Roast Sweet Potato with Mint, Lemon Thyme and Sweet Chilli Sauce

in #steemitbloggers5 years ago (edited)


Normally I just roast sweet potato whole just as is, but this time I decided to do something a little different for a change. I sliced the sweet potato in half and placed it on a foil bed which I prepared with olive oil, salt, pepper, sweet chilli sauce and freshly picked sprigs of mint and lemon thyme. I placed the sweet potato face down in the bed and then closed up the foil. I then cooked it at 180 degrees Celsius for about an hour. This was a particularly large sweet potato but for smaller ones, 40 minutes should be more than adequate.

It took me a long time to adjust to completely replacing traditional potato with sweet potato but I can confidently say that I really prefer it now and so does my waistline. Haha!!! My son Jude also far prefers it and actually wont eat normal potato at all anymore, which to be honest - I am actually really grateful for because sweet potato is a real super food with a truck load of nutritional benefits. You can be just as creative with sweet potatoes too... which I think many people overlook... I did some sweet potato stacks recently, as an example... and they were nothing short of divine!! Well, if you try this out, please do share your thoughts :)








#steemitbloggers #share2steem #food #photography #adsactly #steemit #photo #cooking #goodfood #foodgallery #goodfoodgallery #life #taste #blog #foodblog #capetown #capetownfood #homecooking #momskitchen #bloglife #yummy #comfortfood #weekend #saturday #fabulous #roast #nomness #yum #steemit #photo #recipe

line1.png

EARN STEEM - AUTO-POST TO STEEMIT FROM INSTAGRAM

CLICK HERE TO SET IT UP


text15.png

JOIN ME ON INSTAGRAM TOO


Until next time...
Much Love from Cape Town, South Africa xxx

Steemit logo Jaynielea.png

Posted from Instagram via Share2Steem

line1.png

WHO ARE THE

The @steemitbloggers is a discord community of individuals who are committed to producing content which adds value to the Steemit platform. We are STRONGLY focused on supporting our fellow members individual growth as well as offering support to those that are new to Steemit and still trying to get ahead. We are a CLOSE KNIT community of individuals, each with our own strengths, passions and input, yet ALL willing to go the extra mile for our family members... WHY? - because, simply put - we CARE about one another and MANY HANDS make light work! - THAT is what FAMILY is about! - To infinity and beyond...

Interested in joining the Steemit Bloggers Community?

line1.png

INTERESTED IN SUPPORTING CURATION INITIATIVES?

@theluvbug regularly supports the Steemit community with upvotes and resteems of great content which is really adding value to this platform, but in order to grow and be able to offer MORE SUPPORT, @theluvbug needs your help - with upvotes and resteems of the latest curation announcements on that profile.

Sort:  

Ooh yum, I bet the mint is delicious in that combination! I am an equal opportunity spud lover. I make sweet potatoes more often, and love to find purple or blue potatoes for those killer antioxidants. I still enjoy a classic russet every now and then or happy little red skinned taters for a creamy bowl of mashed potatoes. I'm pretty happy my body runs well on starches, haha!

Mashed potato is my ultimate comfort food and bangers and mash my fav combo! :)

That looks bomb! And easy to boot! I’m gonna have to give this one a go.

My pleasure :D hehe ;)

I love potatoes baked with butter and cream, my favourite, but haven't tried sweet potatoes yet

That is one of my moms favourites!!!! :)

What can be done with a simple potato. It is such a versatile vegetable. I bet you we could list over 20 ways to prepare.

Your food posts are always so appetizing. You should take a look at @fff foodfightfriday, just got involved 2 weeks ago. Great bunch of people and I know everyone would admire your dishes.

Thanks for your continued support @theluvbug

hey check me out :=)

Another interesting way to make sweet potatoes. Would definitely try it out :)

Hope you do :)

Sounds so delicious. Nutritious food can be yummy. :)

I'll be right over. lol

Have you ever tasted Sweet Potato Pie? It is a southern pie where I am from.

Ooooh no I haven't!! That sounds super divine!!! Will google it later!

Hi @jaynie!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 5.309 which ranks you at #719 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 4 places in the last three days (old rank 715).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 253 contributions, your post is ranked at #30.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Hi jaynie !

Feature being experimented !

After approximatively 48 hours, your post has 2.65 of pending rewards.
To compensate the fact that @share2steem is taking a fee on your posts, please allow us to upvote you via @tipu.

Our fee : 0.265
Value of votes you got from S2S trails : 0.168
Value to compensate : 0.097

!tipuvote 0.097

For the latest news about the Share2Steem application, visit our @share2steem profile.

See you soon on https://www.share2steem.com

This message is generated automatically.

This post is supported by $0.11 @tipU upvote funded by @share2steem :)
@tipU voting service guide | For investors.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66272.75
ETH 3183.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.09