I wrote a program to create a web page with all the posts of a SteemiansteemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit5 years ago

For a long time, I have maintained manually an HTML file that listed all my posts on Steemit, with their dates. Evey week or so, I was adding to the file my new posts.

However, last June I stopped updating the file for several weeks. When I realized that, I was discouraged and did not want to spend a lot of time to catch up.

Then, recently I realized that It should be possible to build such an HTML file automatically, using a program that I could write.

Of course, if you maintain a full node, with all the posts on the STTEM blockchain, it is not a real challenge. But I do not maintain such a node.

I wrote my program with the language I know the best: Ada.
And I wrote it so that it can be used for any Steemian, not only myself.

Here is the main procedure for the program:


posts_program_in_ada.jpg

To get the data, the program gets web pages from steemd.com and scans these web pages.

An example of the result of the program is this post from @marcel.dubrovnik.

I have run my program for several Steemians and sent them the result. They were very happy to get their HTML file.

Yesterday, I run the program for @papa-pepper, and it took my computer more than 11 hours to build the HTML file of his more than 2,500 posts, starting in July 2016.

Sort:  

That is a really great idea. I have often thought about writing som small scripts to try and organize stuff better in my interactions with the steem blockchain, but somehow i never get around to it. I guess since my job is coding, and I have so many projects at home I just havent found the time yet -- yet!

Cool 😎 to see you going back to what you love.
So many ways to interact to coding
Keep on postin

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thank you very much for sharing. It seems like a few simple lines of code, but very effective. And I know it is very difficult to create code. I hope this helps other Steemians. Thank you for working so hard.

Wow, I'm happy that you created one for my very good friend @papa-pepper.

Wow, over 11 hours just for little ol' me?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64664.11
ETH 3166.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11