It is fun to celebrate every time we reach a milestone in the amount of followers we have!

in #steemit6 years ago

I couldn't wait until I hit 1500 followers to do another celebration post, but today I ran across a tool developed by @Sircork called https://steem.agency and it made me a little sad.

logo_top_left_white.png

This is a tool to see how many of your followers are still active in the steemit community. I was shocked to find out that I had many hundreds of followers that are no longer active. After sifting through most of the data that this tool offers I realized a lot of my followers just had given up after not getting any meaningful up votes or constructive criticism.

Okay so it's fair to admit that some of these folks never really gave it a fair try, but on the other hand I saw some amazing posts that were so good I could only dream about writing that well. I'm almost ashamed that I couldn't keep up with all of this, on the other hand we all know it is impossible to help everybody.

Okay so what are the solutions to this problem?


Should we spend hours curating and upvoting new people to give them motivation and should we put all of our favorite people on auto vote so we have more time to curate new people.

I think the answer to all of this is communities, when somebody joins steemit and starts showing an interest in your community we must encourage them and give them support, I know with this next hard fork were supposed to have something about communities in their, but until that happens we need to step up and support these people that are just starting out!

I know I'm just ranting here, but a lot of people don't even acknowledge the folks that comment on their posts. New people are trying to start out and make connections and some people wont acknowledge them because the reputation is too low and they havent learned to put more thought into it. (let's help them with this)

Some of the time we are so busy worrying about upvotes that we don't take the time to help others.

Solution number two, acknowledge your followers on their comments (if it's a good one) and give a little upvote!

I hope I have given you all little something to think about because were all invested in this community and if it don't grow we just lost all of our marbles and our investment ended up being a big waste of our time.

If you need an example of communities, like my good friend at @goldmatters once said, #steemsilvergold was a community before communities were invented!

P.S. 1,000,000 registered accounts on Steemit! WOOHOOO!

Please leave your comments and sugestions below,we can do this!

Sort:  

Yeah it is to bad more people don’t keep trying.

I think some will come back and try agian!

I think what you said here hits the nail on the head -

“Some of the time we are so busy worrying about upvotes that we don't take the time to help others.”

And unfortunately I would include myself there. At least initially. The upvotes will come when we can focus on what’s the most important, the people.

It's hard to comment on everything so I like to pop in on post's with low volume alot.I have tried putting more time into commenting and I can say it's a full time job!

Agree! And that’s a good idea.

I see you're also searching for Solutions... And don't think I haven't noticed your support... The trouble with auto-voting is that people will miss some pretty good material... If I were in this for the money only, there are many people in the Steemit World passing out Up-Votes for a simple Comment, that are better than what I receive for an entire post... Steemit can very very trying at times, to say the least...

You are an Awsome example of someone that dont give up and always replies to your commenters!
Dont think you havent rubbed off on people,I wont ever cash in my coinage thank's to your PC theory.

That statement sure made my day... Thanks ever so much...

I have 240 followers but I only know about 70 of them. The rest never commented or upvoted my articles. How can I help the other 170?
Everybody that comments on my articles receive an upvote and, more important, an answer to the comment. What more can I do?

You are doing everthing right,Thank's bro!

I think your bang on man! I always suggest new people to find there niche/community here or start one. I also vote and reply to all my comment and usually also follow people that leave comments as well,

Thank"s Pheli,I'm with you on that one!

Capture.PNG
Couldn't have said it better man, I think you are spot on. It is truly an honor to follow two of the best (you and @goldmatters) on this platform and become a part of #steemsilvergold

P.S. The 1,000,000 accounts is so awesome :)

Oh man,Putting me up with @goldmatters is a great thing to say! He has inspired so many people that he should be in the steemit hall of fame!

Nice work and good insight

I think if you do not have a hobby or community to fit in you get lost and frustrated quickly. I lost some early friends (non SSG members) but they were posting randomly with a photo or two, some family events and ...zero replies. They see other shit posts get high votes due to bots and stop.

Same thing happend to me,they gave up to soon!

ive been pretty unactive recently but im still here lurking and ill be back soon at full power! :)

I been wondering how and where you have been,glad to see your still with us!

You think so right. With quality content and true followers, SteMit is becoming a great platform. Thank you for sharing @tbnfl4sun

A true follower,Thankyou for all your upvotes and comments @turkishcrew!

Because Your shares are very valuable to me. @tbnfl4sun 👍

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66931.79
ETH 3249.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.10