Not giving up on Steemit yet!

in #steemit5 years ago (edited)

I'm still here! Trying to stay active.

I could write a book about the problems with this ecosystem and the mindset of many people on it. In addition, the irregularity of responses to posts can be a bit disheartening at times. But From my last post, I realize there are still some awesome connections I made here and not everyone is at whaleshares. Also Whaleshares is facing the very same problems that steemit has, it's just younger and less saturated at the moment.

I spent over a year to built up this network of friends and I'd be a fool to throw it away just because I'm unhappy with the performance of some of my posts. I will continue to double post at steemit and whaleshares and simply engage more at the platform where I am receiving more thought provoking comments. Two weeks ago it was whaleshares, last week it was steemit.

I want to stay connected to all the awesome people I've met, so I won't go anywhere.

I hope your new year has started off well. Mine has! Keep kicking ass!

Sort:  

True, engagement has been noticeably declining. At the same time I find many things in my life that require a lot of attention, so maybe we are all going through that phase in a way.
Since I am not on Whaleshares and am always intrigued to find out more, would you write about your experience on there for the Steemit community? Or rather: Have I already missed that post?
All the best to ya <3

I might have? Can’t remember? It started off better than steemit. Now it’s the same as steemit but half sized and half priced. It may outlive steemit or it may not. You can post between platforms so it’s not extra work. You just have to decide which place you want to engage more.

I have heard people say "whaleshares," but I thought it was an upvote bot. LOL

It wasn’t exactly a bot, it was a system of whales sharing their upvotes with others to use as they like. It was community driven (not pay to play) so I never disliked it. They built their own platform with this feature built in. I don’t think you can build an ecosystem around it that last many years and is fair, but anything new is better than what we have in the real world. And if it’s even slightly better than steemit, why not give it a try? For a few weeks they had their shot together better than steemit. Now it just kind of feels like a place I can double post and interact with a different group of people and get twice the payout for the same amount of work.

I'm holding out hope too, but it's tough.

I just stopped caring about growing and settled on the fact that $1 a post a day (or $0.10 for that matter) is still nice but not enough to stress over quality (especially when I already try to filter out anything meaningless from my interactions by default).

I also get better engagement here. Or I did until I changed my profile picture and the uncharactaristically large amount of likes I got on that somehow unfucked me in facebooks algorithms.

Getting a job and not relying on crypto to save me helped a lot too. I’ll quit and go full time artist when I hit the high 6 digits which might not be that long if I just keep at it.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

I'll have to look into Whaleshares... is it run on the steem blockchain or completely seperate?

Posted using Partiko Android

I think it's a fork of Steem, so it is its own blockchain.

Posted using Partiko Android

I didn't think steem could be forked? Or is that just now and that was then?

This place full of surprises!

Isn't forking just the same as quantitative easing?

Posted using Partiko Android

It’s not a fork, it’s run on bitshares or at least part of it is and has a lot of bitshares people there.

Not a fork. It’s run on bitshares

Now that I am putting out content on many social media pages, I feel less stressed out about any one page in particular. It's hard to rely too much on any one page, they always go through ups and downs.

You are back! <3 I get why you left. But when you take away the pressure to constantly create quality content (as if there is any real correspondence between payout and quality), and ignore the trending page, this place is still pretty cool because of the people.

You know what is funny Matt? Currently the #1 hit if you type "Steem Blockchain" into Google is... your article on Medium about why you left Steem and it sucks LOL Kinda hilarious and depressing at the same time.

Hey now it is only the #2 hit LOL

We are coming back!

Hi @whatamidoing!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 5.003 which ranks you at #1092 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 4 places in the last three days (old rank 1096).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 218 contributions, your post is ranked at #46.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

There’s going to be problems with everything you might get on so just find the cool crowd 😆

Posted using Partiko iOS

Me too! I'm still here after 1 year and 1 month+! Oh yeah. Still earning a few Steem from time to time. Let's keep on writing! :D

Welcome to join whaleshares too!

Need some of the old gang back?

Glad you are back!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61986.23
ETH 3026.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75