Auditing My Witness: Let's do our duty [wk2]

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

This is one of the most important tasks we, as a good steemians, should do in a periodical manner.
In my case, I will try to do this process once a week.

For your information:

Witnesses are the block producers on the Steem blockchain and their role is beyond important. These are the people that literally write the blocks and keep the blockchain itself online.

Steem operates on Delegated Proof of Stake (DPoS) in which all users vote to determine these witnesses, much like an election. The distinction here is that this election happens moment to moment and your votes never expire.
(Source)

Each account can vote for up to 30 witnesses, so, as you can understand, in a certain manner, it is our duty as well as our right as steemians to vote for witnesses which have contrasted solvency working as so, if we want to ensure the good stability and performance of the STEEM Blockchain.

I am still searching good witnesses to give my vote for. Currently, my Witness Votes have gone to only 21 witnesses.
The last witnesses for which I have voted for since last "Audit" are:

@holger80 , @therealwolf , @pharesim , @gtg and @jesta .

These accounts have demonstrated, at least for me, their solvency and their commitment with STEEM and the community.

But my intention is to take my responsibility as steemian to "audit" my witness list and to try to find or maintain good witnesses and, of course, discard those that I think are doing wrongly, bad or with low performance or community commitment.

HOW?

Very easy, I am going to use this app. http://duplibot.com/deadwitnesses/ created by @deadwitnesses , you can check this post with the explanation on which information you can get there.

My "Acceptance" criteria will be:

  • How many days have past since this witness last wrote a block to the blockchain (PERFORMANCE)
  • Did the witness write a Post within a week?
  • Did the witness vote a Post within a week?
  • Is the signing key of the witness active? (If it is not, it means that this witness cannot produce any block)
NrWitnessLast Block (days ago)Last Post within a weekLast Vote within a weekSigning Key
1@arcange0YESYESActive
2@blocktrades0YESYESActive
3@cervantes0YESYESActive
4@curie0YESYESActive
5@demotruk0YESYESActive
6@dragosroua0YESYESActive
7@emrebeyler0YESYESActive
8@good-karma0YESYESActive
9@gtg0YESYESActive
10@holger801YESYESActive
11@jesta0YESYESActive
12@klye0NOYESActive
13@moisesmcardona1YESYESActive
14@pharesim0YESYESActive
15@riverhead0NOYESActive
16@sc-steemit0YESYESActive
17@swisswitness0NONOActive
18@themarkymark0YESYESActive
19@therealwolf0YESYESActive
20@utopian-io0YESYESActive
21@yabapmatt0YESYESActive
  • All the witness have their "Signing Key" Active.
  • All of them showing a good performance as Block Producers.
  • Some of them seems , (@klye , @riverhead and @swisswitness ) didn't post anything during the last 7 days. For me is important to be active in this field as well. Would be perfect if any of the post has an update of the Witness "work".
  • @swisswitness is working very well but seems it is not using his Voting Power (last vote performed by this account was on May 29th). IMHO, this is a "waste" of resources. A witness MUST support the community and the most important and simple way is by upvoting good steemians and their quality posts. Please @swisswitness, take note of that.

TO DO TASKS:

  • First task , I should make use of all my Witness Vote power so, I have to find good witnesses and vote for them.
  • Second Task: Check closely @swisswitness activity.

What about you? Which witnesses do you recommend to vote and why?


Steem on!

@toofasteddie

Sort:  

Great to see that you're looking closer on who you vote for @toofasteddie. I thank you for your continued support as well.

Being a witness means you have to keep things running, as well as showing some more or less activity towards communities, in my opinion.

I use much of my time towards other projects, not only Steem, but I do continue to support Steem with my voting and delegations of SP.

Best of luck with your auditing.

I know. I'm a gridcoiner as well... I can imagine.
Keep doing well!

Hi, you could consider checking the #ivoted tag for this weekly review. If you want to participate in the initiative (to put it simply, we offer weekly upvotes for people voting for witnesses), please check these links, explaining that in detail :

Governance and policy
Introduction of @ivoted, a witness voting incentive bot
Official launch of the #ivoted initiative
Complete list of witnesses
Vote for witnesses and get engaged in the #ivoted initiative - Howto

Good initiative!

Good post.

Thanks for the mention! I didn't have alerts on and a friend pointed me here. I'm glad you found this to be helpful, voting for witnesses is a little complicated so I hope to simplify this some.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64359.90
ETH 3105.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87