...OF JUDGEMENT & THE MASK

in #steemitbloggers6 years ago

the mask of judgement.jpg

“A Man who has the confidence to not feel the need to defend his point of view and at the same time possess the openness to accept other's point of view, without being judgemental, yet managing to stay true to his convictions - Is the Man of Real Substance!” ― Wordions

Stop and look around yourself right now, wherever you are and no matter what you are doing. Observe the people surrounding you - each and every one of them going about their business - doing what they do. Smiling, talking, walking, working, drinking coffee, drinking a beer, reading a newspaper… Do you know them? No. You don’t. Even the ones that you do know – you don’t "actually" know!

q1.png
credit

JUDGEMENT AND THE MASK

text15.png

No, You never really know everything about another person - TRUE STORY - because people have become so conditioned to building walls and wearing masks, only allowing others to see what they selectively choose to show or share. As for the rest of it, well it stays under lock and key.

I have mentioned this in a few previous posts - my parents got divorced when I was 5 years old. I am the youngest of four children and I have often had discussions with people about how each and every one of us was affected differently by that part in our lives because of our different stages of emotional and psychological development at the time. No two wounds will ever be the same. In learning to understand people, this is an essential element to remember.

“When we are judging everything, we are learning nothing.” ― Steve Maraboli

It is simply not possible for me (or anyone else for that matter) to truly understand what emotional scars and baggage they deal with as adults now, just as much as they will never really understand mine. The same applies to all the other people that cross our paths. Human nature is often quick to judge others – which is fundamentally wrong on so many levels!

before you assume.png
credit

The way I see it, is like this: Nobody can ever truly understand the road which another has traveled. No, You do not know what has led them to where they stand today, what mountains they have had to climb or how many hurts their hearts have had to endure - and even if you did, it still doesn’t warrant you the right to judge them, because your understanding of their story is only surface level – and that aside… are you perfect? I didn’t think so.

"Being judged" - is one of the primary reasons for which people build walls and wear masks. It becomes their only source of protection, which is sad really, because your knowledge of another becomes limited as a result of that fear.

My mother alsways said that I am very good at “picking up strays”(and by strays she was referring to people not animals lol.) In essence this is true... I have always looked beyond the surface of others - seeking what is underneath the mask or behind the wall, which has attracted some very interesting people into my sphere. I am naturally drawn to people who come off as “quirky” on the outside because, I know their story and accompanying personality is most likely going to be a rather interesting one. Which it generally is – and truth be told… they most often turn out to be the most amazing people that so many others simply would not have given the time of day… because they got judged and condemned before they even had a chance to “show themselves”.

“It is not for me to judge another man's life. I must judge, I must choose, I must spurn, purely for myself. For myself, alone.” ― Hermann Hesse

judge quote.png
credit

Considering the rather quirky individual that I am - and all of the insane things that I have done throughout my life so far, I have never wanted to be judged, so I adopted the philosophy of not judging others in return a very, very long time ago. (sometimes I win this and sometimes... not so much lol - but I certainly do try!) I have also found that by living my life with that approach to others has allowed me to get to know people on a much deeper level than many others will know that very same person. When people realise that you are not going to judge them, they will generally drop their walls and take off their masks slowly but surely – allowing you into their world - and that is always a win win. Honestly, I cannot STAND it when people pretend around me. I don’t want them to feel like they cannot be themselves – nor do I wish to feel that way around them.

As individuals, we should not be so easily affected by the judgement of others, ultimately preventing us from being completely authentic – but unfortunately, more often than not - we are. This is where a healthy self-love and acceptance comes into it. Something which I continue to work at on a day to day basis. I have by no means mastered that art, but I have definitely come a long way from where I started!

worry pot.png
credit

Remember those movies where two completely "unlikely to match” characters cross paths and end up getting to know one another, ultimately seeing the true beauty of each other – putting aside all the shallow cosmetic details. I would never want to fill my time, space and life with people that I don’t truly know and who don’t know me in return. How empty that must be. We are all fundamentally good – no matter what outer persona they show the rest of the world. When you get beyond that, I can guarantee you that there will be a soul there that is absolutely beautiful. You just need to be a big enough person to go that far. If only more people would exercise this – there would be a whole lot more honesty and love in this world.

