TASTY BRAAI (or barbeque if you will) SIDES... ;)

in #steemitbloggers6 years ago

One of the best parts about braai days is the fun you get to have with the sides that accompany the meat. Thursday last week, I shared some of the sides I made which included Avocado and Feta salad and a salsa style green salad - both of which are big favourties of mine... but the weather was superb again on Sunday and so we decided to braai again and have some family over.

Nobody likes repetitive dishes, least of all me, so I decided to do a different selection of sides this time around. The first of which was one which I have mentioned in previous posts but don't think I have ever shared in detail. It is ALWAYS a winner and there is seldom little left, if anything - but if there is... it makes a fantastic snack food!

But before I got to that, I started with something else a little different. I had a few radishes in the garden which were ready to be pulled, in fact they had been ready for some time, so I figured I would make something with those before they went to waste.

20181007_113309.jpg

MINT, CUCUMBER, RADISH & RED ONION SALAD

I accompanied the radishes with some cucumber and red onion. Diced it all up, threw it in a bowl and added a dollop of mayonnaise. Simple is as simple does... lol. I then simply plated it with a few full slices of cucumber, some chopped spring onion and mint. It really was such a basic combination of flavours and ingredients, but they married REALLY well and everyone loved it! (thankfully! haha - it's always nice when your experiments are a success! lol)

20181007_114719.jpg

20181007_115521.jpg

20181007_115530.jpg

ROASTED BROWN ONION & GARLIC JACKET POTATOES

Right, ok... so onto the crowd pleasing side.. the famous and VERY MUCH LOVED brown onion and garlic baby potatoes. You will need pack of baby jacket potatoes, a pack of dry brown onion soup powder, some freshly chopped garlic, butter and some freshly chopped parsley. Boil the potatoes until they are just tender but firm (do not over cook them until they are all splitting open, otherwise you will just have one big sloppy mess.)

20181007_112015.jpg

Once the potatoes are cooked, drain them and then add all the other ingredients. So the full packet of soup powder, the garlic, a nice dollop of butter and about handful of chopped parsley. do not toss them yet. Pop the lid on and let the butter melt. You can go back to it after about 10 minutes. I actually forgot to buy parsley lol and my garden batch has just been cut back so, I skipped the parsley this time around. While you are sitting out the ten minutes for the butter to melt, turn the oven on to grill and place the tray at a medium to low level.

20181007_120525.jpg

Once the butter has melted, and the grill has heated nicely... take the pot of potatoes - with the lid tightly secured (with a dishcloth in hand, as some pots do leak a little.) give the potatoes a couple of shakes and swirls and then turn it upside down for a second or two... allowing the butter and other ingredients to coat everything nicely.

20181007_122327.jpg

Then throw them into an oven friendly dish and scrape the last of the goodies from the pot over the potatoes. Pop them under the grill and keep a keen eye on them for about ten minutes, giving them a toss with a wooden spoon about every three minutes until they are beautifully golden roasted.

20181007_122454.jpg

20181007_123801.jpg

I promise you, you will NOT be disappointed with these tatoes - and neither will anybody else! Lastly, I decided to do some mielies (corn) - but also wanted to spruce them up a little from the "standard butter"...

20181007_112040.jpg

ROASTED CORIANDER, LIME AND PEPPER MIELIES

Personally, I prefer to serve smaller segments of mielies. I just think its more aesthetically pleasing for plating and also... some people do not want an entire piece of corn. So, I start by cutting each mielie into three segments. They are not the easiest thing in the world to cut, so I generally take a nice sharp knife and firmly press the two indentations and then just snap them. It is a lot easier than trying to hammer the knife all the way through... unless of course you have a mallet... in which case, go right ahead lol!

20181007_124700.jpg

Bring them to the boil until cooked through. I decided to serve them with a coriander, lime and pepper butter... so while they were cooking, that was what I got sorted... which again, is as easy as ABC - you simply mix together a dollop or two of butter, some freshly ground salt and black pepper, the juice and rind of one lime and about a handful of freshly chopped coriander (dhanya / cilantro).

20181007_121814.jpg

20181007_121956.jpg

Once the mielies are cooked, drain them and put them into an oven friendly dish. Scoop the butter into the dish as well. The mielies will still be warm enough to melt the butter, so as it melts, be sure to coat them all nicely and then place them under the grill - also for about 10 minutes, tossing them frequently. In my instance, the grill was still nice and hot from the potatoes... so they went really quickly. The result is simply delicious and it definitely makes a tangy transformation from the way corn is normally served at a braai :)

20181007_124934.jpg

20181007_130849.jpg

So, that was pretty much a wrap for what I served alongside our braai meat on Sunday passed. If anybody does give any of them a try, I would love to hear some feedback :)


Until next time...
Much Love from Cape Town, South Africa xxx

Steemit logo Jaynielea.png

FOUNDER OF THE @STEEMITBLOGGERS

SB_new.png

line1.png

WHO ARE THE

The @steemitbloggers is a discord community of individuals who are committed to producing content which adds value to the Steemit platform. We are STRONGLY focused on supporting our fellow members individual growth as well as offering support to those that are new to Steemit and still trying to get ahead. We are a CLOSE KNIT community of individuals, each with our own strengths, passions and input, yet ALL willing to go the extra mile for our family members... WHY? - because, simply put - we CARE about one another and MANY HANDS make light work! - THAT is what FAMILY is about! - To infinity and beyond...

