My $2 Sweet Potato Test & Experiment

in #steemitbloggers6 years ago (edited)


On a whim today, I dashed out of the Golden D Homestead confines and headed to my favorite organic roadside market.

Why, you ask? What could have possibly warranted my presence in public?

Well, let me tell you... sweet potatoes! Yes! Sweet potatoes

So how can sweet potatoes provoke me outside?


I have been looking for new foods to add to our diet here on the homestead (potatoes are too high in bad carbs, rice can get boring and there are only so many beans I can trust Mr Golden D to eat for my air quality safety), so I have been fiddling with others.

Last week I bought some beets to make beet powder and I will be attempting to pickle a few too- more for curiosity sake than anything.I picked up some rutabagas, parsnips and turnips too (these are great for soups and stews and with a pot roast). I have had all three of these previous mentioned root vegetables, but one I have never had was sweet potatoes -Not sure why; except it was never an option in my home when I was growing up. We had potatoes, rice, some beans and pasta. But never sweet potatoes.

Well I have been following someone online who has lost 169-pounds in the last two year and sometimes she will share what she ate for lunch or dinner; one main food that kept coming up at least five or six times a week... SWEET POTATOES - she claims they DO have carbs, but they are the GOOD carbs.

Sweet potatoes are also excellent sources for Vitamins A & C, beta-carotene and are loaded with fiber.

I didn't want to turn the oven on today (as it's about 87-degrees outside with a tad too much humidity for me) so I brought out my slow cooker (crock pot) for the task.

The recipe was super easy! Let's do this!


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS

prep sweet taters.png


sweet taters.png

My final thoughts about sweet potatoes? I LOVE THEM! I added a pat of butter and ate four quarters of my "experiment" for lunch yesterday and have enough cooked up for lunch for the next five days!

signature.gif

SB-Marvel-Family.gif

Sort:  

I love sweet potatoes!

Last year my uncle gave us some starters and we got big buckets of them from the garden.

Idk why but he didn't give us any starters this year. I am so sad we won't have so many for Thanksgiving and Christmas like last year.

Thanks for making me hungry. Lol

Try sprouting beans first for air quality issues...

I love versatile veggies, and sweet potatoes fit that bill. Anything a pair can do, Sweet potatoes can do better! Yum!!

Rebecca often makes them into oven fries. The don't get crisp like real fries, but they are still good. I like the sweet and salty combination.

Posted using Partiko Android

I adore sweet potatoes! One of my most favorite foods. Thanks for showing me another way to make them!

I adore sweet potatoes and one of the local farmers here raises "Garnet". These are the best tasting sweet potatoes! Whenever I see them in the store I buy 3 - 4 GIANT tubers and bake them, then freeze them. So I always have sweet potato on hand.

I never heard of those. I just thought there was one type of sweet potato. Lol. I guess I should have known better. :-P

fantastic presentation! love your cooking style and where I live, there will be 2kg of sweet potato for $ 2 :) but electronic item too much high price.
and thank you very much for your support. ❤😊❤

I've never been a big fan of sweet potatoes, they've always seemed esoteric to me or something

I love sweet potatoes! But I prefer them in cakes as to me they are really sweet! And to be honest I don't mind BAD carbs in regular potatoes :)

Hi @goldendawne!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.665 which ranks you at #1512 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 3 places in the last three days (old rank 1515).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 516 contributions, your post is ranked at #197.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 63997.36
ETH 3133.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.15