Powwow flag oldest flag in our country

in #steemitbloggers6 years ago (edited)

Once all the flags are up front the announcer says about the staff, “This is the oldest flag in America.” Some of the Indians are veterans, you’ll see there are different flags.

81vvxpqo8g.jpg
Canon T6 EOS 1300 D settings on request (#5214)

The Indian flag, eagle feather staff enters first into the arena as part of the Grand Entry.

02wrxu5837.jpg
Canon T6 EOS 1300 D settings on request (#5195)

Preparing to line up for Grand Entry

In these photographs, the Indians are preparing to line up. Others will line up behind the flag carriers. Once all of them are in the arena a prayer begins, then the event.

The photographs presented here are from the Lincoln Indian Powwow, August 11, 2018 in Lincoln, Nebraska. The tribes vary and some Indians come in from other areas. I do know there were Lakota, Poncha, and Omaha Indians at the event.

By the 1850s the Pawnee, Omaha, Oto-Missouri, Ponca, Lakota, and Cheyenne were the main Great Plains tribes living in the Nebraska Territory. source

The powwows here have the feel of a family reunion. There are booths set up selling goods including fry bread. The only Indian fry bread I’ve eaten is from the Pueblo in New Mexico. This bread here is much thicker, sort of like cornbread.

The drumming, singing, and dancing lifts you up. I can still hear it and see it while thinking of the powwow.

I am used to their songs and drumming because the local radio plays it on certain days and I listen.

Many of you know I do not watch television anymore so it is common for me to be listening to the local radio programs.

The announcer has a good time using their language, (no interpreter nearby for me) sometimes he speaks in the ancient tribal language only the Indians understand.

In English, he tells a story of talking to friends in other tribes. This story is about a friend teaching him a word from another tribe, and finding out later “it’s a woman’s word”. He used it and everyone laughed.

The arena is in a circle as is the dancing.
There is a tree in the center of the arena and the announcer high up in a booth is on one end and on the other end of the arena is an opening where the dancers enter. 4 big drums are set up one on each side representing the 4 directions, there is one large drum in the middle in front of the tree. This is my observation.

The large shady tree is in the middle of the arena, when the Indians enter they circle around from the left side to the right. We are in the middle my husband @nowian.man filming while I am photographing.

There is a post in @photobe link of a child dancer I took the weekend before while photographing another Powwow.

upvote, comment and resteem
Thanks for viewing
@photobe


#esteem by @good-karma

I am active in these groups in discord


#steemitbloggers – a great group I invite everyone to explore. The support I have experienced in this group is phenomenal. @jaynie leads the group in a very open way.


#steemusa – These are members living in the USA or aboard from the States. It seems to be group effort and anyone that joins is warmly welcomed.

#photofriend – This is a group of photographers enjoying each others photography. If you post photography consider joining this group. Currently, I am a shareholder in the group. All levels of photographers are welcome with any equipment from phone to the latest and most expensive glass lenses.

Made by - @rebeccabe

Sort:  

I'm loving this series!!

thank you..there is so much to show :) lots of beautiful clothes

Thanks so much for this. Each time I get to share in the rituals and ceremonies of Native America I am deeply touched. Thanks for reigniting those memories.

Posted using Partiko iOS

I feel your heart. Thank you for this beautiful comment @indigoocean

those are definitely a very pretty pictures...Originality is awesome... the light and the colours are so beautiful too !

these photos are so colourful @rebeccabe and I just love the combinations of the colors, they're so vivid! :-)

The colors, sounds and people are so alive. They are an ancient culture. I am so glad the settlers/ government did not kill all of them off. It is so sad to think of, it makes me happy to know traditions in the culture is being passed on such as the clothes.
Thanks for taking time to comment on my post @shirleynpenalosa

Congratz, your post has been resteemed, upvoted and… featured in The Daily Spotlights of August 14 2018! Check it out to see who nominated you…

Thank you so much :)

Thank you for your contribution to the "photocircle" tag

Cheers,
@photocircle Team

Check out this post for information on all the Photocircle tags

Learn about this photo curation project by clicking >here

To learn more about the new project feature, please click on the quest image below.

To stop receiving comments then reply !STOP!

Nice to see the traditional dress of these tribes. Very colourful.

Yes..there were some cool regalia / clothes.
The people are so genuine, I really love them. I have tons of photos..will post more.

My wife is a real fan of the native tribes and has all kinds of modern relics from their culture. Post more for sure.

Oh yes.. I have sooo many photos.. fun stuff

May be he is wearing ancient dress for special occasion.

you are right. :)

Congratulations @rebeccabe! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Thanks for sharing. I've never had much experience of understanding the Native American. It's good to know its culture & history.

you are welcome .. I have many more photos to come.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64104.40
ETH 3148.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25