Would Steemit need a new design?

in #steemit5 years ago (edited)

I was just thinking about the design of Steemit. The problem is that I have been on the platform for an entire year, and in one year, you totally forget about the first impression of the people coming to it for the first time. You get so used to what you see, that you even forget about things you do not like.

Not long ago, I tested the "Steemit-competitor" CBNT. And it was surprising to listen to my own comments about their website, their platform and what I found to be negative. But, when I thought about it for some more minutes, I actually discovered that much of the same can be said about Steemit as well, except for the fact that I have gotten used to it here, so I do not think about it anymore.

steemit like medium.jpg
Would Steemit be better off with a magazine like front-page (something like Medium?)

But, for someone who surfs the Internet as an average person with interest in surfing and finding information, I do not think that landing on Steemit.com is a very lasting and positive experience. The front page looks like some old-fashioned website from 15 years earlier in time, and it looks really crappy. Wouldn't the entire platform be better of if the design looked inviting and interesting? Just compare the Steemit frontpage with the Medium website... so different.

I can see the problems with a Medium like front page on Steemit, after all - 95% of the trending posts are trending because of bid-bots, and it would make it hard to actually get the correct articles to the front. But, it could be possible to have a nice looking frontpage with colors and larger images, only to say that articles using bid-bots are forbidden from the intro page. I am not sure how this would work, but I could so easily imagine a much nicer looking Steemit website, which would make it much nicer for the authors active here, and also for the platform itself.

A nicer design will lead to better ad revenue


Steemit is selling ads now and if that will help them keep the platform running, that is fine with me. If it even helps them so that they will not have to sell so many Steem-tokens every month, it is even better. But, if the platform had a delightful design, it would make it easier to discover other articles, meaning that the bounce rate would be better (meaning that each visitor spends more time at the site), which would lead to more ad-clicks and higher income.

Unfortunately, I am not a good designer, but I am sure that someone with the skills could easily make the Steemit website a colorful experience that would be way more easy to love than the current website is with its current design.

Does anyone have any thoughts? I would love to hear from you!


Do not forget to follow me on Steemit, and for even more articles, check websites such as https://www.ipaddressguide.org/ and http://amazonprime.fromabroad.org/ where I also contribute

Sort:  

With the advent of Scot-Tribes like Steem Leo, Palnet SportsTalk, and others and the up and coming SMT Communities soon, I think a redesign is in order. One change I would like to see is having a fixed at the top menu bar, so I don't need to scroll back to get to the menu, that's just my preference.

I have two accounts on Steemit, and am now a member of four other Scot-Tribes, I had to force myself back into learning some basic HTML and CSS, just so I could have a jump off page to all things Steem Block chain related. If steemit want's to still be at the forefront of the social side of the block chain they are going to need an updated user friendly front end.

this design in awesome.. no changes necessary kindly please stop this talks of nonsense and useless changes. and cbnt is a not competitor of steemit lol. cbnt is nothing

Glad to have you share your thoughts, and it might be that I am completely wrong. I definitely like the new design of the comment field, looks really nice, but still - feel like much more could be done with the average design. But again, I might be wrong! :)

I also do not like Steemit's design completely, if you ask me I would say I think it needs a modification, like creating a list of categories where post with different tags but that have a similar general theme can join.

I am not really sure what I am looking for, just something to freshen it up a bit. But, maybe it isn't even needed. It is so hard to imagine what the site looks like for someone who hasn't been to it before when you have seen it for more than a year!

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Congratulations! I just stopped by to say that your post has been selected as a daily Featured Post of my personal curation project! You can find the daily Featured Post HERE.
I upvoted your contribution and I put it on the list because to my mind your post is what I call a quality content!
I am @miti, a manual curator that shall make available all his Steem Power to authors deserving of support. Let's make STEEM great again!
Have a nice day and keep up the good work!

Sneaky-Ninja-Throwing-Coin 125px.jpg
Defended (14.29%)
Summoned by @unbiasedwriter
Sneaky Ninja supports @youarehope and @tarc with a percentage of all bids.
Everything You Need To Know About Sneaky Ninja


woosh

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 71539.00
ETH 3603.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75