Ulog 6: Once Upon A Time... I Was Garden Dumb & Why I Love My Life NOW

in #steemitbloggers6 years ago (edited)

Yesterday I did a post and DTube video about "What being human means to me" as part of the #tribesteemup bi-weekly challenge post; and after thinking more about it overnight, I wanted to elaborate on a few key points I had mentioned in the post or on the video.

As I strolled through the garden as the sun rose, I was picking green beans and checking on the cucumbers and my mind started drifting about how my gardening skills have evolved, how I have come to learn new homesteading skills and how I have found my passion with a combination of a homesteading life, steemit and pushing myself to the next level.

Two years ago, one year before I joined steemit, I had no clue about half the herbs that are growing in my garden or that they even existed; let alone having the knowledge of how they can be used medicinally and for culinary flavor.

I was garden dumb to say the least.



But now... I can take my creative writing style... add a pinch of gardening and a dash of planning for next year's harvest and I can spin a post with information, (much better than one year ago) images to accompany the post and even share some of my own triumphs and failures. after all, we learn by failing most times

From yesterday's post


I try not to dwell too much publicly about my strained relationship with my daughters... I'd much rather use the energy to repair it privately, lose myself in a project and take notice of the beauty surrounding me. I know one day... things on that home-front will be better.

So moving on from the mistakes and errors and forgiving... let's talk about my life and why I am content, happy and looking forward to continuing on my trek to personal successes.



Homestead Knowledge - Lessons & Lovin' My Life


  • Homestead Knowledge & Lessons

I have always been a cognitive thinker all my life. You know, trying to figure out a way to make something work even if I don't have the correct tools, parts or equipment. I've always had problem solving skills and look for new ways to utilize what I have on hand versus having to get new.

I am in NO WAY a consumerist or materialistic person. (Mr Golden D on the other hand... yeah... we even each other out sometimes)

I wash and reuse my plastic baggies... I think I may have some that are in my stash that a year or more old. So what if it had a few slices of bread in it for lunch... I can re-use it again.. and again. Mr Golden D used to cringe at this, but now he's more understanding and accepting of it when I explained to him every penny matters when we're saving for our property. We have five years to finish saving for it

I have learned so much over the last thirteen months of being on this platform about gardening and homesteading; the two topics of discussion that brought me to steemit. It's hard to believe that three decades ago I couldn't even keep a cacti alive. Sad, sad days gone by But now I can grow... and grow some more. I can harvest and preserve or dehydrate. I can forage at local properties and recognize more plants and flowers than I ever thought imaginable. I've learned healing properties of plants, flowers and herbs and have been able to make my own salves and oils with these.

Just the other day I had to use some home first aid on Mr Golden D- as he is subjected to boils and has skin irritations that just get out of hand... and I reached for my Yarrow with Tea Tree Oil First Aid salve to treat his latest break-out. Two days later the boil was gone and starting to heal; whereas if I had used some chemical-riddled store-bought cream and paid well over $5 for the smallest of small tubes, the boil would still be an issue.

I am making my calendula salve next; which has drawing out properties and is full of anti-bacterial properties, it is the perfect homemade salve to use for his condition.

Watch in the coming days for this salve to be a feature in my Cultivated Apothecary series

wwww.png

So as I continue on this homestead lifestyle I was chosen (or as I prefer to think of it as... born to live), I will keep reading posts from other homesteaders on the platform and expanding my knowledge.

  • Lovin' My Life-

I will be turning 50 in about three weeks and aside from wanting (maybe even needing to lose a few more pounds of weight for health reasons) I am feeling quite awesome about where I am in life.

I have been making healthier food choices, making my own sodas and trying to give up that nasty habit, I've been outside more often with the summer months here, so I am getting more exercise and I've been paying more attention to my stress level. I am hoping to keep all my thoughts more centered and finding the good in all things instead of dwelling on the negative; which can really affect so many aspects of your life and health.

I had told Mr Golden D two years ago that when I turned 50, I wanted to be in the best shape of my life. At the time I was only considering my weight... but when I really started to evaluate what healthy means to me. I realize it means more than just my weight.

I have no blood pressure issues, diabetes concerns, etc when it comes to carrying the little bit of extra weight- aside from becoming tired more often than I would prefer, but this could be due to my auto-immune disease which fatigue is a huge symptom.

But spiritually, emotionally and mentally I feel at my best.



I am at peace with my creator. I am able to control and handle emotions (which is amazing considering I am in menopause) and I know when to give myself a break and not have my personal expectations too high and out of reach that I get frustrated.

So now that I have all those well-being aspects of my life under control... I know I can conquer the shedding of those last few pounds that bother me.

I am taking life in stride and know once I set my mind to accomplishing something, then I can do it.



signature.gif

tsu banner.png

Join Us On Discord

SB-Marvel-Family.gif

Sort:  

Yes, gardening, homesteading has taught me lots as well in the last 6 years. Only I have been sharing on FB and it is so much easier than learning this platform. Is it actually easier and worth it? I will know this fall when I find time to learn and make my decision then. Right now not much time for learning this program. I just canned 20 jars of peaches, 12 jars of fermented zucchini and cauliflower and off to pickle and can 20 jars of cauliflower and zucchini pickles. Nothing like a life of eating good wholesome food that we grew with love. Thanks for sharing your article. My hope is that more people will take up this lifestyle. It truly is the lifestyle we as humans should be living for our physical and spiritual growth.

Easier? Yes once you get used to the formatting and mark-down style. MUCH easier.I floundered at first but now I am at ease with it all.

WOW! you've been a busy lady in the kitchen! That's a lot of preserving!

It truly is the lifestyle we as humans should be living for our physical and spiritual growth.

100% agree!

Hiii...

Great Post with Fabulous Pictures.

howdy @goldendawne! this is so wonderful to read, what a transformation and look at you now! you are truly an inspiration! May God continue to bless you and yours!

Thank you!! I feel at peace with so much in my life... I have conquered the small things... soon I will be focusing on the larger ones.

Take delight in the LORD, and he will give you the desires of your heart

Such a pleasure & inspiration to read. Thank you for sharing your journey @goldendawne. Much love as always <333 #steemitbloggers

This comment was made from https://ulogs.org

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70839.13
ETH 3563.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.77