Stop making your life so complicated

maze-2264_960_720.jpg

It crazes me when I see people that make their life SO complicated. I usually want to thwap them around the head and tell them that there are far easier solutions to whatever problem they are experiencing. I was talking to a young man earlier that inspired me to make this post. He was telling me that he needed to find out if a woman likes him or not before he can ask her out on a date. It had caused him a certain level of discomfort to not know where he stood with her. I can see a lot of my younger self in this man; wanting to impress women and getting uncomfortable when I didn't know where I stood. It sucked.

Risk is a funny old thing. It can have some people taking it in their stride; jumping off the next building in a parachute if only to feel the thrill of the next risk-rush. Others, like me as a younger man, are completely averse to the thought of risk and run away from anything that strays from their own world view. I eat sausages on Tuesday, so I will always eat sausages on Tuesday, no exceptions. And this was me for most of my life. I wanted to be someone though; I wanted to be an amazing person, but I didn't want to take on the challenges that came with it. I was always looking for the loopholes, the ways to get ahead without having to do any of the heavy lifting.

Hint: There were no loopholes.

Where you should be at when it comes to dating is having the confidence to go out there and ask a lady out. The crux of it is, is that you just have to brave it, step one foot out there and go for gold. You'll probably not at first, you'll probably flounder and come across as a total weirdo, but the experience will teach you something valuable -- what not to do. You’ll just have to keep trying until you get it right. But there are no right answers, just people that are compatible with each other and people that aren't. You just need to get out there and risk it! Then you're on step one of making life simple. You like a woman and instead of taking yourself through a torrent of "what if's" and "maybe she doesn’t;" you go out there and you plain and simple ask her out on a date. That way you'll know if she likes you or if she doesn't.

Well done, you've just saved yourself a ton of mental mind games.

You can apply this to every aspect of your life too. I no longer talk myself out of stuff, I just go out there and bloody well do it. Try it and mould my experience from there.

I've always wondered what it would be like to run my own business and be my own boss. I've always thought that the way to go was on the internet too; it's the way the world has been progressing for many years. So, I went out there and I gave it a shot. I found out for myself in the end and answered my own questions, else they would still be burning questions in my head. People often have high expectations when going it alone, but I knew it was going to be tough. I began my journey with hundreds of other bright eyed and bushy tailed wannabe start-ups in a group and now I'm the only one left. Perseverance was key; also, a good bit of ability to adapt, try new things, and learn from my failures.

I remember when I was fresh out of school and I had just hit the job market. I really wanted to be someone, to accomplish something, to achieve things, but anything that would come my way I would always talk myself out of it and tell myself that I wasn't good enough for whatever it was that I was trying.

"I don't have enough time"

"I don't have enough experience"

"I'm not mature enough"

But I didn't know because I had never tried any of it. Do you know that I never say that I can't do something anymore unless I've tried it and I know that I can't do it? We spend a good portion of our lives listening to the influence of others and our internal nay-sayer when we really should just go out and try it for ourselves and then we would regret less about our lives.

I've shed all the little mind games I used to play with myself and started being a lot more proactive with my life. I've began to DO rather than speculate. Get OUT there rather than sit and think. Say how I feel rather than think about it and not tell anyone.

A great saying someone once told me is that:

One will never know until they try.

And that phrase has simplified my life ten-fold.

Join me in my good fight for compassion in The Man Cave

Join me at Steemitbloggers

Sort:  

bid.bot

Limited Time: 2 STEEM / SBD per Bid!

You just got a 100.00% upvote from me! I am the Whitelist Only, Anonymous, Upvoting and Flagging BidBot. You can boost awesome posts by sending a bid to my wallet or use my power to flag overvalued contents. Check the HOWTO!

You're totally right, just doing things instead of wondering about them simplifies life a ton.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62796.11
ETH 3045.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85