Steemitbloggers Contest # 5 | Movie Review | @ireenchew

in #steemitbloggers5 years ago (edited)

How many contest by #steemitbloggers have I joined ?

Too many. That's why I've lost count of of it.

This week is another contest and it's about

Movie Review Week !

We're being summon to review a recent movie that we've just watched. Give our personal opinion after watching the movie. Was it worth watching again? If Yes, why and if No, why not. We could even share about the movie in the aspects of cinematically-wise, as if I was the producer or director.

Criterias :
1. It can be of any movie genre.
2. Minimum of 350 words.
3. You are allowed to add additional photos/illustrations to better express in your review.
4. Movie must not be older than 5 years. (Within 2013-2018)
5. Share your opinions and thoughts instead of just summarizing the whole movie plot.
6. Spoilers allowed but must be stated beforehand on top of the post.


I actually had to search online to find out which movie I had watched which was within the duration of 2013 - 2018. Something that I enjoyed and I would want to SHOUT about. And then it came to me... This is the movie that I would want to review.

kh67erwg8n.gif
Source

GHOSTBUSTERS | ANSWER THE CALL

hq2raxfzxx.gif
Source

If you haven't watched this movie, you really don't know what you're missing!
In three words, I would sum up this movie.

LAUGH | LAUGH | LAUGH

#### Warning : Movie spoilers will be shared. Further reading is at your own risk!

Before I start sharing my reviews on Ghostbusters | Answer The Call, allow me to bring you down memory lane to how this movie came about.

We were introduced to Ghostbusters (The Man version) in 1984 and we all fell in love with it almost instantly. Bill Murray, Dan Aykroyd, Harold Ramis and Ernie Hudson were the original Ghostbusters stars that made this movie famous not to mention the theme song popular.

The plot talks about three eccentric parapsychologists who started up a ghost-catching business in New York City. From loosing their jobs because of a botched ghost investigation to developing high-tech equipment to capturing real-life ghost. Somehow along the way, they bumped into a demonic spirit who opened up the gates between dimensions and transform the entire New York City into supernatual hellhounds. Using proton pack energy streams, the Ghostbusters team destroyed the demonic spirit and saved the world.

f6vr4dnm2j.gif
Ghostbusters 1984 In Action


Fast forward to 2016

With two series of Ghostbusters created in year 1984 and 1989, both starred by the same MALE A-LIST CELEBRITIES, nothing could prepare the world when Paul Feig decided to have FOUR WOMEN to star as the main characters in GHOSTBUSTERS | ANSWER THE CALL.

I'll be honest if it wasn't for Chris Hemsworth, well known for his role as Thor in Avengers, I wouldn't even consider going to watch this movie. Boy ! Was I glad that I did watch it. I couldn't stopped laughing from the start of the movie till the end.

Main Female Cast :

  • Melissa McCarthy - known for her role in Bridesmaid
  • Kristen Wiig - known for her role in Bridesmaid
  • Kate McKinnon
  • Leslie Jones
    Psst.. If I could I would've reviewed The Bridesmaid too. This too is hilarious

The plot is similar to the Ghostbusters 1984 with a few exceptional improvements in the storyline and the equipments used is much more advanced as well.

3x4k7rgugh.gif
Source

The Plot :
Two friends who believed on the existence of paranormal phenomena wrote a book on it but before it was published, they both parted ways. One continued on with an eccentric engineer while the other pursued her career elsewhere. But, fate brought them together when the book was published and the following encounters with the paranormal beings convinced them that GHOST do exist.
As three became four or five if you include the male receptionist, the plot thickens with the presence of a villian who of course opened up the ley lines (isn't this similar to Shadowhunters, The Mortal Instruments) to release hundreds of ghosts.
All hell break loose and we see our beloved Ghostbusters characters such as Marshmallow Man and Slimer. Of course, it's a good and happy ending with the gates of hell being closed and all ghost sucked back into the Underworld. (I suddenly think of the Kate Beckinsale)

My Opinion :

Firstly, I know I'm not supposed to just share about the plot of the story but as you may noticed, I basically can tell you the entire movie. So, in plain simple explanation

  • MUST WATCH MOVIE - Watch it many times over and you would still laugh till your jaw drops
  • The CGI ( computer-generated imagery ) effects is amazing.
  • The JOKES are way above the head. I laughed from start to end. It didn't matter even if there was an occasional repulsive choice of words.
  • Marshmallow Man, I LOVE YOU
  • For the first time, a movie mainly dominated by Male A-List has got FEMALE ACTRESSES from the B-List category as the main stars and the ONLY A-List Male here is holding a supporting role. So, WOMEN POWER !!

2aeq5t7t35.gif
Source

GHOSTBUSTERS MOVIE SOUNTRACK LYRICS

If there's somethings strange in the neighbourhood
Who ya gonna call ?
GHOSTBUSTERS !!
If there's something weird and it don't look good
Who ya gonna call ?
GHOSTBUSTERS !!
I ain't afraid of no ghosts
If you're seeing things running through your head
Who can ya call ?
GHOSTBUSTERS !!

Anyhow, I've enclosed several Youtube vidoes for your quick lookouts. ENJOY!!
Ghostbusters 1984 Sountrack
Trailer of Ghostbusters | Answer The Call


Yes.gif

signature_2.gif

ezgif.com-video-to-gif.gif

Sort:  

Thank you for sharing your posts with us. This post was curated by TeamMalaysia as part of our community support. Looking forward for more posts from you.

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote bitrocker2020 witness

Very nice review @ireenchew! I haven't gotten to see this version yet. I admit I had been on the fence and yeah Chris Hemsworth is a reason to watch anything :) I'll have to watch it soon, I need a good laugh.

Oh one teeny tiny thing you might want to correct. Winston Zeddemore is the character name the actor is Ernie Hudson :)

Opps... Thanks. I better go change it 😱

Posted using Partiko Android

Sublime. So clean.

Thanks so much for dropping by.

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

I've done 2 so far and will do more when one interests me enough

Oh do join.. I actually only do the ones that I'm comfortable with anyway. Plus I love movies so this came sort of naturally.

Congratulations @ireenchew! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 800 replies. Your next target is to reach 900 replies.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Be ready for the next contest!
Trick or Treat - Publish your scariest halloween story and win a new badge

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

I liked ghost busters too! It was fun we have watched it a few time.

And I really like your Betty Boop GIF!

Visiting from #steemitmamas ❤️

Thanks. Even my kids love it. Something we can watch together as a family.

Hmm.. time to find a partner for Betty Book

Posted using Partiko Android

i sent a message to join the steemt bloggers maybe i will be alouwed in hahaha

I'm sure they will approve your request if they can even accept me. This community is super great

Posted using Partiko Android

Great post. It doesn't seem like you are getting the likes it deserves though. Have you checked out the upvote communities? You should check out steemengine. or steemfollower.com.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63901.15
ETH 3133.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05