Now that the Steemit View Count is gone ...

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

Did you notice that Steemit no longer displays a view count for your posts anymore? I noticed this change a few days ago and have been contemplating over the last few days how this will impact our Steemit experience.

skin-3358873_640.jpg

Disclaimer


I have no idea why this change was made, nor have I actively purposed an answer.

No more view count! So what?

I can see a few different scenarios play out now.

  1. Content creators no longer have EASY access to how many people viewed a post. Vote information is great, but we all know that posts can be auto-voted. (Disclaimer: There are people who support my posts via auto-votes.) The view count lands somewhere between a vote and a comment. It means that someone took the time to click on your posts, and as a result, that indicates an increased level of engagement. As content creators, we no longer can measure this type of engagement from the Steemit interface. This information is still available from the Steem Blockchain.

  2. Content creators do not have to feel bad about their auto-vote support. I always felt bad when my auto-vote support was higher than my views. I appreciated that people were supporting me, but I also wanted more engagement with my followers. Now I will not be as aware of the discrepancy, which leads to pros and cons.

  3. Content creators do not have to be as accountable in regards to their auto-vote support. One of the interesting things about Steemit is that all information is available to all people. If you wanted to hold me accountable, then check out what I am doing (or what I have done) and study the patterns. As a community, we still have access to all of the information. But with the removal of the view count, we will have to fight against the urge to only pursue auto-votes, because the information is not as convenient to find.

  4. Steemit will still actively gather this information. This is purely speculation, but I wonder how Steemit will continue to use this information and how will it impact their decision-making processes.

Final Thoughts


Sometimes small changes have huge impacts. I hope that the decision to remove the view count from a Steemit blog post was made with great consideration.

I equally desire that we, as individuals and as a community, make sure that we pursue the highest standards for our content and our engagement with our followers. Just because the view count was hidden does not mean that we should stop striving for excellence.

I want to hear from you.

  1. Do you notice that the view count for Steemit posts had been hidden?
  2. Can you think of any other outcomes that could result from this change?
  3. If you could make the decision, would you reintroduce the view count or leave it hidden?

I look forward to hearing from you.

@SumatraNate


Image Source: https://pixabay.com/en/skin-face-portrait-human-fantasy-3358873/

A special shoutout to @leeuw. I made some edits to the original post because of the comments I received from @leeuw, who reminded me that all of the information is available on the Steem Blockchain.

Sort:  

I think they got rid of it because it looks pretty lame when a post has more up votes than it has views and those statistics give newcomers an easy insight into the sometimes fickle nature of the users of this website

Yeah. Have been noticing that as well. I just thought it was my computer glitching.

It's not great? Even Facebook tells you how many views a post has gotten.

Resteemed and upped.

I think it's to maintain a facade. The fact that before you could go to trending and realize that the "most successful" publications had about 100 views on a platform of hundreds of thousands of people could look very bad.

Well, there arent really hundreds of thousands of people using this platform. More like tens of thousands. Many many accounts are bought and sleeping (like domains for sale down the line) which is good because it means people spend money to create accounts that they belive will be worth more in the future.

It also means that we are much farther away from mass adoption than some seem to believe. Does this mean that the mcap is too high and steem is too high? Possibly. Could it mean that prices will be much much higher? Possibly.

And STEEM is one thing - steemit another. Steem is brilliant. Steemit is cool but it has a lot of problems. Steem is a protocol, so you can in a way look at steemit as a way to mine precious steem as the steem blockchain evolves in the future. You could be getting airdrops based on your amount of vested SP and steem could rise dramatically in value as other dapps are created on the blockchain.

I agree. And I know that there really are not hundreds of thousands of active users, but that is something that someone who is new can think, and wanting to measure the pulse of the platform by Steemit's Trending is disappointed.

is really simple, if u want to see the view count, well, the steem blockchain is open for all to program with and thus make your own interface with a viewcount. Steemit.com is just one of many interfaces. Decentralize everything

Is there any program has been made to see it? because I am not a programmer and will not be able to create a special program to check view count @leeuw. It is not my statement of agree or not agree to the "view count". because it has both good and not good to have "view count" available

good point, would need to look into that

Very. Ordinary.

The view count could not be trusted since it only displays views from the steemit.com platform and not i.e. busy

  1. No, did not notice that the views disappeared, but I am a bit slow.
  1. ) It will definitely mask the auto votes. Most votes are given with out "looking" at the post. So this definitely decreases insight in actual engagement.
    3.) Would like it back, just for sake of completeness.

I can't think of anything good that can come from it, since it was one of the few Steemit mechanics that can't be used for the greedy gathering of SBD.

I sure as hell noticed that it was missing. As a new blogger I was tracking the view numbers of my posts with great interest. Oh well...

I really hope that it does come back. there are a lot of other things I would much rather they get rid of!

i think there are some sites which provide an image to show the counter if you really want to display the count.

Really?? Mine is the same but I guess I should expect the change the following days. Dawn it!I was so used to that.It's a pity it would be available anymore.

Yeah @sumatranate they are abt to change so many things.

Making as easy as other social media and accountable as steemit.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64799.61
ETH 3102.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83