The Bystander Effect | How one of my first lectures in Psychology might apply to the Steem CommunitysteemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit5 years ago (edited)

View this post on Hive: The Bystander Effect | How one of my first lectures in Psychology might apply to the Steem Community


Dear reader - Steem has been renamed to Hive since May 2020. My content therefore has moved with me to Hive, and I hope to see you there: peakd.com/@soyrosa.

Sort:  

You say the photo is unrelated, but I can see a fast-moving rain cloud, which suggests the rain was sudden but has now cleared and we are starting to see evidence of blue sky and, possibly, sunshine soon. ;)

Hehehehe - You've just earned yourself an upvote :D

A great read, @soyrosa.

I certainly agree that the anonymity of Steemit has in many cases created a detachment between the individual behind the account and the community in which they are posting and being rewarded.

Steemfest3 was for me a prime example of breaking down those barriers and getting to know people for who they are, rather than their ranking. That ‘humanisation’ of the community and a move away from assessing people’s value based on the value of their wallet will be the key to moving forward, in my opinion.

Long may Steemit continue, I hope.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thanks dear @goodwithtravels! SteemFest3 really helped seeing some people in the eye and get a feel for what they're about. For me that truly changed a lot. This blockchain tends to put people in numbers indeed, well put, seeing the person without the rankings is just easier when meeting face to face.

Steem ON!

CONGRATULATIONS on the exhibition (I do not know if it's the right word) @soyrosa. I agree with many of the points. The part of anonymity has caught my attention, because it happens that last week I understood something perished and published my photo on the profile, I even put a small signature (this is another topic). I see in any case that we can find certain obstacles at the time of anonymity (all linked to the privacy associated with certain cryptocurrencies). I firmly believe that we must fight to end it but in this platform it will be easier. I have no doubt that those who were in the Steemfest lived it in person and so you have transmitted it.

I have several projects in mind but I do not know if I will have the strength and knowledge necessary to carry it out in all its splendor or to remain half-hearted.
Congratulations again!

firma 2.png

Hey! Yes, it's good to show your face here - and let people know who is writing :-) People tend to support you more/better if they know who you are, which makes sense since we're actually having limited resources to give out, so knowing who we spend it on is part of the game.

If you have projects in mind write about them! Maybe someone can help or give input and who knows what happens. One important thing is that I believe we need to share more and see if we can get help more and stop thinking we can't do it :D

Thanks for your comment and good luck!

Love this and love the idea of real.time meet ups. Not possible in my area...too rural but if anyone was doing one in Melbourne soon I would go. I for one am not a bystander here and I know so many people working hard on this platform.... but yeah more powerful people than me need to lift their game.

Posted using Partiko Android

Yes, if you ever find a 'reasonable' meet-up in your area it's definitely worth going! Going to bigger or smaller events myself it's always inspiring and uplifting and a feeling of 'coming home'. Somehow Steemians are all awesome and I'm not even exaggerating.

Many people are working hard indeed and I'm glad you do too. Always look at the simple things you're already good at and try to translate them to the online space - which is a challenge in itself :-) Thanks for stopping by @riverflows!

No worries. Steemit has taught me what I'm good at ..which is amazing. I started @naturalmedicine here which is uniting and connecting people.. wish I could meet up with those awesome crew in real life! I think I have better friends on the blockchain than I've had in years, bless em.

Posted using Partiko Android

Yes, Steem has taught me a lot about myself as well - it's pretty amazing :D And oh, the friends I found... <3 It's a true treasure!

I think we'll survive this. There's few people using this Network but a great percentage of users are really talented in one area or another. I am feeling confident the IT gurus will find a way to make Steem less dependent on SteemIt.com.

Excellent article, Rosa!

I believe so too @trincowski, and I am actually hoping this 'crisis' will lead to more people realizing how much they have to add to this place - and start doing it. Hence my post. Thanks for your comment!

There are lots of very talented people here. Lots of them are not necessarily writers. Artists and photographers for example.

I think this insistence on "blogging" and writing as somehow being what makes steemit better or different is a huge turn off for many if not most people. Of course i'm not stupid and i realize that's what everyone assumes is just "the way it is" and the people being rewarded by that are the ones who will reject what i'm saying.

I'm a photographer and that's how I started here as well. I have put my photography on a lower priority though because there's no app on the Steem Blockchain yet that I can truly trust to display my work in the way I want. For me photography doesn't end with the picture, but also with the way I present it. (Be it in a book, in an exhibition, or online.)

But yes, the idea that we all have to blog/write good content is old-fashioned in a way. We can now play steemmonsters, write answers on questions on musing.io, or hunt products on steemhunt, and all will earn us STEEM. The time that only long-form content got rewarded will be over soon enough :-)

I started here thinking i was going to be just posting my art and writing a little about that. A year later and i feel like i'm all over the place. I have at least a dozen thoughts in my head i would like to say... just read a post from Ned and have no idea what is really going on and all i can safely say is i found out my photos are now shrunk to 640x427 pixels. LOL, trying to earn steem is something that has really spun me out and "corrupted" my brain. I say that jokingly but it's true if i look at it from the point of view of an "artist" whatever that really is. These topics are interesting to me and nearly impossible for me to type about. The sort of things that are easier to discuss in person and even then not exactly a piece of cake. Well... there it is my usual incoherent post comment : )

Great points. I think this sums it up.

If you feel like something should be done: do it. If you feel like someone else might be capable of doing a thing: let them know

Bottom line, communication and honesty are the keys for a successful relationship. Old good advice for couples happens to work for the blockchain too.
Thanks for calling our attention to this issue and making us aware of the role we may play.
"Mejor que sobre y no que falte," goes the old saying. Better to have more people, resources and time than we actually need.

Yes, a more light-hearted piece about how couples therapy advise is applicable to today's situation is now brewing in my mind :') LOL! Thanks @hlezama, that old saying is absolutely true.

:) You are welcome. Looking forward to reading that piece.
By the way, I wanted to thank you for your advice about musing.io. It has been great so far.
I have recommneded it to some 40 people I know.

Oh, I'm so happy to hear that! I truly believe there's a way for everyone to build their account/SP through an app on Steem, and I'm glad I could point you to one you like! :-) I'll probably read some of your answers on Musing in the future :D

Please, do so and let me know what you think. I've posting answers for a week now.

Thank you so much for participating the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

Hey, @soyrosa!

Thank you for your contribution to the crowd. We are the Steemit project dedicated to empowering The Wisdom of Crowds. You can find more about us on our official website or whitepaper and you can support us by voting for our witness and joining our curation trail on Steemauto . We are also inviting you to join Crowdmind Discord server. Don't forget to use the #crowdmind hashtag and happy crowdsourcing!

Additional comment:We couldn't agree more. Thank you for your support :-) Yes, we need additional perspectives, and people have to realize that we all have to talk. It doesn't have to be an offline meeting - the crowdsourcing potential of this platform is so huge that will be madness not to use it now.

Once again - thanks!
@hidden84


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 69965.85
ETH 3540.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.71