Ulog #34: My Kitchen Is The Main Hub Of Activity On My Homestead

I can always tell when I've had a few days of lacking in staying up on tasks around the homestead. All I have to do is look at my desk and work area in the corner of my kitchen, or my kitchen table itself.

Well, I finally cleaned off the desk; went through all the mail that had been accumulating, threw away notes and reminders, and have some real structure back in my life.

So now to conquer the other areas...

We bought a new kitchen table and chairs when we bought this house in February 2016, but have only eaten at it three times. Usually it's because we would rather eat on-the-go or while relaxing and watching a documentary on YouTube, Netflix, etc and not because there is a cluster mess of miscellaneous items covering the top.

Well, that being said, I haven't been feeling well since Thanksgiving; and I'll admit, my OCD has been overtaken by not being 100% myself. As you can see... odds and ends covered my kitchen table as of this morning.

I see the beeswax jar and extra bag from when I made some salve last week. I can see the remnants of the chocolate chip cookies I made too. Oh woe is me!

It's time to clean up this place! And get back some organization!

Being organized, keeping meticulous notes, paying the bills on-time and just be all-around up on all the happenings of my daily life, keep me happy. Yes, sad but true. When I am a cluster-mess like this, I feel discombobulated and off task. It's as if my life is running circles around me and I can't keep up.

Can you relate?



When my life is jumbled chaos I feel as if I will never get caught up. The saying, "one step forward and two steps back" comes to mind.

In between working in the grow room and making some cannabis edibles today, I've been slowly putting things away and making some headway of re-organization in my life; and my kitchen. I spend countless hours a day in my kitchen; whether cooking, baking or at my work area and desk. The kitchen is my main hub where all the action happens.

I can remember my maternal grandma always telling me to "keep my kitchen clean". It's where the family congregates. It's where everyone knows to go. "Forget the bedrooms and living rooms" she'd say. "Keep that kitchen counter clean and food ready to serve up". Words that have stuck with my for decades.

So in honor of Gramma, I dedicate the cleaning of my kitchen today.



Join Us On Discord

Sort:  

Thank you so much for participating the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

It all looks messy but soon it will be clean and tidy. 😂

Posted using Partiko Android

MUCH better now! Thank you!
Just needed some motivation and to feel better!

I learned to clean up one mess before making a new one. I can't stand to work in a dirty or messy kitchen. Probably because it causes too much distraction, and I've get enough cognitive issues already!

I don't like it when my kitchen gets messy, either. Every now and then I am too tired in the evening to deal with the dishes, and then I have to look at them when I get up in the morning. Ick. Now that my husband is retired and our adult son is living at home, it seems as if the kitchen never stays clean, because the only meal we all eat at the same time is supper. The men don't pick up after themselves the way I'd prefer, so I have to force myself to ignore the mess for a few hours or else I'd be in the kitchen all day. For now, at least, it's the "new normal."

Hi @goldendawne!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.779 which ranks you at #1395 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 275 contributions, your post is ranked at #45.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

It's amazing how fast things can get cluttered! It seems like you have a lot of projects going on! Good luck with the cleaning!

I can totally relate!

I need my main work area (kitchen and adjoining den) to be clean all the time so that I can function. It is the hub, the central zone and where everyone always goes first.

I just feel more organized when things are in their place.

!tip

🎁 Hi @goldendawne! You have received 0.1 STEEM tip from @dswigle!

@dswigle wrote lately about: Wednesday Walk To The Rotunda Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

I can't sleep with dirty dishes in the sink, but sometimes clutter sneaks-up on the best of us, I think! Great words of wisdom your grandma had! 💖

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63901.15
ETH 3133.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05