The Cultivated Apothecary Week 12- Edition 1: Shea Butter Calendula Soap

153191876986978714.png

Just last week I made a post in my Cultivated Apothecary when I was saving petals and seeds from my calendula flowers. And today being another rainy day on The Golden D Homestead, I decided it was a good morning to whip up some M&P (melt and pour) soap; using my calendula petals.

border.png

Calendula, Shea Butter & Tea Tree Oil Soap Recipe

  • One pound of Shea Butter M&P soap base
  • 1-tablespoon Tea Tree Oil
  • 1-tablespoon dried calendula petals
  • 15-20 drops of preferred essential oil (I used Lemon)
  • I doubled the batch but the above recipe is for a single batch of M&P soap.

Since I will be making a double batch of soap, as I will be giving some away for Christmas gifts, I know I'll have enough petals to do what I want; and I am a firm believer in not taking more than I'll need

border.png

First you need to cut the M&P soap base into small pieces for easier melting in the microwave; it took me about two minutes (15-20 second intervals and stirring the melting soap base) to completely liquefy the soap.

Once it is melted add in your additional oils and ingredients. Sprinkle a few of the petals in the bottom of the molds before pouring; as the petals are too light to be weighed down and you want to make sure you have petals ALL throughout the soap. The pour into silicone molds. Let set up for at least 24 hours before removing from the molds.



border.png

Two different varieties and petal colors from the calendula plants I collected over the last month. I'm hoping the bursts of orange and yellow will really add to the luxurious touch from the soap. I added about 20 drops of lemon essential oil; as I know when you have steam from a bath or shower, the essence of lemon can be quite calming.


finsihed.jpg

The finished product- Calendula Soap

border.png

Join Us On Discord

SB-Marvel-Family.gif

Sort:  

The soap looks beautiful! Those are some lucky people who will be getting some as gifts!

Very nice Mama! These soaps will make great gifts!! Awesome blog today 🧡 i bought lye and collected a wooden box to pour the soap into but haven't been brave enough to do it yet!!

Those soaps look beautiful. I love tea tree and calendula, but find that too much tea tree can be an issue on my very dry skin. My hairdresser had a tea tree shampoo and my scalp had a really bad reaction to it. Sadly.

Hi @goldendawne!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.790 which ranks you at #1362 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 30 places in the last three days (old rank 1392).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 306 contributions, your post is ranked at #106.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Hmmm I can smell the soap through the steem blockchain! They look awesome and I'm sure will make a great gift too!

Personalised Christmas gifts sounds special
Thank you for sharing these with us 😊

I have to be very careful with soup, it has to be unscented or allergy happens

Congratulations @goldendwne! This post was selected by the @steemitbloggers community as today's Member Boost Post :) It will also receive a complimentary upvote from @Appreciator throughout the course of the day!

You can find the community announcement on Discord :) and it has also been shared on our Steemit Bloggers FB Page and Twitter feed.

This post is sponsored by @SteemitBloggers in collaboration with @appreciator. Just keep up the good work.



Homemade soap is the best.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64107.21
ETH 3073.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88