Another 13 Moons in Motion - The Steemit Moon Calendar & Today is My 2 Year Steemit B-Day!!

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

images.jpg

26 Moons & Counting

I never really gave it much thought until today, but Steemit uses the Moon for its calendar rather than using the Sun. I always knew this because when looking at my stats via Steemd.com, which is like an official block explorer for Steemit, my current account would show the age based on moons that had passed by since I started my account. I just simply accepted that Steemit used the Moon to calculate our account age and moved on never really thinking any further about it.

Screen Shot 2018-07-13 at 3.37.30 AM.png
I even get a birthday cake! Thank you Steemit

Now that today is my official Steemit Birthday for my account, I began to do a little research on 13 Moons. I already knew that each year has 13 Moon cycles and I also knew that ancient civilizations like the Egyptians and the Mayans had Lunar calendars. That was depth of my Lunar Calendar knowledge, so as I researched 13 Moons I stumbled upon an intriguing essay on the Mayan Lunar Calendar called Thirteen Moons in Motion - A Dreamspell Primer by Jose Arguelles and Lloydine Arguelles.

When I initially signed up for Steemit 2 years ago to the today, I realized that Steem and Steemit was a new paradigm in social media and cryptocurrency. Just like the light bulb went off many many many moons ago when hearing and learning about Bitcoin, it did so for Steemit.com as well. I sensed something revolutionary and life changing in Steemit and I was immediately hooked. For me, I saw the opportunity to help others as well as to spread the word about cryptocurrency through this new social medium called Steemit. Yes, I also realized that I could potentially also reap rewards or profits from Steemit, but that still has not been nor is it my main reason for being on Steemit. I truly believe that there is only one people that live on one nation called Earth. I believe that cryptocurrency and platforms like Steemit.com could help humanity truly wake up to realize that the people of Earth should not be ruled by money makers or their puppets called politicians. Cryptocurrency and platforms like Steemit.com could level the money playing field and potentially liberate each and every person on Earth from the old archaic system that enslaves through debt while maintaining if not increasing the already exorbitant wealth of the super rich and elite.

"The new time of the thirteen moons is the new path of life for creating equality and non-aggression on planet Earth. Once entered into, the new time of the 13-moon calendar, synchronizes all humans with themselves and with the planet. Confusion will be eliminated, and forgiveness, and liberation may be instantly granted."

- Thirteen Moons in Motion
- Jose & Lloydine Arguelles




Let me ask you, What has your bank done for you recently?

What has your government done to truly make your and your families lives better?

How many of you have been helped or been aided in anyway by Bitcoin, Steemit or cryptocurrency?

Please let me know, thanks.


Why Moons?

It would be great if anyone like maybe @dan or @ned , or maybe @berniesanders or @stellabelle or some of the original creators/developers might know why Steemit uses the Lunar calendar rather than the Gregorian Sun based calendar?

I don't know if they realized this when choosing a 13 Moon Lunar based calendar, but the Mayans believed that this calendar, also known as the Dreamspell Calendar, would help humanity attain a higher level of global consciousness by synchronizing daily life with Lunar and Galactic events in the sky. This new awareness would eventually lead to more enlightened human beings the world over, creating a better Earth for all.

Is Steemit and its 13 Moon calendar part of this Global Awaking that will lead to a better world for ALL OF US? I believe and Know Now Like I believed 2 Years Ago that Steemit would change lives for the better the World Over!!

07/13/2018
Full Steem Ahead!
@streetstyle

Img Src:

Pic 1

Sort:  

I don't know why steemit uses moon either, but you've just taught me that 13 moon is equivalent to one year, and congratulations my friend on 26 moons here I will give you my own piece of cake too and here it is 🎂

I'm so glad it's been two years for you, this is my 9th month on steemit, and I've been able to afford college fees thanks to steemit and not my government at all and well you helped me with pay per view boxing matches too my friend. Thank you a million for this.

Congratulations my friend, Cheers!!!! 😀😀😀

@josediccus How did you find out about Steemit?

Are any of your family members or friends on Steeemit?

Are some non-believers?

A friend of mine @streetstyle his name is @rufans you know, first time he told me, I wasted no time I signed up and well here I am now, a lot of my friends came to steemit because I believed, I gave them a reason to believe too, I'm saving STEEM so as to power up, when I have up to 200 STEEM I will power up 😀😀😀.

So how about you? Any emotional thing about how you joined?

I read about it and joined as soon as I learned about it. I have had some friends join, but they have all pretty much stopped using it. They are lazy and non-believers, but more lazy because they know just won't do anything about it.

Truth is many people doubted this platform, I know a few people too because they won't just look at the prospects of the future my friend. I'm glad we're both here.

felicitaciones por tus dos años en esta plataforma y gracias por compartir lo de las 13 lunas de steemit . y en cuanto ala pregunta aquí en Venezuela estamos viviendo un caos el sueldo no alcanza para nada es por eso que decidí formar parte de ser su familia espero que me ayuden gracias.saludos

Happy Birthday, and I sure would love for everything to go back to the natural calendar...maybe that time is coming sooner than I thought.

Really great post, Steem/Crypto is changing the world for so many people, it's helped our family countless times, and we've been able to use it to help others. This is only the beginning, and I'm so glad I know YOU!!

Thank you @lyndaybowes And yes I truly believe that Crypto is changing the World for the better. Thank you for your support and support of Steemit.

Good morning @streetstyle, you are very intelligent, I do not think anyone else has seen the detail of 13 moons in steemit.


Blessings:)

Wonderful day and nice achievement .
You got 30,000+ SP with in 2 year... Thats great @streetstyle

@khaled02 No not all of it is from blogging or curating (up voting), I actually invested as well, that's how much I believe in this platform.

At first congrats for your 26 moon anniversary. I am not old in steemit .I am only 5 moon on steemit. Its a great platform. Your getting sp is so high. Have a nice weekend @streetstyle

Is Steemit and its 13 Moon calendar part of this Global Awaking that will lead to a better world for ALL OF US?

First of all, I had always wondered why those moons. You just gave me an answer.

I believe in the same as you do. I believe steem has already changed and will eventually change billions of lifes all over the world.

Banks are absolete. Goverments work for themself only. That’s why I got involved in crypto, that’s why I signed up for steemit.

Congratulation!!!

Hello, happy 2nd anniversary for you 😍
This is great
Answer some of the unknowns
Let me ask you: What has your bank done for you recently?
Noooo

What has your government done to really improve the life of you and your family?

Nooooo

How many of you have received help or have received help from Bitcoin, Steemit or cryptocurrencies?

Well here I did not understand much, but Steemit has been helpful for many 🙌
regards

Happy 2nd anniversary mate.
Wish you success in the coming future too.
I'm a few months old on steemit but I'm loving it.

Congratulations may be more successful and always inspire us who still have to learn a lot about Steemit.

Cheers!
DQmNtj7YabNLqaV443XWuj1SXa9cwjdGanXDaFnkWhS74Ep.gif

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.05
ETH 3147.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29