Strange Premise I Know...But I Am Making A Post Around The Last Comment I Posted...I NEED Feedback On This!

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

So I just left a comment to someone and I am genuinely interested if people believe I am in complete denial or not.

I would truly love some feedback on this because I refuse to believe it is too late before we are even out of Beta...

Here is the comment I left and I wholeheartedly stand behind it...Am I a fool? I don't care if you don't vote for this post but please register an opinion...There is a little bit of nonsense in the comment re:time-travelling crypto investing that refers to the original post but on the whole it is quite straightforward what i am getting at...

I get it...I honestly do...
That doesn't mean I'm willing to accept it!

Everyday I meet at-least 1 or 2 people who have a similar vision to mine I find they congregate in altruistic groups on discord with others who share their ethos on what the platform should be. The way to change, I mean real change is for people to vote with their feet. If we as a community start to make changes in how we do things and educate newcomers in to the same mindset some of the broken elements can start to be less broken
If ya think I'm wearing a kaftan and singing Kumbaya here you are completely wrong!

I'm a savvy guy and I see how bad it is in some of the dankest areas of the blockchain, this is not about being in denial or joining hands and singing in the sunrise (not that there's anything wrong with that.)
This is about joining a decentralised platform. Why join one?

My personal reason was to get away from being forced to tow the party line on every issue and be able and allowed to express my opinions and beliefs even if they are not sanitised enough for the mainstream. BUT surely everyone here can see the irony?

If you truly want a decentralised community, then we deal with our own crap...We gotta be the ones to police the really bad eggs ourselves. If there are wholesale changes that need to be made it needs to come from the community to the Devs not the other way round.
This isn't Facebook, if it was I would not be here using it.

I make next to nothing on my posts either although it is slowly growing...That is kinda the plan here though isn't it? You get through the initiation or you...Uhm...Die and your body gets washed up on twitter!!!

For those all set to start thumping their keyboard in response telling me how it's impossible to grow here and how it's beyond repair, I challenge you to investigate your own mindset. Is it rugged and individually driven enough to survive here? As far as decentralisation goes, you are pretty much in the wild west, laying foundations in pioneer town. That is not for everyone!

I know some of you have been here for 2 years plus now and yeah, technically you are the true pioneers but we're still in Beta and people are already preparing eulogies. Also 2 years in the big scheme of things is nothing, jut ask @Maxhodl I'm sure that looking back from whence he came that is but a blip.

What i am saying in summary to those who fell asleep half way through is that although i see a whole mess of problems here I also see a hardcore of people who wish to put things right...That number swells daily.
I put my faith in the community to find ways to repair some aspects of Steem.
It will not be easy but I'm damn sure it'll be worth it!

To any still not convinced that we can still make it on Steemit, jump in Max's time machine and come see me in 12, 24 and 36 months see how I have grown! I will grow and also in time I will also invest in Steem (call it, putting my money where my mouth is.)
To those here to grow and get some rewards, carry on, set goals, review if you are still on track often and see what happens...I am in zero doubt that the community will self correct and the Dev's will listen.

Whether you agree or disagree with me I still wish you the very best of luck for an epic journey either way...

I want to be right and believe I am or at-least I can be. I want us to be better than many believe we are!

Sort:  

My personal reason was to get away from being forced to tow the party line on every issue and be able and allowed to express my opinions and beliefs even if they are not sanitised enough for the mainstream. BUT surely everyone here can see the irony?

yes, the outside world is a reflection of our habits which were mainly formed by our environment, this is a new environment, and we are just bringing in some dirt from the outside. change takes time, don't lose hope or you'll be one canoe beed.


This isn't Facebook, if it was I would not be here using it.
I make next to nothing on my posts either although it is slowly growing..

I agree.


I put my faith in the community to find ways to repair some aspects of

it's like this place got taken over my orcs, and now the strong dudes from Rohan are here.
I** love** it!


It will not be easy but I'm damn sure it'll be worth it!

so far, that's been true about this version of the universe.

For Rohaaaannn!

I think you are right my friend we are here to banish the orcs back into the nether regions of darkness...And we will. Oh we started the re-build small, a few pockets of resistance here and there but I feel a momentum shift as communities have begun setting out their stall and creating initiatives that take us back to basics.

Hopefully most of the larger pump 'n dumpers have come and gone and sanity is returning, I'm not claiming that I think it will be perfect, but better is a great start for right now.

Thankyou so much for taking the time it is greatly appreciated. May the sun shine brightly for your journey. :D

oh no, that's you're thing. I'm an elf, but love my rohan bros.
orcs are fine, we need dirt to plant trees. :p just kidding, I do hate mosquitos though. that is uncalled for agression.

fortunately, the world will crush scarcity soon so none of these wars will be necessary anymore and the orcs can just fucking stay in mordor and leave the rest of us alone.

It's maybe best to educate those who come to learn than to spend time searching for a student?

I want to know the "right" way to steemit!!!

I joined in August 2017, 10 months, no bid bots a couple of down vote flags, and some stolen SBD by a high rep scammer, who is still a high rep person. All my growth has been pretty much organic. 4 months ago a couple of people delegated some SP to me to get me up to a vote slider.

You are not wrong, there are good people, good groups, and people can make it on their own power. They just have to be willing to do it, and to find the people that can and will help when they can. So no you are not wrong.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64498.18
ETH 3079.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86