OhSnap! - Don't suck the JOY out of your journey. - #ULOG Entry

in #steemitbloggers5 years ago

QmcjFu3iNPt9WG8yNUL8bR16DCdrhymHwkN1qjsiTvJ3Te.jpg

I think it is safe to say that for anybody who writes on a regular basis, there are those days and times when you simply don't have it in you. That's normal! But sometimes, it just seems as if everyone feels so much pressure to continuously publish content heavy posts which to be frank, can often leave one feeling less than enthusiastic by the seemingly obligatory monotony.

I recently had a conversation with @claudiaz when she was here in Cape Town, and we both agreed that in our opinion, the social media sites which have gotten it right are the ones that allow you to fully express yourself in whatever way, shape or form you choose. So whether it is sharing a snap shot of something you are doing at that moment in time, or just voicing a brief opinion on something - you don't feel "displaced" for doing that. For some reason however, and perhaps it is because there is an earning capacity attached to what you post here on Steemit - there seems to be this silent underlying expectation attached to what is acceptable and what isn't in terms of posts.

Now, don't get me wrong... everything within reason! I am not saying that we should all suddenly start spewing out 15 posts a day that share 15 different snaps of essentially the same thing... or worse, spamming the feed with crud! - but I do think that we should not feel like we "can't" post this or that for fear of creating a reputation of "crappy content".

If I look at myself here on this platform - I have written so many varying articles in the last year+ that I have lost count. Most of the stuff I write is content rich but sometimes, I jut want to have a little bit of fun or share something spontaneous and I have decided that irrespective of what other people's opinions on that are... if I want to do that, then I am going to! Your personal "social media world" should be as YOU want it to be and not catered to the approval of others. I was thrilled when chatting to @alexpmorris about Whaleshares some time back when he mentioned to me that he wanted people to feel the freedom to post "blurts" or just fun spontaneous things - much like you do on any other social media site. It creates a sense of freedom to just BE YOURSELF - instead of constantly feeling like you have to make some A grade impression with a 800+ word count.

That constant "obligation" type feeling can really suck the joy out of things that are supposed to be enjoyable... and I am not going to pander to it anymore. Yes, some of my posts may be content heavy - when I feel the inspiration to create such... but others may just be for fun or on the spur of the moment. Sounds like a pretty healthy balance to me and boohoo to anyone who doesn't like that! I think I have been around here long enough and more than earned the right to express myself however I darn well choose! ;)

And so, on that note...

I HOPE YOU ALL HAVE A TERRIFIC TUESDAY!!!

❤ DON'T FORGET TO BE FABULOUS! ❤


PHOTO TAKEN WITH MY SAMSUNG NOTE 9


Until next time...
Much Love from Cape Town, South Africa xxx

Steemit logo Jaynielea.png

line1.png

WHO ARE THE

The @steemitbloggers is a discord community of individuals who are committed to producing content which adds value to the Steemit platform. We are STRONGLY focused on supporting our fellow members individual growth as well as offering support to those that are new to Steemit and still trying to get ahead. We are a CLOSE KNIT community of individuals, each with our own strengths, passions and input, yet ALL willing to go the extra mile for our family members... WHY? - because, simply put - we CARE about one another and MANY HANDS make light work! - THAT is what FAMILY is about! - To infinity and beyond...

Interested in joining the Steemit Bloggers Community?

line1.png

INTERESTED IN SUPPORTING CURATION INITIATIVES?

@theluvbug regularly supports the Steemit community with upvotes and resteems of great content which is really adding value to this platform, but in order to grow and be able to offer MORE SUPPORT, @theluvbug needs your help - with upvotes and resteems of the latest curation announcements on that profile.

line1.png

Looking for some AWESOME Steemit Blogs to follow?

Check these peeps out...

@byn@fionasfavourites@heartscally@explorernations@nickyhavey@felt.buzz@beautifulbullies@wales@amalinavia@kaerpediem@zen-art@wildwanderer@lukestokes@slowwalker@travelfeed @steemitworldmap@offoodandart@intrepidsurfer@oldtimer@abh12345@raymondspeaks@world-travel-pro@rosatravels@clubfungus@giantbear@lichtblick@princessmewmew@adsactly@mermaidvampire@ykdesign@melbookermusic@wrecktangle27@joythewanderer@mariannewest

There are way too many awesome bloggers to mention all at once,
so I will share different people at the foot of different posts.

Sort:  

Somedays are just like this...
This is life

Truth! :)

Hey @jaynie

Blogging and writing is new thing for me. I found steemit because I was looking for a wallet to store my dads purchase of steem. I would have been too nervous about my written English or putting my thoughts on paper before. Without trying to sound corny, steemit has changed my world for the better.

So that feeling of hitting the wall or just not feeling like it today are a little strange and make me question why I devote so much time to steemit instead of finding more tutoring work. I doesn't take very long at all and I am motivated and right back into it again.

You're right about the type of posts that we put out and the need to show quality. When we all hit that slump it would be nice to just fire out a quick post just to make feel like you have made your contribution. I guess @actifit is kind of taking that role for me. Filling in the down or blank days.

BTW Thanks for all you do for us at #steemitbloggers

Gaz

My pleasure :) Yeah I suppose I will stick to the photography snap shots, seeing as I practically do zero exercise hahaha!!!

Ah! That's a shame. We could do a steemitbloggers step challenge or something.

I know what She would Win A Wine Drinking Challenge. 🍷🍷🍷. Done. That's Fast.

Last year I made a post everyday and was very uneasy whenever it was getting late and have not finished my post yet. I realized this year that it has eaten me up completely and I was no longer having fun. I toned it a bit by making post at least twice a week. I felt relaxed and had more fun also much more time to think about a content. I agree with you completely don't take the fun out of it by being bounded my the chains of the obligated feeling.

Absolutely!!! The second it begins to feel like a chore, it is a problem.

Just keep on keeping on I guess until the breakthrough comes

Excellent written !!!. The main thing is that the activity brings pleasure or satisfaction of needs.

Very true!

I agree and that's why I am thrrilled that I can post here from Instagram. I think that's a nice way to balance the longer posts. And as I've said before: writer's block is a real thing.

haha so true hey! And yes, I saw that - very cool. I still need to investigate it.

anybody who writes on a regular basis, there are those days and times when you simply don't have it in you

Oh man!!! So true! Writing is NOT a 9-5 job EVER!

Bingo! lol

I agree wholeheartedly, lets have more fun and relax a little! life is far too serious otherwise!

Cheers to that! ;)

Yesss...so important to InJoy the Journey!!! :) <333 Thank you for being you @jaynie - and for being so encouraging & supportive!! love you so much #steemitbloggers fam!!!

I decided a long time ago that I absolutely dislike that some people decided that they were the gatekeepers to good content. I believe that the readers can make that decision.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64498.18
ETH 3079.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86