To the 2016 Steemians: Take a trip down memory lane... what was your first ever post on Steemit?

in #steemit5 years ago

It's no secret: Steemit has been a depressing place over the past few days.

I want you to take all the uncertainty that you may currently be feeling, set it to the side, and take a trip down memory lane to 2016. Remember those days? The days when your excitement for the platform couldn't help but spill into conversations with family members and friends. The days when one strategic upvote could pay your rent for the next few months? The days when you knew you were a part of something special.

Now that you're in that mindset: I'm curious to know what your first ever post on Steemit was?

Mine was a fictional short story I wrote called Fluid Thoughts:

fluid thoughts.png

As you can see, I posted it on my blog twice. That was a bit of a dodgy move, but I was eager to get my content noticed by the community! (lol) ... (Side note: I quickly realized the poor etiquette of posting content more than once.)

I then posted several other random posts, which included: another short story, a haiku, some photography, a lame poem about whales on Steemit, etc. Finally, a few weeks after joining, I found my niche with a 20 questions interview of @heiditravels.

heidi.png

To the 2016 Steemians: What was your first post on Steemit? Why did you post that content? Did it earn anything? If so, were you surprised by the total? If not, why did you stick around?

Sort:  

I posted every day for something like twenty days before I even earned a dime. My first post was a poorly formatted mess of an introduceyourself post nobody read. Then I wrote about seven boring essays nobody read. Then I said screw this and started to focus more on art along with humor. I started to climb the ladder rather quickly after that but then hit a wall once people started buying votes. 701 posts later, still going backwards, but whatever.

Although I have not tried the success yet, if I experienced the failure ... all new users do it ..... well some do not.

I hear your frustration regarding the vote-buying. Good for your for finding a niche quickly, though.

I wrote a classic introduction.

Image.png

That seems like a common (and effective) first post strategy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64550.89
ETH 3156.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.30