HODL & A Story of a Student Framed For Stalking

in #steemiteducation5 years ago

Unless you have been living under a rock, you will know that the crypto market has taken a beating. Over the past few weeks, we have seen a crypto bloodbath like no other. My position on this is that I believe in the technology and as such, am HODLing for the long run. However, this is not what I will be writing about today. Today I am going to illustrate why I HODL with a story.

The Story

Have you ever taught teenagers in a classroom before? If you have, you will know that most of them can look rather awkward but with enough time, guidance and trust, they will grow up to be great guys and gals.


Image source

I had such an experience with Adam. Adam, like most of his classmates, had entered into a season in life where they have started looking for love. Adam and many other guys had fallen for a rather pretty girl in class called Amanda. The thing is, Adam was not the only guy interested in Amanda. That did not stop him from asking Amanda out, in which she accepted. They have been going out as 'friends' for a while before things got ugly.

I was called one day to discuss an incident with the other teachers. Apparently, Amanda claimed that Adam has been harassing her through text messages. She reported the incident to her teacher and we were tasked with investigating the issue. However, at the very beginning, things were not looking good for Adam.

Despite no evidence proving otherwise, Adam was interrogated by another teacher with me being present. I was not happy with how he was treated but held my tongue, just in case I was wrong. Adam denied all allegations but refused to defend himself and stayed silent.


Image source

I decided to call up Adam in private and we had a chat. He trusted me enough to tell me that he felt like judgment was passed on him. He said that there was no point in defending himself. He claimed that Amanda and he had a mutual friendship and there were friends who would prove his stand. However, despite his friends coming forward to speak on his behalf, he felt that all the other teachers sided with Amanda.

I listened and sided with Adam about the issue. During the meeting with the other teachers, I spoke in his defense, claiming that both were at fault, especially since they were going out together for a while. However, Adam was still punished and labeled but he was thankful that I spoke in his defense.

It has been three years now and Adam holds a stable job and has done quite well for himself. We are still friends after all these years and when I look back at that time, a lot of the lessons are reflective of why I believe in Cryptocurrency.

Why I HODL

Most people would immediately point the finger at Adam for being the one who harassed Amanda. But after spending 5 years with him, I know that he is incapable of such things. In other words, I believed in what he was capable and incapable of doing.

The same applies to Bitcoin or Cryptocurrency in general, I think many of us HODL because we believe in what Cryptocurrency is capable of doing, we believe in how it is going to change different industries. As such, I'll be believing and HODLing in Cryptocurrency like how I believed in Adam. I hope the same would be for you too.


Image source

follow_alvinauh.gif

Sort:  

As a follower of @followforupvotes this post has been randomly selected and upvoted! Enjoy your upvote and have a great day!

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Congratulations @alvinauh! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 55000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 60000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66598.01
ETH 3236.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.66