Interested in joining the Steemit Bloggers Community?

line1.png

INTERESTED IN SUPPORTING CURATION INITIATIVES?

@theluvbug regularly supports the Steemit community with upvotes and resteems of great content which is really adding value to this platform, but in order to grow and be able to offer MORE SUPPORT, @theluvbug needs your help - with upvotes and resteems of the latest curation announcements on that profile.

line1.png

Oh, and if you wanna meet the
wannabe photographer in me...

line1.png

Looking for some AWESOME Steemit Blogs to follow?

Check these peeps out...

@bengy@fionasfavourites@jeanwandimi@khimgoh@steveblucher@steemflow@veta-less@goldendawne@jusipassetti@traciyork@braaiboy

There are way too many awesome bloggers to mention all at once,
so I will share different people at the foot of different posts.

Sort:  

food looks very yummy! ^_^

thanks :)

Shouldn’t braai be only meat and bread? Okay maybe a little italian salade on the side!
If we are having a braai, we mostly have stokskes 😁. Best way to describe them are Italian souvlaki!
Strange no photos of them on my phone 😔

lol well, Us ladies have to keep ourselves busy somehow hey @fullcoverbetting :P

wine and salad making :P lol

oh lawd! That looks yummz! I have my favourite mealie recipe which I base on Mexican elotes - it's charred mealies that have been basted in olive oil and chillies, served with sour cream (that has coriander mixed into it) and a squeeze of lime .... mouth watering as I type!

Actually that recipe is normally done with chilli added... but I had my little boy and his mates joining in, so omitted the ring sting lol ;) but yes, it is DEVILISHLY TASTY @princessmewmew xxx

Nice BBQed corn. I would love to dip the corn in lots of butter and salt!

oi! listen here! it was ROASTED in butter and salt!!! :P aaaand it was AWESOME ;)

I'm sure it is!~ I need to start planting some corn.

Happy Gardening :D

I read about you gardening recently too. Mind helping? Haha

@jaynie these are all fantastic recipes.. I will try some.
I had to look up the word mielies and found it to be a South African term for maize, which I usually just say corn.

What fun to see these mouth-watering photos and learn what a great cook you are.

MWAH thanks hon!!! yeah... I think I termed it corn somewhere in there for you Internationals :P hehehehe ;) but yes, an SA term :D

It may be salads that you have here but it’s making me hungry. Only had a small pineapple pastry and one piece of fried potato skin today. Now, I’m so hungry that looking at your photos, I’m telling myself that I should go to bed if not I’ll go looking for some food in the kitchen. 😕

I’m determined to control my food intake.

you are making me feel bad @ireenchew lol hehehehe xxx EAT SOMETHING GIRL!!! :P

Corn just tastes SO much better on the grill!

My dad used to make a cucumber, onion and tomato salad... sliced cukes, chucks of tomatoes, thinly sliced onions in a sour cream dill creamy sauce, seasoned with salt and pepper!
So good!

YUM!!!! That sounds DELICIOUS!!!!

You got me with the pictures of radishes. The rest of the pics just make me want to book a flight to Cape Town just to have dinner, being as I'm poor as dirt, that's out of the question. Anyways, if I do ever make there you got to promise to cook. Looks divine.

One of these days.... ALLLLLLLL of us fantabulous steemit peeps will get together and I will prep the biggest spread!!!! :D

I am literally drooling so much. This made me realize that I haven't had radishes since I had them from my grandma's garden and it's been well over a decade! I wonder how many foods I just stopped eating because they came from the garden and I never thought to buy them from a store? (or like sweet corn, that I used to love when we got it 'fresh' but the store bought stuff is never as good!)

Those potatoes look like HEAVEN. I want some so bad!!! Great post!

hehehehe hon.... guess you had better start gardening then :P xxxxxxxxxxx MWAH!

Hahaha, We've tried. Oklahoma soil is pretty much just clay. It doesn't work like it did back in Iowa (and I'm not moving back there!!!)

Oh I can SO relate @byn!!!! The garden I have now, gets essentially NO sun!!!! So NOTHING works in terms of herbs or veg.... after 3 years of persistence, I surrendered and started putting pots all the way down my front walk way lol...

Oh... you guys are going into summer... lucky you! I never really remember to do the sides, my wife always nags me about that... I have to say it all looks pretty tasty, but I'm quite partial to corn!

I'm deadly curious about the word braai though... is it Afrikaans? I don't know any Dutch equivalent, although that could be my limited Dutch as well...

hahah I think your wife and most other women too @bengy lol ;) yes it is an Afrikaans word :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.035
BTC 66739.07
ETH 3228.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.23