Product Photography with a Do It Yourself Box

I promised to make a story about a photo session I was asked to do. Not my type of photography in general but... well... duty called.

diy_8_s_BW.jpg

Making a box out of cardboard and tissue paper

This is to soften the light coming from a source too strong. So that reflections and other highlight areas are not too much. A small but important thing.

diy_1_s_BW.jpg

diy_2_s_BW.jpg

Leaving some space where white paper background can be attached.

diy_3_s_BW.jpg

diy_4_s_BW.jpg

It has to be curved like this so that we have no folds and shadows in our background. It fades into infinity, so to speak.

diy_5_s_BW.jpg

This is how a transparent packaging looks without any special lighting - lots of highlights. The black pieces of cardboard are there to give little dark reflections to the edges so that it remains visible. Wasting no material, I cut the boxes of the light bulbs to make stands for those.

diy_6_s_BW.jpg

diy_7_s_BW.jpg

Meanwhile outside...

Ten Degrees Celsium? No way...

Meanwhile_2_s.jpg

Meanwhile_s.jpg

Back to our products

The initial result:

Banan_1_s.jpg

And then:

Banan_3a_s.jpg

Another take of that with some more editing. Actually a lot of cutting away and making PNG files of only the product to be easily placed on any background after. Since it is transparent... results are still close a compromise. But well, this is what I can do and I hope some good designer takes it away from there. I have also provided the initial results so that editing can start anew if needed.

Other photos I made after that with no transparent objects in them

Banan_Produkti_1_s.jpg

Limets_Produkti_1_s.jpg

Tsveklo_Produkti_1_s.jpg

And I'm out. Too tired to think but if you want to suggest or ask something, welcome to do so in comments.

Bye now,

Manol

SB_new.png

Sort:  

I had in my mind something similar to do and now I'm thankful that you made this report.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61645.58
ETH 3013.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71