The judgement of people - Story and questions for teenagers

in #steemiteducation5 years ago

Many parents and adults have pre-conceived ideas of what is good and what is bad.  A lot of the time older people see something new or different as being bad.  Most of the time they know little about these things they describe as evil. 

           

image source

I am not saying that all new and different things are good, but many are and I will tell you my story.

I am a student and busy studying for my Masters degree and when I was in grade 7, I had an AC/DC CD.  

According to some adults that was the worst thing a child could have.

I was immediately placed in the category of a satanist and my good points like I was good at sport, did well in school, did ballet and modern dancing and could play 3 musical instruments, did not count any points with these judgemental people.

Take the test on https://www.psychologies.co.uk/tests/are-you-judgemental.html to see if you are a judgemental person.

What most of my teachers remembered was that I had an AC/DC CD.  I did not carry around a knife under my uniform. but that was irrelevant to them.  Even my good marks did not impress them.  They only saw a child form the devil and according to them I had no future and would end up on drugs and in jail.

Not everybody liked or understood the music of AC/DC, but being an artist I loved it and appreciated their music and did not see anything wrong with it - it did not influence me in any way to become a bad person.

source

Today I even have a bigger collection with their music - I actually have every CD ever released by them from 'Let there be light' to 'Stiff Upper Lip'.

I am still not a satanist and do not fly on a broom or sniff any drugs.

At the age of 13 I was aware of the other side of reality.  That people and their taste in things differ and there is not only one right way to do things.

I know that certain things like animal- and children abuse, crime, terrorism, rape and violence are wrong and there are no two ways about it - it stays wrong no matter how you look at it.

But I also learned that things like music or what you wear are not a reason to be judged.  Also not doing the things you love and being true to yourself.

Today I am glad I went through all the judgement, because I have learned that no matter what other people say, as long as you do not harm any people or animals, you can be who ever you want and do what makes you happy.

Watch the video to learn how you can deal with the judgements from others.

source

Think about the following and answer the questions:

  1. What makes you happy?
  2. What makes you sad?
  3. What are your favorite type of music
  4. Who is your favorite artist/singer or actor?
  5. What do you see as wrong?
  6. How do you feel about judging people.  Why do you think you do it or does not do it?
  7. What is the meaning of 'Let the sun shine over everybody'?
  8. What thing do you like or do that your parents do not approve of?
  9. Do you think you can learn something from your parent or are they just too old?
  10. How do you feel about people that harm or judge others?

                               


Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.05
ETH 3147.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29