30 Day Steemit Review - Integrity, Inspiration and Ideas.

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

30 Day Steemit Review - Integrity, Inspiration and Ideas.

Steemit_VickieBarker.jpg
NOTE TO SELF: You must learn how to make pics for Steemit posts!

Not sure what I expected but what ever it was, I found a whole lot more. If I were to cover it all in one post it would most assuredly be too long of a read. I've spent much of my 30 days reading posts, comments and replies to help me get to know other members of this vast growing community. I've only touched the surface I am sure.

The blockchain platform, cryptocurrency and the Steemit network was totally new to me as it will be for many new members (which here at Steemit we are referred to as minnows). I can now honestly say the effort to learn more has been well worth it. The exciting part is that I have so much more to learn and recognize it is the Steemit Community itself which provides real value and the Steemians are ready and able to offer help.

I myself have been known to lean toward the "Pay for Performance" model and this is what Steemit provides. We all have only a certain amount of time here on this old Earth to make the world a better place and this platform can surely be the spring board for the many needs we all face in some way. Time slips away all to fast but doing the little things each day does add up. I, like many want our time here to be worthwhile.

INTEGRITY

A post that all new Steemians should read is from Daniel Larimer the Co-Founder of BitShares & the Steemit platform we share today. I had no idea who did what for the first few weeks, but found a post that laid it all out that we are on the right track. It was Daniel's (also known as @dantheman) Silver Lining that captured my attention: "Don't do unto others what you don't want others doing to you."

It was Daniel's insight to: "Finding Free Market Solutions to Secure Life, Liberty, and Property" that has brought us all together today. It was his commitment to his new values based on the premise "that everyone who brings value deserves a share" that caught my heart.

I do hope if you haven't already, please do read his post here:
https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@dantheman/daniel-larimer--co-founder-of-bitshares-steemit

INSPIRATION

I am a solid Virgo with both feet planted on the ground and change is not something that comes easy for me. I must be inspired to make the effort to change most anything.
Well... I changed!

The inspiration I found before I signed up came from someone I started following from the get-go. I watched many Steemit videos from many of the stars around here. The one that kept my attention was @stellabelle and if you are not following her, you should be.

Stella is a straight shooter with a dedication to make life better and easier for everyone. As @stellabelle says: "Let's All Be Epic (or die trying)" :
https://steemit.com/epic/@stellabelle/you-are-a-creator-not-a-customer#

There are too many new friends I've met here to mention them all but my inspiration is refueled everyday and I look forward to posts from @lyndsaybowes @arbitrarykitten @amvanaken @karenfoster @ura-soul @wwf and @positivesteem

IDEAS

Ideas are all around us. Everything we see started as an idea, simply someone's thought. Those that can identify the resources around them and have the desire to utilize those resources can and will make the world a better place.

I see the opportunity here with the Steemit platform to manifest whatever idea we make known to ourselves and the ability to reach out to others of like minds and hearts because we now have the means to work together for common goals, with an open and transparent platform which is available to anyone.

Sadly there is suffering in this world and many times we wish we could help in some way but the little we think we can give sometimes is not enough to make us feel we've made a difference. This all changes today.

A great example and a very commendable one I must add is the work being done by @familyprotection.

Children can be the innocent victims of a "broken" system many times. Their scars are carried throughout their lives with little help or even acknowledgement as to how deep some of these scars really are. The idea was to build a network of those that want to make the children and their families lives a bit easier when the threat of preditors come knocking at their door.

For more information on the Family Protection mission you will find posts I've resteemed to my blog. When we are merely minnows we don't have a lot of steem power for upvotes, so resteeming is a way to help and also keep some important information handy to share with others.

Some of those helping with outreach for @familyprotection are @canadian-coconut @markwhittam @kryptocoin @crosheille and me @vickiebarker I am sure there are others of whom I've not yet met. A good way to support this cause is not simply the upvote but by following, resteeming, commenting and replying to the posts that can show we do care and are here for the common good of all.

You now have the ability to Fund YOUR Cause, what will it be? Your community of Steemians are here to help.

CONCLUSION

Well I don't particularly like reading long posts myself so will stop here as to not bore anyone. But my quick recap of my 30 day experience has been an eye opener, enlightening and a pleasure. I've made 200 posts, have 70 followers and am following 80. I can't wait to see what the next 30 days may bring.

We have an opportunity like never before to make some good changes and build our knowledge base. Let's not waste it.

Love to you all!
Steem On!
And may peace be the journey!

#familyprotection

Sort:  

Nice post to mark your journey on steemit. It is hard to find people like you who are ready to make a difference in any opportunity possible. Well done @vickiebarker, Together we will journey to the Great Camp of Peace! 100% upvoted and Resteemed

Thank you @kryptocoin for the wonderful words of encouragement. Maybe it is the "journey" that makes it all worthwhile I don't know but I do know there could be more like minded people ready to make a difference here on Steemit. Most likely my next 30 days will, among other things, include finding more of them.

And, maybe there are many that want to make a difference but don't see the opportunity yet :)

I certainly look forward to that "Great Camp of Peace"!

ain’t too long, love your changes in your expression, keep changing or learning will embrace your life, Steem is changed me a lot when my eyes open and keep reading.

Thank you @minloulou for your kind words and for reading the post. You are right, Steemit is a life changer.

Great post and well said @vickiebarker! And i look forward to learning from you and getting to know you as well. I am just getting my feet wet to....heres to your next 30 days!!

Thank you @karenfoster My next challenge is learning to make pictures for my posts without a camera. Talk about learning curves LOL

Good to meet you @garudi Yes I've found @lyndsaybowes covers a lot of topics that are very helpful. Exciting to meet great people and then to know there are a great many more to meet. We will be in touch!

Hi @vickiebarker, I am happy to learn that you had such an awesome experience on Steemit. I too share the same experience. I am so happy that you are inspired by my post and thank for the resteem. Hope that we can continue to support each other on our journey here.

I am sure we will be supporting each other. We live in a precarious time however those that are to be of service to each other and others appear to be being brought together. I am glad we are meeting up on Steemit. :)

In my journey to be the best of me, it is good to have friends who can support and the journey will be much easier and less lonely. See you around here.

Congratulations @vickiebarker, this post is the forth most rewarded post (based on pending payouts) in the last 12 hours written by a Newbie account holder (accounts that hold between 0.01 and 0.1 Mega Vests). The total number of posts by newbie account holders during this period was 1629 and the total pending payments to posts in this category was $940.59. To see the full list of highest paid posts across all accounts categories, click here.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, please reply stop to this comment.

Thank you @bitgeek This is a welcome surprise.

Congratulations @vickiebarker! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Nice work @vickiebarker. A shining star among the steemit community. Much love and respect your way Vickie!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64733.60
ETH 3170.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.16