In community support: A new service @dustsweeper

in #steemit6 years ago

This is to support a new bot starting up that is attempting to deal with some of the dust payout issues. I don't know much about it but on my last post I was directed to it by @jan23com. I have posted about the dust payout point issue relatively recently:

Ashes to Ashes, Votes to Dust: Making votes count
A dust payout clarification

@davemccoy and @danielsaori have created a bot that is going to attempt to tackle the issue in a pretty unique way. I am not sure how it is going to work out completely but for now, I will delegate 200 SP to @dustsweeper on a trial period and hope that it will become a service that actually does support Minnows, unlike some others that only claim in name alone. The post I read is only about two hours old but here is how it works:

The way it works:

If you have an upvote that is less than $0.0249, then your value will show either $0.00, $0.01, or $0.02. @dustsweeper will see those values on day 6 of your post/comment and upvote you $0.028 automatically so that you will get paid on the balance of those upvotes you already have.

What does it cost:

There is no membership fee whatsoever, but there is a charge of $0.014 SBD for every dust vote we cast. That is half of the value of the upvote of $0.028. The way we keep track of it is that you send about 1 SBD/STEEM or more, we double the amount and keep the balance on hand. Every time we upvote your dust we will just take it from that balance. For example, you will get 71 dust votes before your 1 SBD runs out. When you get low on your balance, you will be notified so that you can top-up your @dustsweeper balance and be sure you don't miss any votes.

Here is the FULL POST

Maths is not my strong suit but I am hoping that not only that the guys running the service will act in the best interest of the community, but those using the service will too. Of course, if the project looks like it isn't working, I will remove my delegation so I would appreciate those who do use it to keep me updated from time to time how it is going since for the time being, I am declining comment payouts anyway.

Let's see how it pans out.

Taraz
[ a Steemit original ]

Sort:  

Awesome you pushed this post to explain the new @dustsweeper service only 2 hours after it being released. And thanks a lot for your delegation.

As @davemccoy said, we are not planning to earn any profit from this. It is one of our joint projects which is 100% meant to support minnows. As soon as my witness will show a profit, it will be used to finance this and similar projects. Any surplus will be used for future initiatives.

Looking forward to seeing how it goes. Good effort to to the both of you :)

Thank you for the post explaining it @tarazkp! And I have no doubts that you will like how it works once you see. We are not running the service to earn money, and if you (or any of your followers) have any questions about how it works I would be happy to explain it. Neither @danielsaori or myself are to receive any money from this project, it is a true community project to help newbies and minnows! Thank you very much for your support and for also spreading the word!

it is a true community project to help newbies and minnows! Thank you very much for your support and for also spreading the word!

It is nice to hear for a change. I wish you guys the best of luck and if things go well, I will increase the delegation a little later.

I understand your point about this being something different for a change :)... And I am very excited that you are going to be paying attention! Have a great weekend :)

Steemit just came back up so I'm trying to catch up
I truly hope this works out well and minnow get involved . It will help with their voting . thanks to @tarazkp for this post it explains it quite a bit , and he is always on the front line helping out .
I believe @lynncoyle1 just posted something in reference to this and I will look at it here in a minute after I get a full grasp on @tarazkp last post .
Thanks Dave I will do what I can :)

You too mate :)

Hat tip - well done on this initiative. Great stuff.

I've thought about doing something like this before. I don't really like the concept of "dust votes" being discarded. I understand that it was done to discourage spam, but that's why we have bandwidth. In my opinion the ultimate fix for this belongs in consensus code. As a witness, perhaps @danielsaori will advocate for this change.

All votes should count.

The only thing I'm not fond of here (other than it being a band-aid for something that needs a proper fix) is the payment scheme. If this is meant to be a service to the community, why is it charging people on a per-vote basis? I don't like, and hesitate to support, vote-selling in any capacity. Voting power is for giving freely to others, not for selling. That's just my opinion.

The fees we charge should equal the cost to run the service and lease the SP to make those votes. If the bot makes a profit, then the surplus will be used do other things to help the community.

I like this sentiment, though. I'll be watching this experiment.

I think the cost goes to cover the delegation they need which is understandable at this point at least as without free delegation it is hard to do.

I like this sentiment, though. I'll be watching this experiment.

I am supporting on sentiment alone at the moment.

Hi Taraz. That is a bot I can live with. It is actually doing a service assisting on the work you have done, but too small to count. I would pay for that. Wish it was around last month as I have left loads of dust.

Let's see how it goes. I am not sure about their calculations and it is early days but, fingers crossed it helps people.

I think this is brilliant, I'm really in totally I think it's a enhancement to what bot services offer I will check it out

I saw Dave dropped it over and talk about in newbie resteem day and when they presented it I said it was just awesome and pure genius!!

This is a great thing for red fishes and minnows like me.

Yep, I a m hoping it works out well and is at least something positive on the platform, even if at the dust level. Ground up as they say.

What a great initiative and so good to see this 'dust' problem - that I only recently became aware of - being addressed. Like you say, the mechanics of the reward "math" might need some tweaking as they go along but at least they've stepped up to get something going. Hats off!

Wow, this is a nice initiative as it is geared towards the minnows. Who even came up with this idea? I love this blockchain coz it is a platform for the birth of so many genius ideas. It's a good thing that you want to delegate some of your steem power to them for trial. I hope they come out effective at the end.

To be honest, when I first read about dust (in your post) I was flabbergasted. What's the point of it other than to hold down minnows?

Cheers for this, I'd missed it being away from the computer yesterday.

Delegated 200 SP under the same remit and thinking as yourself.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64742.01
ETH 3172.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.10