Ulog 20: Golden D's "BIG DAYS" Out & About- Errand Day, A Baby Shower & Little Treasures & Gifts

in #steemitbloggers6 years ago (edited)


I left the HOMESTEAD TWICE this week!
OH WOW Am I sick? No... duties call and I answered!

YES! Can you believe it? I left the homestead not once... BUT TWICE this week!

Last Sunday I went with my mom to a cousin's baby shower down in the city. It took me some time to get ready for this adventure. I get pretty stressed about having to leave my home, let alone venture into the city, but my mom was REALLY excited to go to this shower so she could visit with my aunt who just had hip replacement surgery and, to be honest, I was overly-anxious about seeing a large group of people; some cousins who I haven't seen or had contact with in years.

But... after my anxiety simmered down and I got to talking to a few of my cousins... I really did enjoy myself.

My one older cousin asked how I had been doing as she NEVER sees me on Facebook anymore. I told her I haven't been on the website in about a year and I was doing good. We got into a conversation about my strained relationship with my daughters- she told me that she too was having issues with her one daughter who hasn't spoken to her in about three months. So now I have to think... is it a generational thing instead of a ME & THEM thing?

We chatted about this for quite some time. Deep down it felt good to have someone else to talk to aside from Mr Golden D. Six hours after I left the homestead, I was walking back in the door... ahhh.. Home Sweet Home



shower.jpg

I won a few prizes at the baby shower

  • The plug in Yankee Candle potpourri thing with a Spiced Pumpkin candle melt for scoring the highest in a game called "What's In Your Purse". How did I manage to have so much JUNK in my purse for this honor?
  • The Coconut Colada soap (place setting thank you gift) and the Yankee Candle Tea Lights and Pumpkin candle holder as a random drawing.

Two days later I was back in the car and heading out for my weekly errand day (I had barely recovered from the baby shower excursion and here I was driving back to the city)

border.png

TREASURES I FOUND ON ERRAND DAY


My Dollar Tree Jars (on the right) that I absolutely LOVE to have on hand!

I found these pint and a half canning jars (I called them quart and a half in the video- sorry for the error) at Meijer's. I had two of them from years ago and have been looking for them in stores ever since and this was the first time I had come across any so I was super excited!



NOTE- in the video I hadn't realized it or noticed it.. but my voice gets more down and down as the errands go on


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS

border.png


pan.jpg

A Homemade Gift From Mom

And finally.. my mom crocheted me a little handle hot pad holder for my large cast iron skillet handle. It's a little awkward to use a large potholder or even an oven mitt and when I was watching a YT recipe video I noticed the lady was using ones similar to this... so I sent my mom the link and three days later she gave this to me... GOTTA love my mom!

signature.gif

banner.png

SB-Marvel-Family.gif

Sort:  

Very cool handle your mom made! I really love when I can find those jars to do my canning. I found some cute ones that I like giving out as gifts and have never found them again.

Sigh. I don't like when that happens.

Congrats on getting out twice! :) I get lazy and like living in my own little world sometimes, but, it is nice to break out. Plus the interaction doesn't hurt. Well sometimes it can, but, this seems to have done you good.

Have a fabulous Thursday!

Oh I know! I am a fanatic about jars and storage (hence my post yesterday-lol)

Yeah that little handle cover is GREAT! She made me three of them; as I tend to burn up pot holders, oven mitts quite often. It's my reputation and I have to uphold it!

It did feel good to visit with my cousins... but I was never so happy to get back home. I feel so discombobulated when I am gone from home.

HAVE a great day too!

That hot pot handle holder is awesome

lol- yeah! I've already been using it! LOVE this thing!

On a side note.. my dad made a comment that it looked like a crocheted condom- geez dad!

so beautiful gifts from your mom, love the lovely jars, look so awesome. and congratulations for baby shower :)))

Yes I am very fortunate... tons of new things to play with!

Twice a week?! Well done girl! And you even won some prizes!!! Well, that was a successful day! :)

Yeah! It was BIG happenings for this homebody.

And on an even better note, when I got home hubby had finished hauling away the storm damage (branches and debris) that I had left in a pile in the back yard AND he folded a load of clean towels I had tumbling in the dryer when I left whatta guy!

You've been a VERY LUCKY girl!!! :)

Hey @goldendawne I love how you are homesteading. I would like to do that too some day as the city is getting to me. Wanna wake up to a the sound of nature rather than cars and slow down. You know canning car can be crazy expensive here in Malaysia. Tried looking for some and those ones that you got or at least they look similar cost like RM 70 for 6 pieces. It's like spending USD 70 for 6 canning jars! 😖

It's like YouTube 2008 all over again lord help us. We got the Vlog, we got the dash footage, we got the boxed video resolution, we got the watermark. 3500 SUBS

Sorry to say I never jumped onto the bandwagon for YT a decade ago. Which I am glad I didn't. The way they are banning people and stifling people's views and opinions... I am happier here on steemit and DTube.
Thank you for stopping by... thank you for commenting.
And yes if my video looks "too early days of YTish..." sorry... but it is what it is.

Hi @goldendawne!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.656 which ranks you at #1522 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 1 places in the last three days (old rank 1523).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 324 contributions, your post is ranked at #108.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Mom is always the best!!

Wow! Your day was packed but you got it done. I hate going into town because we have to do such a production to get ready to go. It is always an 8 hour trip or more and I am so beat when I come back. That is why I only do it once a month if I can...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61830.08
ETH 2986.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73