I've powered down 3 times since I joined in July 2016. There will not be a 4th.

in #steemit6 years ago

I made the mistake of using Steemit as a means to live between April 2017 and April 2018. During that time I powered down twice. I had done it once before then during sometime in 2016, but I didn't fully understand the consequences of doing it then. Now that I've taken a step back and gotten myself on a stable path in both my personal life and professional life, I've decided to start building back up.

This time, however, I will not power down.

I may not try to be the community figure I once was, but I have every intention of taking part by posting, voting, and commenting as any casual user might do. I've been missing the cryptosphere something fierce, and I'm anxious to get back into it. Steemit was my gateway drug into this realm, and I see no reason why it can't be again.

My Steem Power is pretty pathetic right now, but my intention is not to let it stay that way. I hope to become familiar with the new users who've joined the community since I last really involved myself, as well as re-familiarize myself with the ones who've been here for a while.

Happy Steeming, and I'll see you around. ;-)


Sort:  

I have never powered down, and I dont have plans to do so, in fact Im eager to get more steempower, having said that I wouldnt begrudge a man taking some profits off the table, nor would I promise never to sell some steempower, but nevertheless its great to see people like yourself, who have been here a while, declare their confidence with Steem, and make a commitment like yours to powering up, and upholding a long term view on Steem.

welcome back to the fold in what ever form that takes

I've noticed there has been a lot less beautiful balls being shown off. Welcome back @winstonwolfe

We all power down at various points in our steemit life and for various reasons, including Ned and Dan, but if there's even the slightest chance you'll some day restart your steemit account, you shouldn't power down too far. I've observed friends who have done what you did and it is almost impossible to come back to your former status - mind you, my wife did, but she's now powering down again and so am I. There are many reasons why but basically there are limits to everything, so my advice is know what you're getting out of first before enduring the heartache of trying to get back in. Personally, I think the last hardfork ruined steemit for content creators like myself, but I'm still going, I'm still trying, and life for me ain't been a crystal stair, lol. And no, I'm not going to tell you to keep on steeming - hate that! Just know what lies ahead and be prepared for some rough patches. I hope it works out for you.

The biggest difference for me now, is that now I won’t be eating, drinking, breathing, and sleeping Steemit. I was obsessed. But now, I have a full-time job so I can do this on the side. I was posting like a madman specifically to pay bills. That’s not the way to do this. This affords me the ability to be more patient with my trades, and to be more mindful about what I’m taking out of my investments. In fact, this time around I plan on investing my own money rather than just whatever I snowball here.

I hear you - been there, done it. As a writer I needed to establish a genuine social media platform - no fake followers etc. I did it, especially on Twitter, amassing a huge following, but it cost me. Sounds like you came to the same conclusion and things should go better from here on :)

I have heard that many people are powering down these days, especially from so called big fishes. Great to see you are exception in that respect.

There are people powering down all the time. It's a personal choice as to why, but for me it was due to necessities in my own life. Now that I've got those necessities taken care of by other means, I'm turning Steemit into my hobby, rather than my "job". Steemit isn't a job. At least, it can't be for someone like me.

Yes, i got your point. Well, for some people Steemit can be a job, at least part of the job. It depends from myriad, mainly individual conditions and circumstances. What i had in mind was rather the fact that some can take number of people powering down as a evidence of trust, or lack thereof, in Steemit in general.

Hell no, take it as a sign of greed. When the cash cow is low they reinvest in other places or cash out. Those are not the community members those are the crypto farmers and spammers mostly.

Ah, ok. But the point is, that apart from obvious ups and downs of entire crypto space, success of Steemit depends also from synergy and size of the community. Especially given the fact that there are still not so many people here.

There are more than 3x's the number of people from when I started and a lot of my support comes from those who were here before me and I continue to find more users to support.

The problem is people see Steemit as a fast money making pyramid based off of some of the worst Steemit users on Youtube and come here expecting easy money. They don't understand those users bought their payouts and never voted for anyone who couldn't return a vote. Any new user joining now has to understand that Steemit is a hold game, if they understand that there is no way they can be unhappy or want to leave.

The money will come to any new quality users who put honest work into the system. Just power up and stick around.

Totally. I feel I need to avoid paying attention to whether or not others are powering down - especially since it takes 13 weeks to do, in which case it should be thought through before doing it. It's not something one can do in a panic, I don't think. I feel there will always generally be enough trust in Steem to keep at it, despite the powering down of others. As for myself, my personal situation called for it because, well, I needed the money. I've come to terms with the fact that when I think about the actions of others in this space, it's all speculation and I should just stick to my intentions. Otherwise I'm inadvertently allowing others to influence my decisions.

Glad to see you back and that life is settling down for you and the family.

Don't beat yourself up for using the money. Sometimes we need money just be glad it was there when you needed it.

I had to sell a Steem as well. Just glad it was available.

Well, Nice to meet you!😉 and I too have no intention to power down, only to build waaay up!😉

Posted using Partiko iOS

I didn't really understand what it meant to power down but I'm never doing it

Steem Power is Steem you've earned that's locked in place. It has an effect on your voting power - the more you have, the more your vote is worth. If you want to withdraw what's in your Steem Power you have to power down. When you do this, it takes 13 weeks to completely withdraw the total from your Steem Power back to regular Steem, at which point you can do with it whatever you want.

Thanks for this info

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64852.72
ETH 3178.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.20