely still be sitting on the street posting about bidbots from my phone - and having perhaps the best argument I ever could have against them.

A resteem will help to get more eyes in the community on this. That means more chance of support, but also more eyes learning things about my situation I'd rather not even be writing. So, I will let you decide whether this is something to resteem or not.

BTC address:

1G9of7ha1zazxSp2s9fCbfVDPHccPqmc61


If this post changes to another post it is because I decided it was a bad idea and edited the post, as I already feel very much that way at this point.

Sort:  

I also HATE asking for help. I know how much it takes to get there. I lost my business and can barely pay my rent, but I will send a small donation. maybe, like he said below, the crumbs will help. And if you take a manifest donation, i'll put one in the pipes for you

I would rather you do not. I can you assure it will not make me feel better to receive donations from others who need the money as much as I do. I will just end up feeling as though I am responsible for any subsequent hardships they will endure. So I thank you, but if you are struggling, take care of yourself first before helping anyone else.

this is how I look at it: we all struggle but we all also have some extra we spend that wouldn't notice. If when one of us was in need we all threw that extra for a day or so then it would more than cover the need- creating a positive difference out of a non perceptible negative. Trust me I would have sent more if I could have, and I normally am a bit of a bleeding heart, but i sent just a couple which i would not notice in any capacity and I have had plenty of help lately (I would be homeless and probably worse if I hadn't). I wasn't wanting to make you feel bad, I promise you I do know how you feel , I was just prefacing it because my own ego makes me feel bad when I can't help or question my selfishness. ;)

Yes. It's pretty much the song Lean on Me, from back when they used to make music that contained useful life lessons. I even had to listen to that song a couple times before doing this as a convincer. Thanks again.

I cannot do much as of right now I am saving and also powering down to purchase a truck for our little homestead. I will give you a 100 percent upvote, it is only 4 cents but I hope it helps. I will also resteem. Just so you know I feel as you do about us being a community, most of my posts do not get seen.

I wish you all the best and hope it all works out for you. I hope you can get this taken care of. Have a great day! Stay positive!

Upvoted and re-steemed. If you are fine with it, i will send you a minnowsupport upvote later tonight. Its not a bidbot, just a free community project.

As long as it is not a bidbot. I have somehow managed to get three bidbot votes this week, while writing about why I am against them. Lol. Sure helps me argument.. Thanks-

We're still a community, at least there are pockets of it here and there I'm sure. I contributed a little to you, it's not much. Maybe contact me directly on Discord and maybe we can work something else out or I might be able to help connect you with someone, I don't know, no promises, just thinking out loud.

I am very grateful, for both the donation and the further offer of support. If it comes to it I may be forced to take you up on it, as well as the other offers that have been made. But today I mostly feel disappointed in myself for doing something I told myself I never would, and so I am going to try sell my account again if I do not raise enough, before asking for donations from people who probably cannot afford to give them. I think if I lower the price by 70% I may have some luck. And while I know I will feel silly for selling my account and the content on it for so cheap, I will know I had little choice and it shouldn't be too much of a bother if it gets me out of this situation.

Do you have a paypal account? I have way to many motorbikes, and would list one on ebay with a buy it now and cover the rent for you, what is the time frame we are working with?.

This is so fucking generous of you. But it was my hope to acquire what I need through the community giving away small amounts that mean nothing to them and that they will definitely not miss. This seems way too much, mate, and so I don't think I can.

I only have $10.688 in sbd in my wallet, I sent it with pleasure, hope it helps.

I am grateful, but I am still in somewhat of a shock about your first offer. I will never forget the depths of your generosity that I have witnessed here today. Interestingly, you are one of few people on here who I have always had a "good feeling" about, for lack of a better way to put it. It is good to see that my intuition is still as reliable as it once was.

Well the offer stands, if you need me at the last minute, and I mean that. I have way more of the things than I could ever ride anyway bud.

Take the help!

And this is why I believe there is a lot of comeraderie here and a surprising number of people definitely willing to help...

Take the offer, Son. There's going to be a time when you can turn around and offer something to someone else.

I know it’s hardest to change your attitude in the midst of struggle, but it’s also the most effective time to change your attitude. Perhaps this will work. And perhaps there is a way to find some support through your bitcoin address without feeling like you are begging. You have a lot to offer, people won’t always see that (I know from my own experience) but if you keep searching for better ways to be who you are, you will eventually stumble upon something that pays the bills. I’m half talking to myself as I say all this.

I’ll keep you in mind for once I get my own shit together, for now, a resteem.

I would call this good advice, if it were not technically the mindset that brought me here. Lol. But, I have almost got myself into that position where I will be able to earn from what I've been building, so now it's just hoping I make it that far. I am sure I will though.

Thanks-

Wish I could help in some other way than just with a votes and reestem

Maybe try adding as well as the bitcoin address for instance a doge address something you can send small amounts cheaply with? A lot of crumbs might amount to something

It's an idea I hadn't considered. The BTC address just leads to my bittrex account, as any donations I had received would have needed to be sold right away anyway. I will then have a deposit address for every coin that is bittrex too, but I do not want to put some huge list of wallets. Do you know which is the most popular besides Bitcoin?

Probably ltc or xrp, xrp is cheaper to transfer but its frowned upon by part of the crypto community due to its centralized nature
Doge on the other hand originated as a means of internet tipping its not as popular as the prior two but has cheaper transfers so mayby go with 3 addresses btc doge and ltc or xrp

ltc and dash are the best because of their adoption and fees, I'd say bts and steem are nice too, not to mention there are more of them ... lots of cryptos are pretty reliable and pretty easy to use :)

you could add a link to a linking page, crypto wallets: ... then you can see the 15 links :D

Other reliable coins with cheap fast transfers
Ltc litecoin
Xrp ripple
Xlm stellar
Bcn bytecoin (not so quick but private)

I hear you. A lot of us are in the same boat currently.

Your comment has made me realise that, in truth, we are not. We have all elected to put ourselves into little ships. Relationships, citizenships, friendships or otherwise. I realise that the day we actually do consider ourselves in the same boat is the day that none of us shall ever sink.

I hope you get enough for your rent, wish you the best. Just a reminder, we can also upvote his comments too, since we can only upvote the post once.

Absolutely wonderful fact my dear friend!up Vote up vote upvote! Thanks for helping my brother.

Further to that, upvoting older posts and comments will add value to payouts that will come sooner too.

My dear friend I can help only a little. I can resteem you to my few followers and I can resteem you through newbieresteemday. If I also send you some SBD will it help? I also upvoted you. I will also ask our creator to give you all you need to make and for him to guide you. I really wish I could do more, and if there is something else please let me know. If I can help more I will. I truly feel for you brother.

Thanks. You have done more than enough and it is appreciated.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66095.77
ETH 3184.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.12