I Love & Hate Teachers' Day

in #steemiteducation6 years ago


Image source

Happy teachers' day to all my fellow teachers out there in Malaysia. Before I go any further, a big shout out to all those for being there when I was feeling down. No, I was not depressed as I have not curled up in a little corner, I was just feeling down. So to @roseri @eaglespirit @bozz @k0wsk1 @world-travel-pro @flaversham @maverickfoo @branlee87 @hiruhanif @tattoodjay @evileddy @bboyady @robertandrew @victorholyo and all of you peeps who have dropped a comment in the previous post.

I was unaware that it was that time of year again and that teachers' day was here. When I was at school, the festivities were on a week before, people will all be scurrying, preparing to 'celebrate' teachers' day. In the midst of all this, I find myself despising teachers' day celebration.

What I Absolutely Hate About It...

One of the things that I hate... Ok, maybe hate is a strong word, but more of what I dislike about teachers' day is how the meaning of teachers' day is lost. So here's a little background of what happens. A few months prior to teachers' day, the assignments of what each class would do would be given out. Some students will be in charge of the hall whereas some would be in charge of food and of course, some would be involved in performing dances and skits for the teachers.


Image source

As much as I love students doing things in honor of me, I do not agree with requiring the students to participate and contribute to the celebration, be it monetarily or through other means. I find that honoring someone should come from the heart. This is where teachers' day celebration, I feel, has lost its meaning. Mainly, I feel that what was supposed to be a day of honoring your teachers has turned into a day of celebrating just because its teachers' day. Teachers' day has suffered the same fate as Christmas, with the latter focusing on gifts instead of the spirit of giving.

Don't get me wrong, I am not that odd teacher in the midst of all the celebration who sits arms crossed sulking. There are a few things that I look forward to on teachers' day.

What I Love About It

One word to sum it all up, the gifts. I love the gifts. No, not how big or how small the gifts are but the heart that accompanies it. I don't want any large celebrations nor festivities signalling my students' appreciation towards me, I appreciate and cherish the little tuck on my pants, turning only to find a student staring up at me smiling shyly before handing me a teachers' day card. Case in point in the picture below:

The card was given by one of my younger students. I teach him swimming and it was hand delivered to me this year. Normally, cards and mugs are left on my desk at work. However, this year is my second teachers' day that I'm spending at home, completing my postgraduate studies. As much as I have received less cards and mugs this year, I do cherish the texts from students and parents alike thanking me for a good year.

That in my opinion is how teachers' day should be like. No fuss, no festivities, just little gestures that are personal. It is gifts like this that I proudly display on my desk as a form of motivation on really bad days. No matter how bad the class can be, no matter how much the paperwork can piles up, a look at the adorable cards and some pretty cool mugs is enough to keep me going.

My Ideal Teachers' Day


Image source

I think you can probably guess by now what my ideal teachers' day would be like. I like spending time with my students, preferably sharing a meal where we just talk and chill. Of course, I am referring to older students of course where we can share a meal together. This ideal teachers' day of mine will be celebrated next week after all the exams and assignments. This teachers' day is special because it will be the last teachers' day that I will celebrate with my students as they would graduate to become teachers themselves. It is the teachers' day celebration before they get to celebrate their own teachers' day themselves.

The post itself does not aim to discount anyone's way of showing their appreciation to their teachers. It is just a personal opinion and my opinion stems from how I teach my students. I like being personal with them and so I appreciate personal gestures. That being said, no matter the gift, the appreciation, happy teachers day to all my Malaysian teachers and may your teaching in the year ahead be personal and fun.


follow_alvinauh.gif

Sort:  

Ok. I think hate is a strong wird. Rather i'd suggest saying dislike for the activities you have believed to be wrong; just like forcing students to participate monetarily for teacher's honour on teacher's day; especially when they can't afford to.

If i may ask, would there be penalties on the pupils and students when they fail to contribute monetarily for teachers honour on teacher's day

Hey there, the sad thing is yes. When you make things mandatory, there will be consequences when it is not carried out. Unfortunately, this is just in theory as no one has been punished for not doing it...yet

Glad to hear things are going well. Yeah we had our teachers day last week. It was a whole week of goodies and appreciation. Even though I am not a teacher, I teach the teachers so they tend to include me in a lot of the festivities. We are starting the wind down to the end of the year here. Good luck to you!

Hey! Same job! So you're a teacher trainer as well?

I am the director of technology for the school district I work in. This includes training teachers in said technology 😁

Wow. There are no gifts or anything like that here for teachers. Most people don't even realize it is Teacher's Day or Education week at all. It is so nice that you get those gifts from students. They are sweet.

They are indeed! How do you celebrate teachers' day/ appreciation over in the states?

That little drawing about the student learning to swim is kind of cool. I can only imagine the warm feeling a teacher must feel when receiving gifts like that one.

It was the best feeling ever! He doesn't say much, but that card spoke volumes!

Firstly thank you for the mention bro, its my pleasure to give support as i know the carrier is teacher is not easy. I salute every teacher and coach out there.

I agree with what you said bro, the meaning its lost if student are been giving task just to celebrate teacher day. They should be been educate since child to appreciate teacher with their own initiative and heart.

But i sure there outside still a lot student know what is appreciate, just like your young swimming student that u mention above.

Cheers bro and happy teacher day again. Teacher Rocks!!!!

Thanks so much! It is indeed a very good job and I do appreciate the wishes. They are some and I do enjoy their company whenever we do meet up

Cheers bro

You've been upvoted by TeamMalaysia Community :-

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

Thinking differently is part of who we are, and there is nothing wrong with thinking very different from other people, however, the small details like that drawing did, is what makes the difference. What motivates us to give the best of us as educators.
It is a great detail for the teacher's day that really is every day.

Happy Teacher's Day!
Without people like you, without the "Teachers" - we will be nothing.
You mold every child to be the best version of themselves and to be a responsible adult in the future. :)

Thank you so much! Appreciate the wishes.

You have a 'teachers day' in Malaysia?

That really shows the cultural differences between how teachers are regarded out there and here in the U.K.

Here we're more likely to have a 'denigrate teachers day'.

I understand what you're saying about the forcing students to take part, I hate all of that unnatural, formalized stuff myself too and very nice idea on the 'let's just chillax' instead as an ideal day. I think they'd probably prefer that too.

Karl.

I see, is there any day in particular where the students do anything nice to appreciate the teachers? Yeah, there is a cultural difference. I saw it throughout my teaching experience in New Zealand, i suppose its an eastern vs western culture thing?

I had to double check..... because there damn well should be.... google search defaults to 'world teachers' day'

Definitely a cultural difference between East and West... we're more likely to have a 'shame the worst teachers day' here.

Congratulations on my lucky 100% upvote on yr comment btw (bit of an error there, I'd just disconnected my WIFI as it was being a bit slow, switched it back on again and default to 100%) Still, enjoy!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64320.07
ETH 3154.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34