The Cultivated Apothecary: Week 8 Edition 1- Homemade Beet Powder For Energy & Health

in #steemitbloggers6 years ago (edited)


The other day on one of my BIG adventures to the city, I had finished ALL my errands but decided to stop at the local organic farmers' roadside fruit stand to grab up some more melons, some beets and another bushel of tomatoes for canning.

The main purpose for stopping here was for the beets and tomatoes and by the time I made it back north towards the Golden D Homestead... the fog started rolling in. It made travel on the interstate a little rough at times... but I made it.


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS

Making Powdered Beets



I mainly did this as to not spend a fortune on the ones Mr Golden D sees advertised on television. He is one of those people who could watch all those As Seen On TV and 30- minute info-mmercials and sit there thinking he NEEDS to have two of them. It's a weakness of his and luckily I have the strength to say... "really? You need that?"

Just the other day he had found a website with some good prices, odd items and he was scrolling through pages. He said to me after about an hour... "I want to buy a drone..." To which I said... "and just how many times will you use it?" He said "once..." No drone purchases here. Hey... at least he recognizes he has a problem, right?"

But onto the beets and beet powder

I have never in my fifty years of life eaten a beet. Never! But when I read a post by @lizziesworld a week or so ago about beets and how beautiful her crop was doing... I knew I had to remedy the never eaten beets world I had been living in.

So at the fruit stand I bought one small basket of beets (just to experiment first). I had been doing some reading online about how to dehydrate, grind up and the uses/health benefits for beets; and if this process didn't work, then I would only be out $2.50 total. Not too bad

As you can see in the DTube video, I cleaned, peeled, sliced and dehydrated the beets. On my dehydrator it took about 14 hours to completely dry out the beet until they would break and crumble in my fingers; which is how you want them. If they are too wet, or not dehydrated enough, when you go to grind them, they may gum up because of they are a natural sweetener. With the natural sugars inside they tend to stick together with even the smallest amount of moisture present.

The beets ground up perfectly in my Magic Bullet (although a coffee bean grinder was recommended; which we do not have). The only problem we discovered is when mixing with water, the powder had the intention of clumping up on the bottom of the glass. So I sent the powder through another two cycles of grinding in the Magic Bullet; no problems now.
Mr Golden D said it tasted great; just like beets- which he loves. Success!

So a 30-day supply on the TV commercial costs $40 a month. Mine for a thirty day supply will be under $10. NICE savings

beet powder.jpg

Health Benefits Of Beets/Beet Powder

  • Gives a natural boost of energy
  • Helps lower high blood pressure from the nitrates in beets
  • Full of vitamins: Iron, calcium, potassium
  • An anti-oxidant
  • Full of fiber
  • Increases brain blood flow
  • A natural sweetener (can be used in making cakes/cupcakes and gives the batter or frosting a nice reddish purple color)
  • Can be added to salad dressings, gravies, soups, stews for extra flavor, dark coloring and extra nutritional values



signature.gif

banner.png

SB-Marvel-Family.gif

Sort:  

did i read right? Helps against "high blood pressure" - then i will definitely try it out :-) ... so much good food will take revenge someday :-D

As we have no TV, I was not aware they had ads for beets!

How cool you finally got some, and made the powder for him. Do you not like beets? I adore them, as a plain veg, roasted, and pickled. The greens are also really good for you

One thing about beets, beet greens, Swiss chard, and spinach you might not know. If you do not eat it with an acid, like apple cider vinegar, it can tie up calcium so it's not accessible to your system.

So I feed it sparingly to my layers, as they need all accessible calcium they can get. And when I eat those vegs, I like to put the brine from the garlic scape pickles on them, as it has apple cider vinegar.

I didn't know that about the calcium! BUT THANK YOU!
I do know anytime I have ever seen beets, they are usually pickled; now I know why.

I didn't know if I liked them or not as I never ate any before. I did have some beet water yesterday to sample my experiment and it wasn't too bad. So now I am searching for some easy (starter) beet recipes to make. I'll be heading back to the little stand on Monday probably.

I'm also considering finding a way to use the powder in my lacto-fermented sodas (with the ginger bug)

I love beets and beet greens - its my husbands Ukrainian family that introduced them to me. We could not live without them in our diet. So glad you are playing with them now! I suggest being light handed with the beet powder - it can make things taste a bit "earthy" or at least that's my experience. I used to be big into juicing and for some reason never loved the beet flavour in a raw juice.

Looks great! I'll try

I've never been that keen on beets, though I do have the odd one now and again

I am hoping to be able to add them to our diet more frequently; if i can find some good recipes; which I am in search of right now.

That was a pretty good investment I would say. We love beets around here. We have gone through my entire crop already this year. I need to expand the garden, obviously!

But wait - you didn't try to roast the beets and eat them like that?! I love beets so much, but they take a lot of prep to cook and it's the kind of thing that people usually love or hate!

howdy tonight goldendawne! wow beets really? can you get any healthier you guys? lol. I've always heard about how tremendous the beet juice is so great job and it makes a great post!

Hi @goldendawne!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.658 which ranks you at #1513 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 10 places in the last three days (old rank 1523).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 434 contributions, your post is ranked at #61.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Slowly inching my way up the ladder! Awesome!

This is really Good informative article on Beet Powder.
well done my dear friend.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70753.86
ETH 3589.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75