good news.png
credit

“There's nothing wrong with enjoying looking at the surface of the ocean itself, except that when you finally see what goes on underwater,you realize that you've been missing the whole point of the ocean. Staying on the surface all the time is like going to the circus and staring at the outside of the tent.” ― Dave Barry

Until next time...
Much Love from Cape Town, South Africa xxx

Steemit logo Jaynielea.png

FOUNDER OF THE @STEEMITBLOGGERS

SB_new.png

line1.png

WHO ARE THE

The @steemitbloggers is a discord community of individuals who are committed to producing content which adds value to the Steemit platform. We are STRONGLY focused on supporting our fellow members individual growth as well as offering support to those that are new to Steemit and still trying to get ahead. We are a CLOSE KNIT community of individuals, each with our own strengths, passions and input, yet ALL willing to go the extra mile for our family members... WHY? - because, simply put - we CARE about one another and MANY HANDS make light work! - THAT is what FAMILY is about! - To infinity and beyond...

Interested in joining the Steemit Bloggers Community?

line1.png

INTERESTED IN SUPPORTING CURATION INITIATIVES?

@theluvbug regularly supports the Steemit community with upvotes and resteems of great content which is really adding value to this platform, but in order to grow and be able to offer MORE SUPPORT, @theluvbug needs your help - with upvotes and resteems of the latest curation announcements on that profile.

line1.png

Oh, and if you wanna meet the
wannabe photographer in me...

line1.png

Looking for some AWESOME Steemit Blogs to follow?

Check these peeps out...

@amalinavia@bboyady@watersnake101@bengy@blockurator@mariannewest@toddrjohnson@diosarich@denmarkguy@foxyspirit

There are way too many awesome bloggers to mention all at once,
so I will share different people at the foot of different posts.

Sort:  

This is so true, too often we come to quick first impression judgements based on nothing more than a personal projection of intent. Nowhere is this more obvious than in driving... Not everyone is out to cut you off or do something annoying, sometimes it really is just a mistake or misunderstanding.
And if it is that easy to succumb to quick judgement in such a mundane situation, it is even easier in complex situations to jump to a knee jerk reaction...,

You will never know one's life unless you will wear his shoes, tie the laces and walk to his chosen path.

It is quite hard to have an IDGAF attitude when you are surrounded by judgmental people. It takes a lot of courage, will and determination to just brush it off those hurtful comments they are throwing unto you. Sometimes, these comments lead to depression which can cause suicide, especially to the teenagers. I really hope that this kind of attitude will stop both being judgmental and being easily depressed and stressed by it.

...yes, agreed! Being someone who has struggled with that in some way, shape or form my whole life...

Beautiful post with excellent use of quotes to back up the message. This makes me happy. Judging others is a fool's game. In end, we only end up judging ourselves.

So so SOOOOOO true!!!!

That first photo though! Eyes Wide Shut-esk!! ;-) :-)
Great write, just wanted to mention the photo that literally jumped out of my feed/stream!

Good to know ;) Effective "marketing" objective achieved then? ;) haha

People are going to judge based on their own belief system. Some people grow taller by chopping other people's heads off.

giphy-2.gif
giphy

Great article sis.. thank you very much for theention..

Posted using Partiko Android

@jaynie Been thinking lots about judgement people make and the fear we have of other's judgement.

So this really hit home:

"Being judged" - is one of the primary reasons for which people build walls and wear masks.

I'm still trying to do my own thing and stand unafraid and unaffected by the judgements of those around me. Afterall, it matters most how we think of ourselves.

Can I bribe you 🍪🍪🍪🍷🍷🍷 to offer my two cents here?? I assume I have your permission. So thinking is tough but what works is PERCEPTION i.e. The Ability to See Everyone and Everything the Way they're WITHOUT ANY filters. The reason for this is that if you Can't See Clearly i.e. Everything the Way it's then you won't be able to Think Clearly and Act Sensibly as well. Isn't it so??

An amazing and very relative reminder to us all @jaynie. It's also a much more pleasing and peaceful way to live plus you get to meet some amazing people along the way.

Hi @jaynie!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 5.257 which ranks you at #761 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 4 places in the last three days (old rank 757).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 471 contributions, your post is ranked at #47.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers like your work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64678.67
ETH 3086.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87