My Experience with Promotion Bots

in #steemit6 years ago

Not long ago, I asked the Steemit community what I should do with my supply of SBD.

One of the options presented was to use the SBDs to buy help from bots. I was hesitant to try this approach due to the controversy surrounding bot use on Steemit.

However, I found that a plurality of my followers largely supported the use of bots to help get my posts greater exposure. And this community support is what ultimately prompted me to dive in and try.

Here's what I learned.

Promotion Bots are Easy to Hire

Ordinarily, my posts earn rewards of somewhere between $3 and $5. The top end of that being exceptionally rare.

When I posted my Trollhunters review, I used promotion bots for the very first time.

I looked up these bots on Steembottracker.com. The two promotion bots they recommend are Minnowbooster and Smartmarket.

I gave a single SBD to each promoter, and found the process to be quite seamless. Minnowbooster gives you the option of just sending the money from your Steemit wallet, while both promoters offer the option to send the money through Steemconnect (which gave me no trouble at all).

Promotion Bots are Fair Players

One of the first things that happened, after hiring the promoters, was an unexpected partial refund.

Smartsteem returned .604 SBD, saying that it had promoted the post as much as it could, but was unable to give me 1 SBD worth.

Minnowbooster also returned .001 SBD after they were done promoting my post.

These events were, in a word, unexpected. I had imagined that whatever money I threw at promoters was just gone forever, and they would do as they saw fit afterwards. That they actually stopped me from overpaying was a bit of an eye-opening experience---one that went a long way in convincing me of the honesty of their business model.

Promotion Bots are (Mostly) Effective

That first post, in the end, netted nearly $9 on Steemit. I had payed 1.295 SBD for promotion services.

After taking into account the curator's share and all other considerations, it's fair to say that I turned a profit from my experiment. Not only did I make my money back overall, but I also made back more than double the amount in SBDs alone.

The experience also furthered my goal of increasing my Steemit reputation score, as the additional VESTS make each post more of a reputation booster.

When I tried promotion services a second time (for my Muppets: Infinity War, Part 1 post, the situation worked out even better, with me netting nearly $12 on Steemit.

The third time, however, was not quite as successful. Muppets: Infinity War, Part 2 only netted about $4 on Steemit. And that might have had something to do with the amount of other people using promotion services, or with the falling price of Steem (we've been getting hammered down by the market lately). Or it could just be an outlier.

Conclusion

In any case, it would appear that more research is needed before I can declare promotion bots to be a true solution or not. Luckily, I have a goodly supply of SBDs to keep experimenting with, with the hopes that I might establish myself as a Steemit personality.

I want everyone on the platform to at least be aware of my journey toward publication, because I want to bring the platform along with me, and use my book writing career to bring more attention to Steemit and the crypto universe. If promotion bots (and even other bots) are needed to make that happen, then I need to at least entertain the idea of using them.

Let me know what you think in the comments.

Sort:  

Try out @echowhale bot as an upvote bot

Promotion bots are of two types one are bid bots and other are bots like minnowbooster and If you are new then i,ll prefer minnowbooster because it is a bot who help and promote low level steemians and it is a profitable bot.
Bidbots are bit risky because there vote depend upon the bid. more bid they will recieve smaller they will vote.

wish you best of luck and keep using bidbot to promote your post it really helps alot

Another wonderful and interesting important topic for disscussing by @talanhorne sir...
Actualy I think that is very useful to all steemians...
That is my "Golden Rules" before using bots...
GOLDEN RULES

  1. Don't use a bot with Max Suggested Bid of 0 Steem / SBD. That bot has been maxed out on the current voting cycle and you cannot make any ROI.
  2. If you are going to spend a LOT then it is often wise to bid early in the voting cycle so that others can see and may not use it. Its also courteous so that you don't suddenly place a huge bid last minute and everyone else in that voting cycle gets much less.
  3. Steer clear of bots that have a min / max ROI of none/10%.
  4. Using voting bots does increase your reputation, and if you consistently spend a lot of money on up-votes your reputation will rise dramatically! That is worth bearing in mind when you see others with very high reputations who are posting less than great content.. they may not be as wonderful as you think!
    Wel done sir...
    Upvoted and resteemed...

Sir,I think smartmarket is best of all bot.

That would be informative article for how to use Bid bots and what's facilities indeed there.n Thanks @talanhorne.

For me promotion bots better for promote my post. It does important task.

Useful imformation again for steemians by @talanhorne sir...
This is my ideas about steem bots...I think we always check steem bot tracker before using bots..
Steembottracker makes is possible to use bots with the best chance of success. Whilst there is a lot of data presented on this page, let me show you what you need to pay attention to:

  1. VOTE VALUE:
    This is the maximum amount a bot can up-vote. Note that this figure is displayed in $USD by default which can be changed to other currencies such as $SBD .

  2. MIN / MAX BID
    This is the lowest amount a person can send to use a bot. For some reason it doesn't show the max bid, perhaps because most people don't set one.

  3. MIN / MAX ROI.**
    This is a super important! The first number shows you how much you are are able to lose at most. If it says none it means there is NO limit as to how much you can lose rather than that you cannot lose anything! The second number is the most you are allowed to gain.

  4. MIN / MAX AGE
    This is simply the amount of time that you can up-vote after you post. In most cases you have to wait at least 20 minutes before you can use a bot, and a post shouldn't be older than 3.5 days.

  5. TOTAL BIDS
    This shows how many people have placed a bid on the current round of voting. It is a useful figure, but actually not necessary to look at as the next option is far better to check.

  6. MAX SUGGESTED BID**
    This is also a super important field to look at! If you send more than this max suggested bid you will surely lose out. In fact you should ideally bid around 20% less or more than the suggested bid to be confidant of not losing out.

  7. LAST VOTE / NEXT VOTE
    This is the amount of time until the vote happens. If you want to play it safe it is a good idea to wait until the last minutes to place a vote since you stand more chance of getting good rewards. This is because the voting is shared with everyone who bids on each round, so if you can see a good ROI when you make the bid in the final minutes it is less likely too many others will manage to place a vote as well.
    Wel done and perfect work sir...
    Happy steeming...

Congratulations @talanhorne
Now you are in the MinnowsPower Loyalty Member List...!!!

Exceptional experience well shared to the community...!!!

100% Upvoted by @MinnowsPower

bidbots sometimes bring losses and sometimes not, the idea of making our publication seen by other users and get additional votes is incredible to say this, but if your publication does not have more than 5 sbd in profits no one else votes, because everyone is looking to have something of the reward when the publication is greater than $ 20.

I never used bid bots and don't have any idea use them. They probably doing wrong task to community. Your post useful one.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63851.10
ETH 3059.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85