Strange Happenings for Steem/SBD

in #steemit6 years ago

image.png

It's a strange, new world out there. For those of you who just post because you enjoy having a place where you can share your articles, pictures, and stories... good for you. Keep at it and may you succeed!

For those of us who do like to keep an eye on where things are going in the crypto world, specifically Steem, things are changing and we're seeing some things we haven't seen in quite a while. As you can see from the picture, we're very close to a "Flippening" when the price of SBD crosses the price of Steem.

For the last few months, Steem has been more expensive than SBD, even getting up to around 1.5 SBD per Steem. Now the priced have both dropped against their highs, and Steem has dropped to even with SBD. They both hover at just over $1.00.

Something to look for as the prices decrease is the potential to gain more rewards by choosing "Powered Up" when posting and commenting rather than 50/50. Although around 80% of the SBD rewards are being paid out as liquid Steem, in a situation where the price of SBD is below $1.00, you'll get more rewards by choosing the Powered Up option.

This is because the system always considers the price of SBD to be at $1, which is why rewards were so much higher when the price of SBD was at $3... because the system still thought it was $1.00. The same holds true when the price is less than $1.00.

Just some things to be aware of. You don't have to pay attention if you don't want to, but if you're planning on investing some fiat currency into Steem, this might be something that you want to track.

Not investment advice. Do your own research. Don't touch the sea turtles or the baby birds.



Ono Small.png
@themanwithnoname

Sort:  

So basically you are saying to go for the 10o% powdr up instead of the 50/50?

I'm saying that we're very close to it being more profitable to post 100% than 50/50. We're not there yet, but keep an eye out. We're only $0.03 above that point. It depends what your goals are too though. It might be worth more to you to get the other half paid in liquid Steem if you need something that you can sell now. Plenty of reasons why you might do one or the other.

Thanks for this @themanwithnoname. You just answered the question I was going to ask!

I'm glad to be of assistance!

Thanks for clearing that up, @themanwithnoname. I'll keep an eye on the prices.

Thanks @simplymike, that was going to be my question exactly :)

I like your take here. You went for the flip, while I was looking at whether or not support would hold for either token at $1.

As it is, you've got your 'flippening' because as slight as it is here, SBD is over STEEM.

Screen Shot 2018-08-08 at 11.46.57 AM.png

Screen Shot 2018-08-08 at 11.47.07 AM.png

Yeah, we both had slightly different perspectives on the same event. We hae yet to see where it's going to go.

Yep, it flipped. Then it flopped right back. Who knows where it's going next. Ha ha

My flipper-flopper indicator says probably down, since that's been the overwhelming trend for weeks and weeks. However, my hope-o-meter is saying, onward and upward.

Yeah, I think your flipper-flopper indicator is probably correct. I think it's going to drop even more when it crosses below $1.00.

Well I don't pay too much attention to prices anyways

That's probably a very healthy approach to take, especially right now when it's just another bloodbath. Prices dropping and people freaking out. It's a good time to just focus on making quality posts.

Interesting comparing you and @glenalbrethsen as the two posts popped up in my feed similataneously! Thanks for your take @themanwithnoname

Yeah, I noticed as soon as I posted it that he had done one as well. I respect him and his opinion a lot, so I'm glad to see that I'm at least looking at the same data that he is. We'll see where the numbers take us. :)

Also don't forget the price here on the internal market is 3 days behind. I went to swap my SBD for STEEM but it hasn't caught up yet.

The prices in the internal market are controlled by buy and sell orders. They change when people place orders... which normally lags the external market prices.

The internal price of Steem that is 3 days behind is for calculating rewards. So if you look in the upper-right hand corner of steemnow.com, you can see the internal price of steem (which is different than the market price of steem).

In the example below, it's $1.14.

image.png

Sorry to butt in here, but I thought I heard they changed the internal price of STEEM to be quicker at matching the external price. I can't remember where though. Maybe at steemitblog? If I can find it again, I'll let you know.

I hadn't heard that. I think it kinda makes sense that they use an average so it gives things a bit more stability. Otherwise, you could get completely different rewards for posting 2 hours sooner than someone else. Ha ha. I'd be curious to read the article if you can find it though.

Now that I think about it, it wasn't necessarily the payout average they use that they changed but the calculation corresponding to the dollar amount in your STEEMIT wallet. Yeah. That's it. It's supposed to be more reflective of current value. Or something like that. I'll see if I can find it.

howdy sir blondie this fine evening. Thanks for the opinion on this strange situation because those of us who don't pay any attention could benefit.

Some who pay attention may still not benefit. Some who don't pay attention may yet benefit. The attention can have some influence on the likeliness of benefit, but is not a guarantee.

howdy tonight sir! yes sir I agree. There are no real guarantees.

Howdy tonight sir!
Yes sir I agree. There are
No real guarantees.

                 - janton


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

I think it's time to release the 100% steem power button, I've never done it but now it makes sense after your analysis

It' was more like an announcement to keep your eyes open. Since then the markets have jumped a bit. The price of SBD is back up to $1.07, so it would need to drop a little more for it to make sense to do the 100% powered up. That's my take. You should do your own research though.

image.png

The sbd of the payments have already been eliminated, when do you think they will return?

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

This game is very fun. https://reurl.cc/9EGMj

This isn't a game, this is my life!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 70112.96
ETH 3549.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.71