NEW: Switch Between Steemit & Steempeak Using a Browser Button

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

Thanks to @anarcist69 for responding to my feature suggestion for a bookmarklet browser button to allow us to switch between Steemit.com and Steempeak.com easily, from within a browser.

steempeak logo

I have taken the very simple buttons he made using javascript and merged them into one single button that can be used to easily switch between most pages on the two sites. Note: not all pages on the two sites have equivalents, so not all will work with this button.

The original 2 buttons by @anarcist69 are here - however, they currently only allow you to move in one direction - from either steemit to steempeak or in reverse (using 1 of 2 buttons).

My button code combines the two into one, so you can just click one button regardless of whether you are viewing steempeak.com or steemit.com and you will be taken to the equivalent page on the other site. Pretty cool!

Instructions


Eventually this code will become available as a button that can be dragged onto your browser toolbar area and then used. For now you can install this button as follows:

  1. Right click on your browser's toolbar area and choose 'New Bookmark' (or equivalent).
  2. Name the bookmark something like 'Steempeak / Steemit'.
  3. Copy and paste the following code into the bookmark location/target/destination box for your new bookmark and then click ok/save.

javascript:(function(){ if(window.location.host==='steempeak.com') {window.location.href='https://steemit.com'+window.location.pathname+window.location.search} else if (window.location.host==='steemit.com'){window.location.href='https://steempeak.com'+window.location.pathname+window.location.search} }());

Your new button should now allow you to switch between Steempeak and Steemit with the ease of a gliding baboon in a squirrel suit. :)

Wishing you well,
Ura Soul


Vote @ura-soul for Steem Witness!


vote ura-soul for witness

View My Witness Application Here


(Witnesses are the computer servers that run the Steem Blockchain.
Without witnesses there is no Steem, Steemit, DTube, Utopian or
Busy... You can really help Steem by making your 30 witness votes count!)


steem ocean - diving deep into the blockchain

Find out your voter rank position at steemocean.com!


tribesteemup-orange-banner.png


ureka.org

I run a social network too!

Sort:  

Very cool, and saves changing the 'peak' to 'it' (or vice versa) in the URL by hand :) ......it works from SP to Steemit for me, but not the other way around. I've switched to SP full time now, so am ok with one-way. I have tried it on a few different pages. (FF on windows). Thanks for this 🔆

You are welcome. That's strange though, it works both directions for me here in latest Firefox.

Restarted FF and still the same. If it works for you on FF, then it's obviously something on my pc or in settings blah blah..... let's see if anyone else mentions it. Cheers

The code has not been properly tested - so it may need to be improved. What version of Firefox are you using?.. Check Help menu -> about

Thanks, that's the same version I'm using. Some pages don't work because they are named differently on steempeak and on steemit (such as the replies page). have you tried using it on a dew different pages in steemit?

'fraid so - I had noticed a 'page not found' for the replies page, but I've tried it with a variety of blogposts (mine and others) and feed/topic pages. Flow is one-way only from SP to Steemit.

Hi I just read thru your blog and found that very interesting. I have a different problem with steempeak...whenever I post a link to a discord channel I don't see any Preview pictures of my post. When I use regular steemit links on discord it works fine. Do you have any tools or ideas to solve that problem? Thanks for helping!

Posted using Partiko Android

Steempeak needs to support metadata for images correctly - it apparently doesn't yet - I will remind the developers.

Awesome and thank you for taking care of this issue!!!

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you @masterthematrix
We are aware of this issue, it is high on our list to resolve. Keep an eye on our Discord Channel and @steempeak blog to see when we have released this feature.

Great, thank you for the fast response. I'm looking forward to the update because I really enjoy using Steempeak as my main dashboard :-) and right now a lot of Steemmonsters promotions needs to be presented the right way :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.37
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70162.45
ETH 3540.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.79