Flagging | How Not to Get Flagged 101.

in #steemitbloggers6 years ago

Photo by Kenny Luo on Unsplash. 

Introduction

Whenever I am free, I like to hang out at  New section of WEKU. My intention is to vote up the new posts which deserve more attention and to flag down those posts that I think "unworthy".   

Since I am a survivor of a flagging war thanks to @teamnepal, I am going to clarify my stance on flagging posts.   

Spamming

Currently, in order to maximise the generation of WEKU Power, this is the most used strategy by quite a number of WEKUzees. There are a LOT of users who are posting one single picture (that is most likely copied from other sources) with no caption together with a random title. They are playing a number game, as the more you can pump out, the more likely you can earn a vote or two despite the meager earnings.   

Some of the users bring the number game into the next level by creating multiple accounts, utilising the pioneer rewards (100 WEKU Power) awarded to each new account. This has not take the referral rewards into account, which will generate even more WEKU power. I will flag all these posts as I am angered by the sheer unfairness to content creator like me, who has to sow so much efforts but reap so little rewards. Currently I am struggling to motivate myself to keep creating, but I still not know how sustainable I am under this rigged economy.   

Plagiarism

Below is a classic plagiarism. The whole post is a direct copy from another source.    

Post
Source

Bear in mind that, even when you stated the image and text source clearly in your post, but you did copy and paste more than 50% from the original content from the source, it would be categorised under copy plagiarism. Unless you can verify you are the original creator of the source, and you are simply repost your works on another platform, you will get a flag and/or a comment from me.   

Illegible

This probably has nothing to do with the above two factors. Some of the posts are written in the languages that I understand, but the content does not make any sense to me. I will not mind if you are not a native user of that language, but please do not churn out a piece of content that nobody understands. It is a waste of resources and will burden the whole blockchain in the long run.    

I wish those flagged creators will spend more time in learning before trying to create something only the creators themselves will love.   

Be Original!

This is the best you and I should do. The main objective of WEKU and Steemit is to reward creativity and originality. There are a number of aspiring artists, designers and writers on the platform who deserve our 100% vote. I will utilise my voting power to support all these original creators in their works.   

Be Innovative!

Even though you might not be the creator of the original content, you are encouraged to extend and expand from your inspirations. If you find a great picture worth sharing, please add your own caption. If you think your local news in your mother tongue worth noticing, please translate and disclaim it as your translation, and cite the original source. If you love a quote and think others should know, please elaborate with your views and experience. If you think a piece of data and statistics worth analysis, please do so.   

That is all from me on this gloomy and rainy day in Kuala Lumpur. 

Selamat sejahtera and write on.  

Sort:  

I haven't start any thing with my Weku yet... so sad...

You can copy what you have written in Steemit to there to start with. I'm one of the two Malaysians whom I know who are active there.

Posted using Partiko Android

Can ah? Do I need to state the origin is from Steemit?

Yes better do. Go look look see first, and introduce yourself. Have you created your account yet?

Posted using Partiko Android

Yes I did, in Sept... haha..
Can copy the Steemit Intro post then, lazy to write a new one.

That is the problem with social media that offers financial rewards particularly to communities who are in a survival mentality instead of thriving on self-branding mentality.
When one keeps thinking of putting bread on the table, they will tend to do whatever it takes because they are educated to have no mercy to those who give the opportunity.

Such beggar mentality is the start of everything because most humans are robbed from the idea of the opportunity of being creative, hence the “dog eat dog” dogma is widely spread and it overflows into the cyber world.

Hence talking about being original is not enough, coaching these people could bring light into cease of such uncontrollable situations.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64605.91
ETH 3159.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11