Gas vs Charcoal vs Wood - Let's put them to the test!

in #steemitbloggers6 years ago (edited)


↑↑↑↑↑↑↑↑↑↑ Click to view video ↑↑↑↑↑↑↑↑↑↑
First Up: If you're viewing this from a Facebook or Twitter link, and you haven't joined Steemit yet, then please do so now... and subscribe to my @dtube channel.

Which is better? Gas vs Charcoal vs Wood

This question does not have an easy answer! Depending on where you find yourself in the world, you will have a different answer. Of course, pose the question to any true South African, and you're likely to start a war of note if your answer isn't an emphatic "WOOD FOR SURE!"!

Now while I think we all agree that nothing creates ambiance like a lekker wood fire. The pros and cons of each fuel source do have merit... So I decided to avoid the subjective arguments and only test something that can be measured.

Can you get a "braaivleis flavour" when using gas or charcoal?

For years now I've maintained that using charcoal would be no different to using wood (wood becomes charcoal after all). Fair enough though some briquettes are really shit and can/will alter the flavour if they use the wrong 'glue'. But like I said, this argument can carry on forever, so for the sake of this argument, we'll assume you're using only high-quality briquettes with no 'toxic' binding agents.

Plausible for charcoal... but what about gas?

Well... my theory is that unless you're doing BBQ smoking, it's not the fuel source itself that creates that braaivleis flavour, but rather the fat drippings onto the coals causing the smokey flavours... So theoretically... YES.. you CAN get that lekker braaivleis flavour from a gas braai.

So how did I go about testing this?

The single question I wanted to answer is:

"Can you taste the difference between a gas, charcoal/briquettes and wood braai?"

In order to test this theory properly, all other variable need to be exactly the same.
So...

  1. I used 3 rump steaks, cut from the exact same rump.
  2. Used minimal spicing (Olive oil, Salt & Pepper)
  3. Used the exact same equipment.
  • Fortunately Chad-O-Chef's sizzler gas braai can be used for either a gas, charcoal or wood braai when using the Hybrid adapter.

Sweet!

Check out the video to see if our judges could tell the difference... Do you agree with the results? Do you have an argument that could change my/their minds? Let me know in the comments below.

Do you have any recipes or ideas that you would like to see me try out? Let me know in the comments below and if I use your idea there will be a reward in it for you. I don't know what that reward is just yet... but there will be a reward, and it will be cool (public high-5's are cool, right?) ;-)


Liked the video/Recipe? Maybe you thought it was crap?

Either way, let me know in the comments below.

UpVotes & ReSteems are held in high (e)steem :P

If this post is older than 7 days please support by upvoting my latest post

vote latest post view latest post

All my @dtube videos here:

Sort:  

Aarrrgg! It cut out after 2 minutes, so I never saw the taste test!

We have a charcoal BBQ at the moment, and have had it for years, but we are considering (maybe next summer) to move to gas. Mostly as the smoke from the starting of the coal really can be annoying in a town setting, and also the time it takes to start it up... I assume the gas bottles are pretty easy to use, and I won't blow myself up?

Also, did you really open that beer with your eye socket?

Aarrrgg! It cut out after 2 minutes, so I never saw the taste test!

We have a charcoal BBQ at the moment, and have had it for years, but we are considering (maybe next summer) to move to gas. Mostly as the smoke from the starting of the coal really can be annoying in a town setting, and also the time it takes to start it up... I assume the gas bottles are pretty easy to use, and I won't blow myself up?

Also, did you really open that beer with your eye socket?

OH NO!!! Just noticed that too... I've spent the last 2 days trying to get this video uploaded to DTube... and was so happy once it finally went through, didn't check if it plays all the way through... will jump on that right away!

re: gas bottles are pretty easy to use, and I won't blow myself up - For Sure! Moist of them even have non-return safety valves, so you could literally open it, light it and the flame wouldn't be able to go back into the bottle and explode!

re: Also, did you really open that beer with your eye socket? - Well... you saw it happen in the video with your own eyes didn't you? There's no way this could be trick photography of any sorts :P

Thanks for popping in... and THANKS for picking up the half-upload... will let you know once the whole thing is uploaded again.

Hey @bengy

OK, so I got the new video uploaded... and I have replaced the one in this post... but some of the auto-play clients like busy.org are still playing the old one?!?!?

Anyway... if you are still watching the 2min version when you click play... then simply point your browser here instead: https://steemit.com/food/@braaiboy/w7cfv8ow

Upvoted.

DISCLAIMER: Your post is upvoted based on curation algorithm configured to find good articles e.g. stories, arts, photography, health, etc. This is to reward you (authors) for sharing good content using the Steem platform especially newbies.
If you're a dolphin or whales, and wish not to be included in future selection, please let me know so I can exclude your account. And if you find the upvoted post is inappropriate, FLAG if you must. This will help a better selection of post.

Keep steeming good content.
@Yehey

Posted using https://Steeming.com condenser site.

Waiting for the full video!!
(For the banana contest, I must tag Chad-o-chef, but for some reason I cannot see how I must send a friend request?? Not very good with Facebook. Can one tag if you are not friends? I however did like the page!!)

hmmmmm interesting... it's a page... so you should be able to tag them... even if you haven't liked the page ?!?!

I'll look into it and get back to you.

P.S. Are you using the website or mobile app? I know that sometimes I can't tag humans and other times I can't tag pages, depending on which one I'm using.

Re the video: Onto my 3rd try again today... 3rd time lucky I hope :-)

Hey @rynow... I think I've successfully replaced the video with the full one in this post...

If you are still watching the 2min version when you click play... then simply point your browser here instead: https://steemit.com/food/@braaiboy/w7cfv8ow

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by 🔥🔥🔥BraaiBoy🔥🔥🔥 from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Hi @braaiboy!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 2.987 which ranks you at #10214 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 3 places in the last three days (old rank 10217).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 373 contributions, your post is ranked at #97.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Only a few people are following you, try to convince more people with good work.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

YOU JUST GOT UPVOTED

Congratulations,
you just received a 15.31% upvote from @steemhq - Community Bot!

Wanna join and receive free upvotes yourself?
Vote for steemhq.witness on Steemit or directly on SteemConnect and join the Community Witness.

This service was brought to you by SteemHQ.com

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63968.82
ETH 3136.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28