Where to sleep at the end of the road?! // Backpacking through Sweden Day #6

in #steemitbloggers6 years ago (edited)

Hey everyone!

I noticed that I haven’t even finished telling the story of my backpacking trip. For anyone who doesn’t know what the first five days were about, or for anyone who forgot (I don’t blame you!), here are the links: Day #1, Day #2, Day #3, Day #4, Day #5
Let’s get this story told!

For a quick recap, on Day #5 we walked from our emergency hostel (our entire belongings had got soaking wet from the rain) to a huge wind shelter. Of course because of my practically useless mat it was like sleeping on wood planks.

Day #6

I spent most of the night changing positions and sometimes speaking with my friends, who also had trouble sleeping. We got up at 9 but I had been awake much longer. After changing clothes we ate breakfast and the other two drank coffee. Around 11 we were done packing up and walked to Norra Häljaröd. Look who greeted us right at the fence!

DSCF1314.JPG

I love how the sign warns of cattle. Who would've guessed!
They kind of blocked our way, which was scary.

DSCF1324.JPG

I love cows, though. Look at their cuteness (and yes I’m a vegetarian in case you still had any doubt, haha).

We took a break a bit later and then walked to Utvälinge (around 1:30 p.m.). Just so you know, this is where the Kullaleden path (about 70 km long) ends. We wanted to go to Ängelholm the next day (by bus). But there was no place to sleep anywhere at the end of the road, so we kept walking and then had our lunch break to think about our next move. Our tubed cheese was empty too soon..

To be completely honest, at some point I considered sleeping under a bridge. The path we were on was super small with bushes all around so there was no chance we could put the tent up. I also wanted to ask someone in a smaller town if we could sleep in their barn, but nobody seemed to be there. Plus I had two travel companions and not everyone wanted to sleep under a bridge (trust me, it looked like a very safe, comfy place).

Anyways, we decided to walk to a town called Karlshalla, along a super long straight street in the burning sun. It seemed like we would never reach the end of the road. But we did. And after walking some more we actually ended up in Ängelholm!

And then in Siberia (it’s called Sibirien in German).

DSCF1364.JPG

Obviously not the real Siberia. It was a beach ;)

After each buying a coke we saw a wind shelter on a map! It was far away, but we ended up going there anyways. Arrival time: 6 p.m.

DSCF1371.JPG

I know this looks really shabby, but check out the location!

DSCF1372.JPG

I think we found a pretty cool place to sleep. After dinner I finally convinced Oscar and Ella to do yoga with me. And then we massaged each others necks on the pier. Sounds like a wonderful end of the backpacking trip (the next four days were spent in Ängelholm and Stockholm), right?

Except when my friends wanted a wandering cat to come into bed with us. It was super scary, even the thought of a cat jumping out the dark and walking over me lying down. I don’t know..

Steemit Bloggers
Join us @steemitbloggers
Animation By <@zord189>

Sort:  

Your picture with the one cow looking at you is done so well it looks like its almost floating! You have good camera skills :p I pulled that off only once. It was a picture of me standing behind a small bush. My top had a long flowing back that almost went down to my calves and I wore a long skirt of the same color. The picture was taking when the wind was blowing so it looked like I was floating while the bush was hiding my feet and ankles lol. So that cow knows how to pose lol.

It seems like you are having a one of a kind trip full of adventures! Amazing times ^_^ Happy travels :)

Haha thank you, I didn't even notice anything too special about the picture. The cow does seem a bit floaty, though :D
Thank you for taking the time to read and comment :)

wind shelter. is that a sleeping station along the way or do you pitch a tent. nice adventure and the little river a nice bonus

Yes it's a little wooden house anyone can sleep in along the way. You don't need a tent that way. We have had very different looking ones, as you can see in the other posts. :)

They are a nice thing to have along the way. Thanks for sharing your hike it has given me some insight I did not have before :)

Definitely, especially when it's raining or dark out and you don't want to pitch a tent. Thanks for reading :)

Dear @tripswithtam,

Your story attracted our attention and we would like to introduce our tag #archisteem that could provide you with some extra support. For your information, we are currently running the project – 1001 Places to Remember. Your content is a fit for the project and could be qualified for the 10 SBD reward biweekly contest.

Do drop by and take a look :) Hope to see you around soon.

Stay tuned and Steem on!

Sincerely from,

@archisteem and team

The project sounds pretty great, it only runs until 15 July though, right? Are you sure this post is elegible, because it has more than three photos. I might have another story about a place I went in New Zealand, can I submit more than one link?

The project is actually an ongoing project to collect 1001 stories and compile them into a publication. As of now, we had collected over 100 stories and continue to do so until we hit our target, tentatively by end of this year. 15 July is the closing for Season 5 Voting session and 22 July is the closing of Season 6. Worry not, you can just submit anytime and we will see which season your post falls under and you will be compete with the stories submitted during the same season.

We had tweaked the rules a bit whereby we allow more than 3 photos. You can submit unlimited amount of stories as long as they are more than 300 words and relate to the theme, which talks about your experience and memory of a place.

Thanks for the information. Is it enough to use the tags #archisteem and #placestoremember or do I have to do anything else?

Well, just make sure your post has the following criteria:

  1. Use #archisteem and #placestoremember tags
  2. More than 300 words
  3. Write about experience or memories about a place

Then, it should qualify your story for the contest :)

Alright, thanks a lot

A lay low and relaxing trip :) Love to see those cattle (though they may be gentle, we never know when are they having some temper).

Well it was not that relaxing when we walked 19km with heavy backpacks, haha. I mean it was fun, but all the time looking for a place to sleep my feet were killing me (maybe that's my I wanted to sleep under a bridge) :D

With that heavy backpacks, I totally understand that feeling. Anyway, the scenery is somehow a reward for your feet's hardwork.

I like the way you said it, this place might look shady, then bam. Showing us the serene location that you're camping :D Love it!!

Wow so cool it seems; wish i was there to live it. Wonderful cows and they look so nice and clean uuh. And oh i've never slept under a bridge, would've loved to try that. Lovely adventures @tripswithtam. What's your next one??

Thanks for taking the time to read and comment. I'm actually not quite sure yet, but I still have some stories about a roadtrip along the west coast and driving though New Zealand in a camper. I think I'll share that on here as well :)

I used to do a lot of backpacking when young, how I enjoy the time then...
I love the scenery you've shown, very nice!!

You did? Where did you go? :) I really enjoyed it although I would only do it with a much smaller backpack the next time. Otherwise my knees and neck are gonna complain ;)

At first Thailand, Cambodia, Vietnam... places nearby my country Malaysia...
Then Australia, Europe like Dusseldorf, Paris, Amsterdam...

Yeah, it's the back that's killing me sometimes! Lol...

Wow! That sounds amazing

It was a great life experience, I don't travel much nowadays!
So enjoy life when you are young!

Your experience is super cool, being younger I always wanted to go out backpacking and sleep under a bridge, but I see that in the end it was worth it, that place near the lake is full of good vibe, success in your next trips.

Dear @tripswithtam,

Thank you for the submission for our project – 1001 Places to Remember. Let us go through the content and will make an announcement soon for the posts which will be winning the rewards as well as qualify for the publication.

Stay tuned and Steem on!

Sincerely from,

@archisteem and team

What a peaceful place. Must be great to just lie down at night and stare at the stars. Aside from that the sound of the river would cradle you to dreamland.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70541.68
ETH 3582.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.74