Homemade Roselle Jam and How to Make it.

in #steemitbloggers5 years ago

Roselle Feast!

Roselle Cover.jpg

Hello everyone, as you all know (if you followed my post that is), I have been posting a lot about what’s been going on in my garden. Recently my Roselle plants have been growing quite well, producing a huge amount of Roselles batch by batch, which I need to find ways to utilise them. In case you never heard of Roselle, it is a species of Hibiscus which can grow very easily. The plants have many usages. Most people make beverages, flowers for salads, leaves for cooking, calyces/fruits for jams and jellies.

So, with the amount that I have, some was given to family and friends, who likes to make Roselle drinks (it tasted similar like Ribena). Some I used it to make jam, which I am going to show you the step-by-step in this post.

Ingredients:
Roselle Fruits
Brown Sugar
Water

text16.png

1-4.jpg

First, you need to harvest the Roselle fruits. Use a scissor to cut the fruits down, don’t use hand to twist and plug the fruits, it will harm and ruin the stem of the plants. Clean them once with running water, soak them a while in plain water to make sure any dusts, sands, and especially ants (they love the sweetness of Roselle) trapped inside can be dissolved.

We then separate the pods and petals, rinse again thoroughly with water. If some of the petals are too big, you can cut into smaller pieces. Weight the petals to determine the sugar needed (I prefer brown sugar, healthier), normal ratio is 1:1, but if you prefer less sweet and sourer, you can use less than that.

Note: Sugar can act as the preservative and helps inhibits mould growth.

text16.png

Let’s get cooking!

Roselle06.jpg

Step 1
Add water enough to cover the pods and cook for few minutes (depends on the amount and sizes). This is to extract the pectin from the pods.

Roselle07.jpg

Roselle08.jpg

Step 2
After the pods have turned yellow you can take out all the pods, add in all the petals and add some water. Stir them for a while then turn the heat to low and let it simmer.

Roselle09.jpg

Roselle10.jpg

Step 3
After the petals are softened, you can add in the brown sugar and stir to mix them well. When you see the mixture has become thick and sticky, means it’s ready. I did not let all the petals fully dissolved because I like to be able to still eat the fruits.

Roselle11.jpg

Step 4
Store the jam into a boiled and dried glass bottle, put the bottle upside down once you sealed it and while it’s hot. It helps to produce a vacuum seal effect, so you can store it longer.

Roselle12.jpg

Now you have yourself a bottle of Roselle Jam. I like to spread it on my bread in the morning.

text16.png

Or you can make an Iced Roselle Tea when it’s hot in the afternoon. Just scope one teaspoon of the jam to a glass of water and add in some ice, deliciously cooling!

Roselle13.jpg

14-15.jpg

If you search the internet, you will find there are plenty of Health Benefits by taking Roselle.

text16.png


Joe Steemit divider.jpg

Thank you for stopping by, this is a place where I can share the things I enjoy in life, art, gardening, nature, foods. This is why my divider above are filled with all the different kind of icons that I love doing. I hope you enjoy my post so far, leave me a comment if you like.
谢谢您的到访,这里是个我可以分享关于我所喜爱的生活,包括艺术,园艺,大自然,食物等等的地方。 这就是为什么我上面的页脚全都是我喜欢做的不同类型的图标。 我希望您喜欢我的帖子,如果您喜欢,不妨留下您的评语。

SB_new.png

Sort:  

You’ve been upvoted by TeamMalaysia community. Do checkout other posts made by other TeamMalaysia authors at http://steemit.com/created/teammalaysia

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

Thank you!

LOVE your set up here, both a well thought out recepy, then your text is flowing nicely so its easy to follow &&&&&&&&& mega bonus for tons of great, well saturated pix, (peeps tend to read the full articel IF there is pix inside ;) LOL )

Wow, that's an amazing compliment @swedishdragon, I feel like crying of joy now!!!

aw your so welcome <its my pleasure🐲💗🐉 You did the post :D
woohoo THEN my mission is done !!

You really are the best 'autie'!

<puurrsz.. Thanks 🐲💗🐉

Yay, your jam post is out and you forgot to tag me :) Neverming, I found it and it's amazing. i hope I can taste it once.

Oh no.... I was very tired and sleepy when trying to finish this post last night. I was trying to remember who I have promised to tag but just can't recalled. So sorry about that @erikah!☺

Relax, don't worry about that, I was only joking 😉

I knew you are a nice person!

OMGosh!!
I have never heard of these fruits before but that JAM? LOOKS so good!

I love learning about new foods to preserve and this one is definitely one I've never knew about.

I'm glad you like this post @goldendawne!
I'm surprised you never heard of it, because to me you are the queen of homesteading! Hahaha...

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Thank you for the support!

@joelai🌸!新鮮又漂亮的Roselle,都是自己栽種的嗎?

Posted using Partiko Android

卡姐,对,都是自己种的! 😘

That's one thing I can't get enough of!

Posted using Partiko Android

Really? How do you normally take it?

Cool, thanks for sharing!

Oh man that looks so good. Personally, though, I'd dry them out and use them as a tea additive like I do with normal hibiscus. Very flavorful, and not too different from your version just hot instead ^^

I'm sure they are the same... Thanks for sharing!

I dont know if we have this flower in the philippines. Maybe there is since your from asia, with different name. The recipe is quite easy and we can enjoy safe and organic bread filling.

Posted using Partiko Android

I'm sure can be found in Philippines as well!

I will try ask :)

Posted using Partiko Android

I have never heard of this plant. How does it taste? Is the jam a little bit rose - like or does it taste like a hibiscus that we normally know?

Either way I would definitely enjoy it on a piece of bread :)

Thank you for sharing!

Thanks for stopping by.
Yes, it does taste more like Hibiscus, a bit of sweet and sour taste.

I like Roselle. To me, it taste similar to Ribena blackcurrant drink :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63869.25
ETH 3055.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88