Importance of Using Voting Proxy. I have set @surpassinggoogle as my proxy!

in #steemit6 years ago

IMG_20180515_153455.png

Being a Steemian for more than four months, 137 days to be exact, I pretty much came across a few terms here which used to be totally foreign to me. One of which is witnesses and voting proxy.

What is a witness?

As you might already know, or not yet (hehe), witnesses are very important in maintaining the blockchain. But how does that happened? Well, who am I kidding, I am no expert too. Lol.

So I suggest you to read this which discusses what a STEEM Witness is, how to become one and the purpose of being a Blockchain Witness and this which is a full-scope article to Steem witnesses and voting to approve them.

I hope it does not make your nose bleed as it did to me. LoL

Our Obligation

Yes, we do have an obligation. We have to choose witnesses that we know are capable and passionate and responsible to do what they are tasked to do.

So how do we know who these witnesses are? Check the list of witnesses in here.

Voting the first time

Do you know that every Steemian is given 30 votes? Now you know. 😉

Being a minnow, I barely know anyone on the list. Voting the first time, I just clicked on the names of witnesses who sounded, well uhm, nice to my ears. Yeah, that was how bad my criteria was. Lol.

Research

Later did I learn that choosing a witness is a serious matter to maintain the Steem blockchain. So is the duty of every Steemian to research about what these witnesses are and what goals do they have, etc. However, doing such is a tedious task.

Additionally, since the only constant thing in this world is change, we have to vote every now and then as some witnesses goes inactive overtime, thus jeopardizing the entire blockchain.

Given that, I just can't possibly make a research on all the witnesses and vote for them every now and then. I am just squeezing Steemit into my time as a fulltime mom with a business to attend to.

Voting Proxy

So here comes in the importance of voting proxy.

Setting a proxy is the easiest thing there is for our votes not go to waste.

Boy am I glad there is this option so that my vote as a Steemian would count and would be counted best.

But what is a proxy?
Merriam-Webster Dictionary clearly defines it:
IMG_20180515_102518.png

Thus, whoever proxy listed, it automatically votes the same for you.

With that said, it is important to choose a proxy. Do a research just the same, but this time, it is narrowed down to putting in only one name in the box.

He should be someone you could trust -- fully trust. You should trust the decisions he makes, the goals he have and so on. Basically, he should be someone passionate about the Steemit Blockchain.

I choose @surpassinggoogle as my voting proxy as I know his passion and love for Steemit and the humans. He has shown a generous support to lots of communities here in Steemit.

IMG_20180511_095643.png

In case you want to make a voting proxy like me, you can just type https://steemit.com/~witnesses and it will lead you to this:
IMG_20180515_151942.png
IMG_20180515_161407.png

Upon typing and entering who your proxy is, you are then lead to confirm your decision:
IMG_20180515_151857.png

Click Ok and you are all set.
IMG_20180515_152007.png

In case you are wondering who are the witnesses @surpassinggoogle have voted for, you can check it out here
IMG_20180515_152300.png

Brother Terry a.k.a. @surpassinggoogle is behind lots of great initiative. He has been a supportive and kind person too. So without second thoughts, I give my SUPPORT to him as a WITNESS by voting him at https://steemit.com/~witnesses.

You can do the same by voting for him.

I also support his projects @teardrops SMT, @steemgigs and @ulogs.

I am a proud Steemgigger!

steemgigs footer.GIF

I am a Celebrity, yes, an Ulogger!

ULOG header.gif

IMG_6672.JPG

Sort:  

good decision in choosing your proxy to support. I will do the same in voting @surpassinggoogle.

Yup, I personally chose him because i trust him in doing good things for Steemit.

I have choosen @surpassinggoogle as my proxy too.

That is wonderful sis. 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64678.67
ETH 3086.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87