I was stolen from by AnonSteem !!!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit5 years ago

I wanted to create another profile.

I created the current profile by paying for it in bitcoin, so it didn't have to have it verified, and it went smoothly, although the rate of USD to BTC was extremely high.

The next time I wanted to create a programming profile. A second profile, this time for software development topics.

AnonSteem says it is encouraged to have more than one account:

Steem is a blockchain, which means anyone is able to create accounts, assuming they have at least one account that exists on the blockchain. It isn't "against the rules" to have multiple accounts, or to use third party account creation services. Steemit actually encourages it on their sign-up page.

(Formatting and the link in the above quote is original).

I do not exactly know where it is encouraged on the sign-up page. I even see a headline that says:

One account is all you need

Still, if AnonSteem says it is encouraged to have more than one account, then it must be okay, so I started creating one.

I knew that I would be ripped off, as the amount I had to pay in bitcoin was not 8 dollars, but rather 17 dollars (~4.5 mBTC), but I went along with it.

I put in a very small fee, so it took a couple of hours for the transaction to go thru due to bitcoin network congestion. Thruout that time AnonSteem kept increasing the price of bitcoin (even thought it was already way above market average), so I had to pay in three instalments. Still, AnonSteem eventually acknowledged receiving the payment and said I had to wait a couple of minutes more, so I left the browser on and went for a walk.

When I came back, the page just said:

Uh oh, something went wrong :(

An unknown error occurred. Please contact us immediately (make sure to tell us your order ID) so we can investigate this.

Due to some unknown error I had to contact the staff, which is already against the promise this website is making, as when I pay for creation of the account, I shouldn't have to reveal my e-mail address.

Still, my e-mail got ignored. I haven't received a response in over 24 hours, and the profile still hasn't been created.

AnonSteem didn't bother to collect my payment from the address I sent it to, so perhaps they just lost their private key or something. It looks like they are not even aware that I placed the order or made the payment.

I can create another order with the same username, which is silly, as I already paid for it, and now somebody else can take it.

Uploading the screenshot

I've been trying to upload the screenshot of the silly 'Uh, oh, something went wrong :(' message, but it won't be accepted.

The message I am receiving is:

Image upload : Error: [object Object]

I've been trying both .png and .jpg, both by dragging and dropping it into the HTML editor and by clicking 'selecting item'.

I use the HTML editor variance, as opposed to the WYSIWYG editor.

Still, I am posting the article without the screenshot.

Sort:  

You should have used blocktrades instead.
I get the same error form time to time when I upload pics. I don't know the reason.

As I figured out, you're retiring from Steemit. However, as a certain person who kind of lead me here does not seem to know, a power down takes time.
I hope you will find some less controversial topics to deal with in the remaining time.

Thank you for saying I should have used Blocktrades. I was cheated by a third party, not Steemit itself, and the nickname I wanted to book is still available, so I may order it again, paying in STEEM, not bitcoin this time.

If you saw my messages, then maybe there is no need for me to quit Steemit. I know that my messages are still visible without a problem on Busy.org, as they count my reputation as slightly above 0.

I probably cannot upload pictures due to my low reputation, according to this article by @caladium.

I study different religions, including the abusive ones, so I contact members of different cults from time to time.

This time I was being attacked by whales for two consecutive nights (I lost 30 points of reputation), after I supported @caladium (I didn't know initially @caladium was accused by them of racism).

Then I was further attacked by a devotee of Sai Baba (unrelated to the previous case) whose friends were members of some pseudoecological half-occult cult of cannabis growers, so I lost one more point. I learned not to deal with Sathya Sai Baba supporters and to make a mental connection between pseudoecological movements and marijuana.

I run a mouse sanctuary based on Buddhist principles, but I was too distracted by all the different religions to focus properly on learning software development skills. I got a lesson not to get too involved in fluffy cults that do not concern me.

Thank you again for your support.

I have received the requested refund from AnonSteem.

I have received the requested refund.

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70734.57
ETH 3561.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75