Zorbing & Learning

in #steemiteducation6 years ago

One of the fun things that I have done throughout my university days was to cramp myself and a few friends into a rather large plastic ball filled with soap water. We would then roll down the hill for a good minute or two. It doesn't make much sense really and most would wonder why would anyone pay for something like this. I don't know about you, but I do it because it is LOADS OF FUN!


Image source

Unlike Bungee jumping, Zorbing is less exhilarating and your life doesn't exactly flash before your eyes as you leap off the platform. However, there are certain things that you pick up along the way as you go tumbling in a plastic ball down the hill.

So what has Zorbing got to do with learning? For the last few days,I had some very difficult students. No, not difficult in the sense of naughty, but reluctant in learning. One of the students was just not willing to learn how to swim. There were a million reasons she claims why she should not swim ranging from her spirit animal being a cat and thus she should not swim, to her being allergic to water. She's an adorable 4 year old by the way. This experience reminded me of my many students who absolutely hated learning.

Why On Earth Did We Pay For This?

I remember deciding to go Zorbing with a bunch of my friends. Some of them did not want to be part of it. They did not see a point in paying 20 dollars to be stuffed in a plastic ball as we go barreling down the hill. Many of them feel that the money could be better spent elsewhere. I did not because in life, experience is always more valuable than money. A few dollars for a great experience? Sign me up!

That's one of the problems with some students. Their parents pay a lot for the opportunity to learn a new skill and some would cross their hands and refuse to learn. Money means little to them, but in the midst of doing so, they will miss out on an opportunity to learn. For some, it could be an opportunity to network or learn a life lesson. I know of many students who sail through college thinking that their life is horrible because they were forced into a course that they did not like. However, they will end up missing learning opportunities and networking opportunities that could potentially change their life.


Image source

Thus, perhaps a good question that some of these students (including me at times) should as is not why are we paying for this, but lets make the best out of this! That's because rarely does anything go smoothly in life.

Enjoy The Chaos & The Mess

As soon as you get into a large plastic ball, you have a choice. You could do Zorbing solo where you're tied to the inside of the ball and rolled down the hill. You could also get in with as many as 3 other friends. The facilitator would then put in soapy water. The point is that as you get rolled down the hill, you won't be able to stand up for long because the inside of the plastic ball becomes really slippery, somewhat like a washing machine.

The process can be chaotic and messy. Now, you can focus on standing up and try your very best to balance yourself as you roll about with all the soapy water, or you could enjoy the process. Many of my friends tried but gave up after awhile and enjoyed the ride down.


Image source

The mess and chaos is relatively similar to learning. Often, the students would focus on the pain and the stress but miss the potential their learning holds. Thus, as teachers, it can be a daunting task to convince the students to enjoy the chaos, the mess and stress in their learning. But once the students' focus and attitude towards learning has changed, they would likely start to enjoy the process. It is through this enjoyment that they come to realize that time is short.

Time Is Short

For many of us who have left school, school for some are seen as the best time of our lives. While it is filled with challenges and exams, it is temporary so one could either complain or get the best out of the short time that one has in learning. The thing is, we all have a limited time to pick up a skill or learn enough for a test. Similar to Zorbing, no matter how you feel as you are rolling down the hill, you will get to the end eventually. So why not enjoy it and make the best out of it?

When I was Zorbing we were all trying to run along with the ball like a hamster before giving up and just enjoying the ride. One of them was overly concerned that the soap, mixed with the grass would ruin a new shirt that he had bought, thus missing some of the fun of Zorbing. Despite the short time, I think it is important to really enjoy the ride because once it is all over, you would look back, wishing that you have done more. So, to those of you who are reading this and are still at school, make the best out of your study life when it comes to learning and do try out Zorbing.


follow_alvinauh.gif

Sort:  

Heyy I love this! It also looks like the Zorbing in the top of the North Island of NZ, I've forgotten which city but I'm pretty sure it's where I was!

I really like the change up in environment and activity you gave your students. It's really nice to see holistic teachers out there who realise the complexities of teaching students!

It's really nice to see holistic teachers out there who realise the complexities of teaching students!

@alvinauh is one of the best people I know when it comes to "creative teaching moments." It's always fascinating to read his work and see how he combines left-brain and right-brain thinking into posts that both appeal to your imagination and at the same time make you think. (He even teaches his readers, which means he's constantly "on the job.") I love checking in to see what he's come up with this time.

Yeah I appreciate this and look forward to reading more!

Thank you for those kind words! I think after I have started Steemit, I just let my right brain go crazy with imagination before linking it to something left brain related..haha.. Its good to see that its working so far

Ahh I relate to this statement a lot Alvin! It's honestly been really difficult for me putting out content when I know it doesn't link up to something larger straight away.

Looking through your content, you've got a really nice consistency recently and it all ties around your experience in education - I appreciate your perseverance and honestly look forward to seeing more of your content.

I did Zorbing in Rotorua, beautiful city despite the smell. The other thing that was fun to do was skydiving, the view in summer was just gorgeous. Are you from NZ?

Rotorua yeah! That's where I did it too! I'm from Australia, was over there to tour the country, so beautiful!

You've been upvoted by TeamMalaysia community. Do checkout other posts made by other TeamMalaysia authors at http://steemit.com/created/teammalaysia

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

Thank you! It's fun reading it!

Thanks! so good to have you rop by

You are welcome ~

I have to try this! it looks so fun!

Excellent classes today, thanks for your wisdom, every time you make a greater effort to educate us more. God bless you @alvinauh.

Regards...

Some time back, I focused more on getting tangible things with my money and not experiences. Now my viewpoint has changed and what you said about investing in some money to get an experience is so true for me now. Zorbing looks like so much fun but I have hunch it could be a little annoying too because when you keep rolling for sometime, you may feel annoyed. I think I would. And do you get hurt when the ball starts to roll down?

Its actually a short while, but hey, loads and loads of fun when playing it. Nah, you don't get hurt at all, its really safe

I would love to do zorbing. It's one of those things I've always wanted to do, but have never got round to doing. And although I've never done it, I can imagine that you're right - it makes a wonderful analogy for life and learning. You can struggle to control things or you can just sit back and enjoy the journey, but whatever you do, you're going to reach the same place in the end!

That's right you may even run off the road if the facilitator is not watching..haha

Haha! Too true.

Zorbing is awesome! We went zorbing on my brothers birthday and we had a blast. Definitely prefer it over bungy jumping ;-)

wuuuutttt.... But Bungee is so much more exhilarating! What about skydiving?

That's way too scary for us, lol! :)

I'd seen those things, but had no idea there was a word for it. Even better, it's fun to say! Zorb!

Yes! Its quite fun to do too, tumbling down the hill like a hamster has never been so much fun

I think I might scream in horror while doing Zorbing realising that I couldn't really control it.
I too had a lot of trouble learning how to swim until recent years when I overcome the fear of water.
Although I am yet to master swimming but I know that I am no longer afraid of pools. Off with my board, goggles, cap and swimwear when I have that privilege later in the months to come!

upvoted

yeah, the pool can be awfully daunting, especially the diving pool, those are 6 meters deep but its quite fun once you get the hang of it. I had sweating so swimming always works for me

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70638.80
ETH 3565.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73