Dear Facebook friend, I've come a long way... Here's your three-year shortcut.

in #steemit6 years ago

In spite of their many flaws, including a lack of remuneration, "traditional" social media platforms like Facebook still have their benefits, even if they are few and far between...

Today, facebook reminded me of my humble beginnings with earning money online. Three years ago, I was using and promoting anything and everything I knew would pay out, and was hungry to finally find the one that was going to start putting money on the table full-time.

At the time, I was a new father, and wanted nothing more than to be able to work and home while still providing this tiny person with everything he could need or want.


I shared that reminder on my feed, with a few words on how I feel about it looking back;

If you're here from Facebook, scroll down. You've already seen this part. 😉

Screenshot_20180608-111601.png

I've been doing this crazy "work from home Dad" thing for a while now. It started out ridiculously slow, making a few cents at a time, and has led to opportunities beyond anything I could have dreamed of when this was first published. I've had months in which I've made literally thousands of dollars, though I've certainly had to work a day job or two to make ends meet...

I've seen websites born, and die. I've been scammed, and I've found genuinely credible companies. I've failed, and I've won.

I've learned a lot about how these types of businesses work, and of all their varied methods of generating revenue. I've praised many, and called more than a few spades a spade... I've come to know the ins and outs of earning money using nothing but my mind, the internet, and time, and my confidence to determine successful ventures, and how to run them, has grown with all that knowledge.

It's all led me to the wonderful world of cryptocurrencies like bitcoin, and will soon lead to the funding I need to begin my most ambitious endeavor yet, and something many people in Frankfort will benefit from, whether they take part directly or not. Do you KNOW what a makerspace is?!?

I'd apologize to those who have gone by the wayside the last few years, but it's not on me if you don't understand that I refuse to just be another number on a piece of paper, floating through life confused as to how someone could hustle the way I do, and be so concerned with building something for tomorrow rather than today. Sorry, but I'm just not sorry.

I still have this dollar boxed away, and it will be a lifelong reminder of when I decided to shit or get off the pot...

Hope you're having a good day, Facebook. Wanna know why I'm never around here anymore? Hmu and I'll explain how the only social media websites I use actually PAY me for writing posts just like this, commenting on others' posts, or even just supporting someone by 'liking' what they shared! What if you could get paid for replying to this? Would you? I suppose we'll find out...


I've been on Steemit for just over a year now, and it's become my full-time job!

I'm sure you didn't notice, but I've only logged in to Facebook once a week or so for nearly that whole year... Why would I when Facebook takes and takes, without giving anything in return?

Here within the STEEM ecosystem, we get paid for our thoughts. Can just anyone come here and immediately start making enough to pay their bills and buy groceries? No, and you shouldn't expect to. Is it possible? Sure. Are you going to have to "work" for it? Absolutely.

This is exactly the sort of thing I was searching for 3 years ago, and unfortunately, I was off doing other things when Steemit was born, and I missed almost the entire first year of its development.

If you decide to take the leap, create an account, and start posting, you'll be paid in a digital currency called STEEM. You may not know anything about cryptocurrencies now, and you won't need to in order to start earning some here on Steemit, but you'll learn, and you can do so at your own pace. I'd be more than happy to spend time educating anyone who I know personally on anything and everything they want to know about how it all works.


If what you've already read here has you curious, and you've got a few minutes, read up a bit on this amazing network over at https://steemit.com/welcome!

DQmaxpe78KnMZBazuQVKmTqqsu4qAfG5Hki8MhYDCybVdTi.png

I mentioned in that Facebook post something about "my most ambitious endeavor yet"... Click below to see what kind of big things I've got planned for Frankfort!

received_10159893658835142.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63855.79
ETH 3113.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.04