Fish and Chips - the healthy version - I am not kidding!

in #steemitbloggers6 years ago (edited)

Do you love your fish and chips but you can't eat it because it's too fatty? I know! It sucks...

I have high blood pressure and high cholesterol, so fish and chips got deleted from my menu 5 years ago. But recently this delightful dish is back in my life and I enjoy it every week.

Ready to find out the healthy version? Keep on reading, I am sharing big secrets below.

... and here is my plate today... How do you like that? All healthy, no fat!!! Fish and chips with tartar sauce, ketchup and BBQ sauce, yum....

13.jpg

#1 Secret - Buy an Air Fryer - there are deals all over the place, for as little as $50. You need a simple, small one.

Here is mine. Bought it last year for $50, Black Friday deal.

1.jpg

#2 Secret - Make sweet potato fries, instead of regular potatoes fries. It's healthier.

Let's get to it! I cooked two portions, so I used 2 sweet potatoes, 2 pieces of Tilapia Fish, one lime, salt and pepper and no-stick Olive oil cooking spray.

2.jpg

3.jpg

Let's start with the fries. Peel the sweet potatoes.

4.jpg

Slice the sweet potatoes.

5.jpg

Cut the fries.

6.jpg

Season with salt and pepper.

7.jpg

Open the air fryer and spray some cooking oil. Put the fries in the air fry oven. Set up at 15 minutes, 370F. I am sure there are some other gadgets to cook without oil, so I am not going to stress too much the air fryer. The point is to NOT deep fry. If you have a good regular oven, you can also bake the fries and also the fish. It will take a little longer and they will come out softer, not as crispy as in the air fryer.

Coming back to my air fryer now. The fries are ready, crispy and non fat.

10.jpg

While we were making the fries, I squeezed the lemon and sprinkled salt and pepper on the fish. Now it's time to put the fish in. 15 minutes in the air fryer.

11.jpg

Ok, our dish is ready!

12.jpg

I hope you find this recipe helpful. Eat healthy my friends!

blackdividersmall.png

Follow me and my stories smallbest.gif

SB_new.png

Sort:  

Love an air fryer. It really makes a difference. But sweet potato is an acquired taste that I have not acquired yet.

#steemitbloggers

Ohhhh.... you must acquire that taste @reonlouw. The sweet potato is a power food, do some research and you will see. I think you should bake some sweet potatoes in a regular oven, like you bake regular French fries, with some olive oil, salt and pepper. This way you get used with the sweet but savory taste. Some people use the sweet potatoes in pies, instead of pumpkin. That’s tasty too. 😊

This looks so good! I've been thinking about an air fryer, but have so many kitchen appliances already that I haven't been sure about it. Thanks for sharing.

I know what you mean. But this one is very useful, I cook a lot of stuff with it, so it’s worth it for me.

Yes it does seem useful, and I have seen that the prices are less than they were a couple years ago, so I might give it a try.

I was just looking at air fryers today! Perhaps I will wait until black Friday as I love a good deal!

Just wait a little and buy one discounted, it is a must have.

This looks so good, and I love our air fryer makes it so much easier to make healthier food

Of course. I use it now for a lot of dishes. 😊

Us to its so handy and the food tastes so good done this way

Love those cookers.

I cook chicken or pork in it and people swear it's been painstakingly slow-roasted to crispy/juicy perfection for hours.

Namaste, JaiChai

You can cook a lot of dishes. Experiment, it is fun!

Looks so good, gonna have to get a fryer to try it out!

Yes, it is good and much healthier than fried. You can also bake the fish and potatoes in regular oven, no problem. 😉

Hello i love your healthy version of the fish and chips. It looks delicious!!!your title made me laugh:)

Yes, no kidding for sure. It IS healthy. I just can’t eat fried stuff any more and this is close enough taste wise. 😉

At first, when i read chimps, my thought went ... this can not be healthy. But yes, with air fryer it makes more sense.

It does make sense. It tastes good also, but nothing like fried food. Well, fry is bad, so we have to find alternatives @amazingeoman

I had it once....fried fish ...

Posted using Partiko Android

Fried foods are always tasty but not good for health. Unfortunately. 🙃

Thanks for sharing @starjewel, fish and chips are looking so yummy <3

Yummy and fast. Oh healthy too. 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66258.39
ETH 3170.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.07