Steemitbloggers Contest: My 2019 New Year Resolutions

in #steemitbloggers5 years ago

Imgur

Oh, dear, do you have any idea of the amount of things I need/want to change in my life? Let's just say there are a LOT of things that I would be happy to change; the real question is what do I really want to put forth the effort to change?

Because that's what holds us back, isn't it? EFFORT.

If I don't put forth the effort to change -- and don't intend on doing so -- any New Year's Resolution I put forth will mean nothing.

Imgur

I have TWO New Year's Resolutions. Both of them mean a great deal to me and this upcoming year will be the year I achieve both of them.

  1. I will become more active and find some type of activity that I can do to keep me moving for at least 30 minutes a day.

This is something I'm finding out is extremely more important the older you get. I'm 43, but I'm stationary most of the time and that's weakened my lower back. I'm also at the highest weight I have ever been -- and that's almost embarrassing when I think about it.

I don't want to say I'll go on a diet because, of course, yes, I'm going on a diet when January rolls around. What I need is movement so I can strengthen my body -- and I think the weight will come off with it.

Imgur

  1. I will write fiction every day for at least 30 minutes a day.

This year, I was going to write for NaNoWriMo. I had a plot and everything. But I got mired in my own self-doubt as to whether I could actually accomplish the novel I said I was going to.

Note: self-doubt is normal -- but you have to overcome it to be a creative. Plus I can't edit what's not on the page.

I don't want to give a number of books or short stories or ideas or whatever because I don't think I can reach those numbers, but what I can do is sit down at my computer and write for 30 minutes each and every day, whether it's something new that pops into my head or on a current work of fiction. I don't know.

I'm tempted to use Steemit to hold myself accountable because I know there are people out there who would be glad to help, but we'll have to see. It might be a simple little note saying that I wrote this many words from this time to that time, just to keep it short and sweet.

Well, those are the two resolutions I want to keep. I know that I can do these -- I need to do both of these.

Don't wish me luck -- it's not luck I'm going to need here; it's perseverance.

Imgur
(Lucky bamboo -- can't hurt, can it? Just in case!)


Imgur Imgur

--

Didn't get a chance to donate to Extra-Life to help sick kids on November 3rd?

You're in luck! We keep gathering donations through December!

Please donate -- you could help save a life!

Imgur

--

Imgur

--

Imgur

--

Imgur

--

Imgur

--

Imgur

--

Imgur

Sort:  

@kipswolfe ALL THE BEST!! One of my goals is the same as your second goal. I plan to write everyday as well. Let's keep on writing writing writing and keeping each other accountable ((:

Posted using Partiko Android

I'll keep my luck then and wish you that perseverance you are looking for! Sounds like the writing should be no problem, so I'll touch on the activity. Find something you enjoy doing. Of course as a fitness professional I advocate for a balance among all aspects of exercise--strength, flexibility, endurance, etc. However you'll be more likely to stick to something if you pick a mode of exercise you enjoy. Once you get in a routine of daily movement, then you can start working on adding in different things to balance it out if you like.

Also remember to be kind to yourself and listen to your body. If you haven't been active in a while make sure to take anything slow and work your way up. I'm happy to cheer you on if you need a little boost! :)

Congratulations @kipswolfe! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 1750 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 2000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64742.01
ETH 3172.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.10