Two years on Steemit and why I am confident that STEEM will hit $17.50 in H2 / 2018. Hopefully this video won't see me thrown into the "Hate Bin"..!! haha haha

in #steemit6 years ago

Hopefully this video won't see me thrown into the "Hate Bin"..!! hahaha

Celebrating 2 years on #Steemit with a few numbers

Today, I celebrated my second anniversary on #Steemit and as I celebrate two years of blogging to the Platform I wanted to share with you some of my thought and a few numbers..!!

Regular readers of my Blog will know that some of the bits I talk about in this short video is simply repeating what I have expressed in the past, however I have tried to explain a little more in detail in the video the ongoing concerns I have.

As I say in the video, I am sure that there will be some who will listen to what I am saying and would like to rip my head off, but as I have said in the past, sadly I have seen and heard it all before.

Confident that #STEEM will hit $17.50 in H2 / 2018

Also as I explain in the video, I am still very confident that we will see #STEEM hit $17.50 in the second half of 2018, however, I strongly believe that this will only be achieved as long as the mindset of the Community changes.

It is this change of mindset that I strongly believe must be addressed by the Community over the next 6 months to give us a fighting chance to hit this $17.50 target.

Concentration of Power

Having a concentration of power that is currently in the hands of the Technicals, I believe is having a severe detriment effect at the expense of the Commercials and must be tackled.

Hopefully, this message finally gets through and my feelings are understood.

1.1 Million Registered Accounts

As we punch through 1.1 million Registered Accounts on #Steemit, I am pleased to say that in the 2 years that I have been blogging on #Steemit, I have seen the Community grow x22 times.

It is this x22 time growth in the Community that has been an absolute pleasure to experience and be a part of.

Hopefully, over the next 2 years we will see a similar growth.

Thrown into the "Hate Bin"..!!

Hopefully what I say in the video doesn't ostracise me in the Community and I see a line of people queuing up to throw me in the "Hate Bin"..!! hahaha.

Those wishing to do so, please form an orderly queue..!! hahaha

Thanks again for reading and watching.

Stephen

Sort:  

First off, congratulations on your second Steemit anniversary @stephenkendal! Long time fan of yours; and of your efforts.

Not ripping your head off; in fact the exact opposite. We are, indeed, at risk of being overtechnicalized here.

I also come from the commercial/marketing end of the spectrum; back in "another life" I worked for an IT Fortune 500 company and was the "most hated" because I worked in the usability and human factors department. And I was the one who got to tell a bunch of brilliant developers that the completely stellar routine they'd just created was BEAUTIFUL.... but had no functional application because outside of the 0.2% of the population who happens to be highly technical... Mrs. E.B. Smith, a housewife from Scunthorpe, doesn't USE a computer like that.

I have further expansion of what you're saying, which I have been trying to get across to anyone (very few!) who'll listen: We have far too much support and energy going into what I'd call the "wholesale" layer of Steemit: Developing apps, add-ons, guilds, SMTs and what have you... and almost nothing is happening at the "retail" level: End user interface, retention, member relations, usability and so on.

It feels a bit like we're building the world's greatest shopping mall — and we may even be doing it perfectly — with the best shops, the best restaurants, great parking, internals shuttle buses... and NOBODY has stopped to think about how to reach the customers, get them in, and whether we're even offering the kinds of things they like to buy.

I am seeing a glimmer of hope, in the sense that there's an increase in what I would call "community oriented" witnesses; but even so, all the top slot are permanently occupied by "technical" witnesses.

Like you, I am NOT "down" on developers and technology... we just have to be cautious that this venue isn't a "song of one note."

Of course, the Internet went through the same thing... you probably remember the early days when it was VERY difficult to get any of the "nerds" to let go of the idea of the Internet purely being "their toy."

Anyway, happy anniversary to you! I hope you're right about the $17.50!

Stephen, I have good news for you in terms where the big votes go to: With my upcoming 1UP project we will be able to funnel high upvotes to the best content of the Steem communities. It will be supported by its own Smart Media Token called 1UP and create incentives for investors, upvoters and communities. Please check out my economic model where I explain more about it.

The distribution will happen mostly via Steem airdrops and bounty system and the app will go live in October with a few selected communities.

hey, @stephenkendal.

Watched the vlog and read through the post.

My initial thoughts going into the video were, I agree, there seems to be quite a bit being distributed to the technical or the developmental side, while not so much is happening (at least not on the same scale) on the commercial or creative side.

That said, and after reading a couple of comments, I know there is some upvoting going on (to what extent I don't know) by the folks behind the dApps, like dTube and perhaps others. So, there is that. However, I think where I've understood you're going with this is, that the vast majority of what is being delegated or distributed to the dApps is being used to pay for the development and administration of the dApps, and I would say, rightfully so, if we want different kinds of growth and to attract different kinds of users.

The problem as I see it is, and I'm believing this is what you're saying, threre's not really any other mechanism for providing funds to development than the same mechanism that is meant for rewarding content, and that's the reward pool. So, unless Steemit Inc is sending STEEM to these developers (not that I'm aware of), it's all coming from the delegations made by accounts such as misterdelegation along with some of the whales (lower SP creatures, too) some of which are technicals themselves.

I've been wondering if myself and those within my small circle were the only ones concerned about that, and so it's nice to know we're not. the question becomes, how does the funding of the apps with the reward pool stop, when there's not another mechanism ready to fill the gap?

It would be great to see Steem on such a high course. With the great actions of Facebook I´m sure that Steemit will grow massively in the next years.

Yay another awesome UK person, why have I not stumbled upon your before?

From the trenches, I know that something has to change fast, good people are leaving and the morale is really low.

The community here is one of the reasons I have stayed around, as I have never in the 'real' world met so many like-minded people in one place. It is not just commercial input needed, we get the people, but they are not staying, we need a way of making people more welcome, helping give them a leg up, encouraging them to stay. Educating them on best practices that won't see them ostracized or giving up at the first hurdle.

We might have 1.1 million sign-ups, but the active users is far less than that. I can't remember where and how to check that right now.

It would be good if there was some kind of scheme where some users who have been here one year plus, could take a handful of newbies under their wing and steer them in the right direction and make sure they avoid the pitfalls of spamming and plagerism and such like, but consistently create content worthy of attention.

Bullish!

The $1.8 you called which was hit almost bang on in June 2017 was a great call.

Congratulations on the 2 year marker and thank you for letting me know about Steem - it's my anniversary next week :)


I was speaking with my witness partner today who has exactly the same concern as you. Pinging @paulag !

Your passion for Steem is admirable! Unfortunately I lost my motivation a bit since nothing significant happened development wise during the last year, at least nothing that is noticeable to Steemit users. Lets hope things will turn out as you predict, that would be awesome.

Congratulations on a productive two years. Technicals vs commercials sort of the issues surrounding the Betamax vs VHS controversy of the 80's and 90's. Although Betamax was deemed technically superior, VHS won out because it more effectively address demand within the market. As far as Steemit is concerned, the marketplace ist the user base. Satisfy the market and experience prolonged growth, otherwise run the risk of losing out to competitors. Great post, very much appreciated.

If we don’t find the way to effectively commercialize all the development done and being done in the Steem blockchain we would take the risk that other worst platforms in development right now would do better than us...no way if we have the best technology, marketing and commercial project have to be equally developed with the technology...
Fully agree Stephen

Hate bin?!? A pedestal is more likely! Got yourself a follow!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64223.84
ETH 3158.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29